MRA: Applegate, Cuhna Star In Weather-Shortened Season-Opener

MRA: Applegate, Cuhna Star In Weather-Shortened Season-Opener

© 2021, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. From a press release issued By Jim Brewer on behalf of MRA:

Applegate and Cuhna star in MRA Season Opener at High Plains Raceway

Byers, CO, May 12, 2021 – The Motorcycle Roadracing Association (MRA) began its
2021 championship season with a weather-abbreviated Round 1 at High Plains
Raceway over the weekend of May 8-9.  The club was able to run the Saturday
sprint and endurance races, but unfortunately had to cancel the afternoon
SuperStreet program and all of the following Sunday races (including Race of
the Rockies) due to an extreme weather condition that moved into the area
Saturday afternoon.

But the racing on Saturday was as exciting as ever.  In Formula 40 GTO, John
Elliot got the holeshot and lead the race until right around the half way
point.  Mike Applegate came from the very back row through the field to take
over the lead and was gone from there.  Dave Lambert and Mike Applehans made a
run toward the front with Lambert ultimately getting the best of Applehans
while Elliot ran out of fuel in the closing laps of the race.

Open Endurance was the last race run of the day.  Applehans took the
holeshot and led for the first couple laps.  Mathew Cunha came from the
very back of the grid and took over the lead by lap 3 cutting a few laps in
the high 1:40’s to gap the rest of the field.  Jim Hinton came from the middle
of the grid to nick James Wilkerson for the final podium spot in just before
the white flag came out.  In the end it was Cunha followed by Applehans,
then Hinton.

The MRA goes to Pikes Peak International Raceway in Fountain, CO for Round 2
on June 5-6.  The SuperStreet class will be held on Saturday afternoon,
giving street riders a chance to try real track motorcycle road racing with
minimal cost & preparation.  See for details.

The Motorcycle Roadracing Association is dedicated to promoting safe and
competitive motorcycle road racing events for enthusiasts in Colorado and
the surrounding area. For more information go to

Pho95 Open Supersport

1. Joseph Resta (Kaw ZX-10R)

2. Mike Applegate (Yam YZF-R1M)

3. Nyles Gourlie (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. David Lambert (Kaw ZX-10R)

5. Michael Applehans (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Jim Hinton (Yam YZF-R1)


IES Technologies Middleweight Supersport

1. Dennis Stowers (Tri Daytona 675)

2. Cameron Lee (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Randy Hopper (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Ken Yee (Kaw ZX-6R)

5. Nathan Morales (Yam YZF-R6)

6. Phillip Takahashi (Kaw 600)


Aces Motorcycles 500 Supersport

1. Brian Jackson (Kaw 400)

2. Charles Greenwood (Kaw 400)

3. Justen Behmer (Kaw 400)

4. Kreece Elliott (Kaw 400)

5. Conrad Oliver (Kaw 400)

6. Jeremiah Baker (Kaw 400)


Vickery Motorsports 350 Supersport

1. Richard Nguyen (Kaw 250)

2. Jason Hays (Kaw 300)

3. Joseph Maher (Kaw 300)

4. Tom Dixon (Kaw 300)


Moto-Garage Formula 40 GTO

1. Mike Applegate (Yam YZF-R1M)

2. David Lambert (Kaw ZX-10R)

3. Michael Applehans (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Jim Hinton (Yam YZF-R1)

5. James Wilkerson (Yam YZF-R1)

6. Christopher Nami (BMW S1000RR)


Moto-Garage Formula 40 GTU

1. Ken Yee (Kaw ZX-6R)

2. Daniel Spurlock (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Arthur Chen (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Dan Parker (Suz GSX-R600)

5. Scott Weitmann (Kaw ZX-6R)

6. Michael Lakritz (Hon CBR600RR)


Spencer Russell Youth Racing Lightweight Grand Prix

1. Ryan Smith (Apr RS 660)

2. Ricky Orlando (Kaw 650)

3. Jayden Fernandez (Hon NSF250R)

4. Jonathan Glaefke (Kra HKREvo2R)

5. Geoff Cesmat (Yam YZ450F)

6. Luke Sanzone (Kaw 400)


High Plains Raceway Open Endurance

1. Mathew Cunha (Yam YZF-R1)

2. Michael Applehans (Suz GSX-R1000)

3. Jim Hinton (Yam YZF-R1)

4. James Wilkerson (Yam YZF-R1)

5. Christopher Nami (BMW S1000RR)

6. Cj Walker (Suz GSX-R1000)


Wyeth Homes Middleweight Endurance

1. Randy Hopper (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Dennis Stowers (Tri Daytona 675)

3. Ken Yee (Kaw ZX-6R)

4. Nathan Morales (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Scott Morrison (Yam YZF-R6)

6. Phillip Takahashi (Kaw 600)


Lisa Gaimara / Supreme Lending Lightweight Endurance

1. Ryan Smith (Apr RS 660)

2. Jayden Fernandez (Hon NSF250R)

3. Ricky Orlando (Kaw 650)

4. Andrew Schrems (Suz SV650)

5. Jaquelyn Romano (Suz SV650)

6. Jonathan Glaefke (Kra HKREvo2R)


Rocky View Family Dental Ultra Lightweight Endurance

1. Luke Sanzone (Kaw 400)

2. Charles Greenwood (Kaw 400)

3. Justen Behmer (Kaw 400)

4. Mike Morrison (Hus FS450)

5. Richard Nguyen (Kaw 250)

6. Tom Dixon (Kaw 300)


Interstate Honda Novice GTO

1. David Thompson (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Jeremy Ross (Suz GSX-R750)

3. Kevin Caputo (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Navid Poran (Kaw ZX-6R)

5. Paul Bosonetto (Suz GSX-R600)

6. Donald Linnemann (Kaw ZX-6R)


Law Tigers Novice GTU

1. David Thompson (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Kevin Caputo (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Navid Poran (Kaw ZX-6R)

4. Kellen Brewer (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Dave Stiefvater (Kaw ZX-6R)

6. Paul Bosonetto (Suz GSX-R600)

Latest Posts

Isle Of Man TT: 2025 Event Dates And Schedule Confirmed


Canadian Superbike: Dumas Returning On A Ducati

Alex Dumas returning to CSBK aboard Economy Lube Ducati Hamilton,...

MotoAmerica: Junior Cup Race Two Results From Brainerd brings you the results of this weekend's events.   At...

MotoAmerica: King Of The Baggers Race Two Results From Brainerd brings you the results of this weekend's events.   At...

MotoAmerica: Superbike Race Two Results From Brainerd (Updated) brings you the results of this weekend's events.   At...