MotoGP: Will There Be A Record 10th Different Race Winner?

MotoGP: Will There Be A Record 10th Different Race Winner?

© 2020, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. From a press release issued By Dorna:

Nine winners and counting… can Portimão create more history?

A special photo opportunity on the main straight at the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve celebrates the premier class record equalled in 2020

Thursday, 19 November 2020

“History-making” has a propensity to get overused, but the 2020 FIM MotoGP™ World Championship has truly deserved the moniker. Nine different winners in the premier class – equalling the all-time record set in 2016 – is something worth celebrating. And the best news? There’s still a race left…

Rewinding to Jerez, it was Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) who took to the top step first, before rookie Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) became the second man to win in 2020 as he stormed Brno – becoming South Africa’s first premier class winner. Then it was veteran Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) in the Austrian GP as he got back to winning ways, before Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech 3) became another first timer on the top step – and the first Portuguese rider to take victory in the premier class – as he outfoxed them all in the Styrian GP.

Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) took his maiden MotoGP™ victory with a demolition derby at Misano, before take two on the Adriatic saw Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) reign the Emilia Romagna GP. Le Mans then saw Danilo Petrucci (Ducati Team) back on top, the Italian taking his first wet weather win despite his well-known prowess.

Finally, as the flag flew at MotorLand in the Aragon GP, there were eight. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) did the honours for his and Suzuki’s first win of the year and from there, the record was in touching distance – and the eventual Champion hadn’t yet won…

That changed in the European Grand Prix as now-reigning MotoGP™ World Champion Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) put together a masterpiece for his first premier class win. In doing so, he made Suzuki and MotoGP™ history to become the ninth different rider to stand on the top step in 2020. That’s a record, so now the question is… will there be more?

One last race provides the chance for a tenth different winner to reign – so tune in for the Grande Premio MEO de Portugal on Sunday at 14:00 (GMT) to see if MotoGP™ can hit that perfect 10.

Latest Posts