MotoE: Race One Results From Misano (Updated)

MotoE: Race One Results From Misano (Updated)

© 2022, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

MotoE Race 1



More, from a press release issued by Dorna:

Aegerter crowned World Cup winner as Casadei takes victory and Granado slides out

A dramatic Saturday sees the Swiss rider take the title as Granado slides out the podium fight and Casadei keeps it pinned to win


Dominique Aegerter clinched the 2022 FIM MotoE World Cup Championship Saturday at Misano. Photo courtesy Dorna.
Dominique Aegerter clinched the 2022 FIM MotoE World Cup Championship Saturday at Misano. Photo courtesy Dorna.


Saturday, 03 September 2022

Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) is the 2022 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup winner! The Swiss rider took second in Race 1 at Misano as Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) crashed out the podium fight, deciding the title on Saturday. Aegerter followed Mattia Casadei (Pons Racing 40) home as the Italian took his first win at Misano, with Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) completing the podium to make it seven rostrums from eight races at the classic venue.

As the lights went out, it started well for Granado as he sliced up to third through the opening corners and then past Aegerter for second at Turn 2 on Lap 2, although less so for Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team) as the number 71 crashed out early. A lap later though, Granado hit the front when Casadei had a wobble between Turns 2 and 3.

Aegerter wasn’t going to let him get away, however. The Swiss rider got past Casadei at Turn 4 and then had a look at Granado when they arrived at Tramonto (Turn 10). The Brazilian held him off and got away with a slight moment later in the lap, but lost the lead as Aegerter attacked on Lap 4, getting it done at Tramonto this time round.

It looked like the battle would roll on to Sunday,  but then came the drama as Granado went down a few corners later at Carro, leaving Aegerter with one hand on the trophy. The Brazilian remounted but, assuming he could not get back into the points-paying positions, Aegerter needed to finish only eighth to wrap up the title.

Initially he held onto the lead too, looking like he could seal it with a win, but on the run down to Quercia on the penultimate lap Casadei made his move. From there it stayed a tight fight between Casadei, Aegerter, Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) and Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40), but Casadei closed every door to perfection – and Aegerter was forced to settle for second, at least in the race.

Ferrari took third and another impressive podium at Misano, with Torres right back up at the sharp end after a tougher season of injury struggles. Alex Escrig (Tech3 E-Racing) got home in fifth for a second top five in a row, ahead of Niccolo Canepa (WithU GRT RNF MotoE™ Team), Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE™), Kevin Manfredi (Octo Pramac MotoE™), Xavi Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing), and Hector Garzo (Tech3 E-Racing). On a tough day for LCR, Granado was classified 17th while Pons was the only non-finisher.

Aegerter is now the 2022 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup Winner, and after coming so close last year in a dramatic finale. Now, just one day remains in the 2022 season, and it will be a particularly special one as we farewell the Energica Ego Corsa which has served the category so well for its first four, exhilarating years. Watch the end of an era when lights go out for Race 2 at Misano from 15:30 (GMT +2)!


1 Mattia Casadei – Pons Racing 40 – Energica – 13’52.413

2 Dominique Aegerter – Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™ – Energica – +0.134

3 Matteo Ferrari – Felo Gresini MotoE™ – Energica – +0.188

Mattia Casadei: “Beautiful. I wanted this victory and to get it is fantastic. I want to thank all my team, my family, and all the fans and sponsors that are here. I’m very happy, it’s a fantastic emotion. We are all fast riders at the front and on the final lap, after I overtook Domi, I tried to close all the doors, I did well, and this is a fantastic victory.”

Latest Posts

Quinn Knives Producing Josh Hayes Limited Edition Pocket Knives

Quinn Knives & Josh Hayes Team Up to Produce...

AMA Supercross: Race Report And Video Highlights From Arlington, Texas

Cooper Webb Wins Arlington Supercross, Extends Dallas-Area All-Time Win...

Australian Superbike: Report From Race Two And Race Three At Phillip Island

Waters resumes normal service to complete ASBK Phillip Island clean...

WorldSBK: Race Two Results From Phillip Island

Alex Lowes used a thrilling last-lap move to win...

World Supersport: Race Two Results From Phillip Island

Yari Montella won FIM Supersport World Championship Race Two...