MotoAmerica: Fores Fastest In Daytona 200 Q2, Escalante Still Quickest Overall

MotoAmerica: Fores Fastest In Daytona 200 Q2, Escalante Still Quickest Overall

© 2024, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts. brings you the results of this weekend’s events.


At our online motorcycle parts store, you’ll find a specialized selection of quarter turn “Dzus” fasteners, titanium hardware, premium tire valve stems, Vesrah racing brake pads, Brembo parts and accessories, and other unique hardware specifically designed for race and trackday motorcycles.


Reigning MotoAmerica Supersport Champion Xavi Fores topped MotoAmerica Daytona 200 Qualifying Two (Q2) Friday morning at Daytona International Speedway, but Richie Escalante is still quickest overall heading into the Time Attack Friday afternoon.

The 1:47.833 Escalante did on his Vision Wheel M4 ECSTAR Suzuki GSX-R750 in Qualifying One (Q1) remains the new Daytona 200 Lap Record, and the 1:47.045 Escalante’s teammate Tyler Scott did in Q1 kept him in second position.

Scott crashed and dislocated his shoulder in a crash at the end of Q1, but he received medical treatment Thursday night, rode in Q2 on Friday morning, and appears to be good to go for the race.

Fores, riding his Attack Performance Progressive Yamaha YZF-R6, led Q2 with a time of 1:48.655, which moved him up to third overall.

The top 16 riders in Q2 were separated by just 1.3 seconds.

The top 12 riders in the combined times from Q1 and Q2 now advance to the 15-minute Time Attack Friday afternoon, when the front four rows of the grid will be set.

With Group B Qualifying Two still to run, the unofficial top 12 Daytona 200 qualifiers were:

  1. Richie Escalante (Suz GSX-R750), Dunlop, 1:47.833

2. Tyler Scott (Suz GSX-R750), Dunlop, 1:48.045

3. Xavi Fores (Yam YZF-R6), Pirelli, 1:48.655

4. Bobby Fong (Suz GSX-R750), Dunlop, 1:48.765

5. Josh Herrin (Duc Panigale V2), Dunlop, 1:48.826

6. Stefano Mesa (Duc Panigale V2), Pirelli, 1:48.957

7. Brandon Paasch (Suz GSX-R750), Dunlop, 1:49.213

8. Richard Cooper (Tri Street Triple 765 RS), Dunlop, 1:49.234

9. Hayden Gillim (Suz GSX-R750), Dunlop, 1:49.301

10. Peter Hickman (Tri Street Triple 765 RS), Dunlop, 1:49.358

11. Josh Hayes (Yam YZF-R6), Dunlop, 1:49.382

12. Blake Davis (Yam YZF-R6), Dunlop, 1:49.427




Latest Posts

Isle Of Man TT: Dunlop Quickest On Opening Day


Isle Of Man TT: Arai Celebrating 40 Years Of Racing On The Island


Isle Of Man TT: Watch All The Action On TT+ Live Pass

We Are Live  Witness The Spectacle TT 2024 is LIVE. Expected...

MotoGP: World Championship Race Results From Catalunya (Updated)

Francesco "Pecco" Bagnaia won the FIM MotoGP World Championship...

Moto2: World Championship Race Results From Catalunya

Ai Ogura won the FIM Moto2 World Championship race...