MotoGP: Two Seats Still Open For 2021

MotoGP: Two Seats Still Open For 2021

© 2020, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

With today’s announcement from Ducati regarding Francesco Bagnaia, Jorge Martin, and Johann Zarco, the 2021 MotoGP field is shaping up but is not quite complete yet.

As of today, there still appears to be two empty seats available, considering Moto2 Championship contender Enea Bastianini told reporters at Misano that he had signed with Ducati for 2021 and then Avinitia Esponsorama Team Manager Ruben Xaus said he was 99% sure the young Italian would be riding with his team.

That leaves one empty seat at Aprilia, considering Andrea Iannone’s doping suspension will carry well into the 2021 season, and one empty seat at LCR Honda.

This also leaves the futures of current MotoGP riders Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Dovizioso, Takaaki Nakagami, and Bradley Smith up in the air.




The current 2021 MotoGP team and rider lineup:


Aprilia Gresini Racing:

Aleix Espargaro

To Be Announced



Ducati Corse Factory Team:

Francesco “Pecco” Bagnaia

Jack Miller


Avintia Esponsorama:

Enea Bastianini (To Be Confirmed)

Tito Rabat


Pramac Racing:

Jorge Martin

Johann Zarco



Repsol Honda:

Pol Espargaro

Marc Marquez


LCR Honda:

Alex Marquez

To Be Announced



Red Bull KTM Factory Racing:

Brad Binder

Miguel Oliveira


Red Bull KTM Tech3:

Iker Lecuona

Danilo Petrucci



Team Suzuki ECSTAR:

Joan Mir

Alex Rins



Monster Energy Yamaha:

Fabio Quartararo

Maverick Vinales


PETRONAS Yamaha Sepang Racing Team (SRT):

Franco Morbidelli

Valentino Rossi

Latest Posts

ASRA/CCS Race Of Champions: Friday’s Race Results From Daytona

The 38th Annual ASRA/CCS Race of Champions, including the...

British Superbike: O’Halloran Fastest In FP2 At Brands Hatch

Editorial Note: American Brandon Paasch, riding his Dynavolt Triumph...

World Supersport: Cluzel Under Lap Record In FP2 In Argentina

    More, from a press release issued by Dorna: Cluzel responds...

World Superbike: Razgatlioglu Leads, Rea Crashes In FP2 In Argentina

    More, from a press release issued by Dorna: Razgatlioglu on...

M4 ECSTAR Suzuki’s Lochoff Wins ASRA Team Challenge At Daytona (Updated)

In his first visit to the historic racetrack, Sam...