Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 5, 2013

SES TT Zero Race Results From The Isle Of Man TT

Isle of Man TT: Michael Rutter (1) on the MotoCzysz E1pc electric racebike.
Isle of Man TT
Isle of Man, UK
June 5, 2013
Provisional Race Results:

1. Michael Rutter, UK (MotoCzysz E1pc), 20:38.461, 109.675 mph
2. John McGuinness, UK (Mugen Shinden Ni), 20:40.133, 109.527 mph
3. Robert Barber (Ohio State University RW-2), 25:02.467, 90.403 mph
4. George Spence (Kingston University/Kingston 2012), 25:41.822, 88.096 mph
5. Chris Mcgahan (Vercarmoto/Yamaha R6E), 26:59.755, 83.857 mph
6. Ian Lougher (Komatti Mirai KMI), 27:46.300, 81.515 mph
7. David Madsen-Mygdal (Imperial), 31:26.933
8. Paul Owen (Brunel University/2013 Brunel BX), 31:33.387, 71.738 mph
9. Mark Miller, USA (MotoCzysz E1pc), DNF, mechanical

More, from a press release issued by Isle of Man TT Press Office:

Michael Rutter takes another SES TT Zero win for MotoCzysz team in record-breaking lap

Michael Rutter and MotoCzysz took a thrilling victory in the SES TT Zero race in glorious conditions on the Isle of Man this morning, officially breaking the previous clean emissions lap record that he set last year. The Midlands rider smashed the record unofficially earlier in the week during practice on the MotoCzysz 2013 bike, but only narrowly took victory from Mugen rider John McGuinness. Rutter's new record official is a time of 20:38.46 (109.675mph), beating his time last year (21:45.33/104.056) by over a minute.

John McGuinness was not far behind Michael Rutter, lapping with a time of 20:40.13 (109.527mph) on the Mugen machine. The Morecambe missile showed that he can be just as competitive in the Zero class as he is in the other classes at TT 2013. Robert Barber, the 2009 race winner, took the final podium place on the Ohio State University machine, which lapped the Mountain course in 25:02.467 (90.403mph). Rutter’s American MotoCzysz teammate, Mark Miller unfortunately retired at Ballaugh Bridge with a broken gear box.

George Spence on the Kingston University bike was next to finish the race with a time of 25:41.82 (88.096mph), followed by Chris McGahan on the Vercarmoto at 83.857mph.

After announcing that this would be his last TT, Ian Lougher paid tribute to Yoshinari Matsushita on the Komatti Mirai machine with a time of 27:46.30 (81.515mph). David Madsen-Mygdal on the Imperial and Paul Owen on the Brunel University machine completed the group in today’s one lap race.

More, from a press release issued by Pirelli:

Milan, 5 June 2013 – Pirelli wins the TT Zero for the third year in a row thanks to the excellent team work of Michael Rutter and the entire Segway Racing MotoCzysz squad.

In the saddle of his electric Motoczysz E1pc bike equipped with the new Pirelli Diablo Superbike 17-inch tyres, the 41-year-old English rider known as “The Blade”, crossed the finishing line first, 1.672 seconds ahead of John McGuinness on the Dunlop equipped Mugen Shinden-Ni, followed in third place by Rob Barber over 4 minutes behind.

The TT Zero is a motorcycle race first organised in 2010 and held every year during the Tourist Trophy. The TT Zero race is only open to prototype racing bikes with a technical concept envisaging fossil-free fuel propulsion, and zero toxic or harmful emissions.

Specifically, thanks to the performance of the new 17-inch Pirelli Diablo Superbike tyres, Michael Rutter really hit the throttle in the last lap, registering a record time of 20:38:461, covering the 37.73 miles at an average speed of 109.675 mph. Last year, Rutter had already triumphed against McGuinness, breaking the 100 mile-per-hour record touching averages of 104.056 mph, this year the result was no different but the times achieved are a clear sign of the progress made by the team.

This, the latest in a long line of successes, consolidated and reinforced the strong relationship of trust and collaboration, for over four years, created between Pirelli, the West-Midlands driver, and the team from Portland.
Top 5 This Week