MotoAmerica: Gagne Quickest In Testing Monday At COTA

MotoAmerica: Gagne Quickest In Testing Monday At COTA

© 2023, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

Two-time and defending MotoAmerica Superbike Champion Jake Gagne was quickest during testing Monday at Circuit of The Americas (COTA), near Austin, Texas. Riding his Fresh N Lean Progressive Yamaha YZF-R1 in extremely hot conditions, Gagne lapped the 3.4-mile, 20-turn course in 2:10.358.

For comparison, Gagne qualified on pole position for the last MotoAmerica Superbike race at COTA in 2022 with a 2:08.450, and Warhorse HSBK Racing Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci turned the fastest race lap of 2:08.648 on his way to a pair of victories.

Ambient temperatures Monday at COTA were well over 100 degrees F.

Josh Herrin was second-quickest Monday with a time of 2:11.623 on his Warhorse HSBK Racing Ducati Panigale V4 R, which was just ahead of Josh Hayes’ 2:11.830 on the second Fresh N Lean Progressive Yamaha.

After traveling from the American Flat Track (AFT) race in Rapid City, South Dakota, on Sunday, JD Beach arrived at the track late on Monday, jumped on the Fresh N Lean Progressive Yamaha Superbike he will be racing at Pittsburgh International Race Complex, and did a 2:14.239.

Herrin’s teammate Xavi Fores was the sole Supersport rider at the test and did a 2:14.954.

Progressive Insurance/Mission Foods Indian’s Tyler O’Hara and Jeremy McWilliams split their time Monday between their Indian Challenger King Of The Baggers (KOTB) and Indian FTR 1200 Super Hooligan racebikes. O’Hara was fastest on the KOTB machines at 2:18.637, while McWilliams led the way on the Super Hooligan bikes with a 2:20.263.

Testing is scheduled to continue on Tuesday.


Monday’s Unofficial Test Times (as provided by Speedhive/MyLaps):


Jake Gagne (Yam), 2:10.358

Josh Herrin (Duc), 2:11.623

Josh Hayes (Yam), 2:11.830

JD Beach (Yam), 2:14.239



Xavi Fores (Duc), 2:14.954


King Of The Baggers:

Tyler O’Hara (Ind), 2:18.637

Jeremy McWilliams (Ind), 2:20.473


Super Hooligan:

Jeremy McWilliams (Ind), 2:20.263

Tyler O’Hara (Ind), 2:20.461

Latest Posts

MRA: 15th Annual Endurance Race Scheduled June 29 At High Plains

MRA: 15th Annual Endurance Race Running At High Plains...

MotoGP: Vinales Surprised By Espargaro’s Retirement

"Lots of factories have knocked on my door" After a...

Video: ASRA’s New Street Outlaw Bagger Class Kicks Off At Summit Point

ASRA already runs an Outlaw Bagger series for highly...

MT Helmets Announces New Leadership

Javier Tomás takes over as the president of the...

American Flat Track: DuQuoin Mile Tickets On Sale Now

Tickets Now on Sale for 2024 DuQuoin Mile Dirt...