Joe Roberts Smashes Lap Record, Takes AMA Pro SuperSport Pole Position At Miller

Joe Roberts Smashes Lap Record, Takes AMA Pro SuperSport Pole Position At Miller

© 2013, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

Joe Roberts smashed the class lap record and earned the pole position in GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro SuperSport qualifying Saturday morning at Miller Motorsports Park.

Roberts, age 16, lapped the 3.0-mile Perimeter Course in 1:56.566 on his California Superbike School Honda CBR600RR, beating Benny Solis’ 2011 record of 1:58.384 by 1.8 seconds.

Hayden Gillim improved from ninth in provisional qualifying to second in final qualifying with a lap of 1:57.070 on his Team 95/RM Racing Yamaha.

Tomas Puerta, the provisional pole-sitter and SuperSport West Championship point leader, was trying to secure pole position on his RoadRace Factory Yamaha, but he crashed Saturday morning and will start third based upon the 1:57.189 he did on Friday.

Jeff Tigert earned the final spot on the front row with a time of 1:57.252 on his Baby Appleseed/CM Motorsports Yamaha.

The top 12 riders were under the old lap record.

Miller Motorsports Park National/GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing AMA Pro SuperSport Miller Motorsports Park Tooele, Utah August 3, 2013 Provisional Combined Qualifying Results (all on Dunlop tires):

1. Joe Roberts (Hon CBR600RR), 1:56.566 2. Hayden Gillim (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.070 3. Tomas Puerta (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.189, crash 4. Jeffrey Tigert (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.252 5. Corey Alexander (Suz GSX-R600), 1:57.328 6. Wyatt Farris (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.405 7. Miles Thornton (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.562 8. Brandon Cleland (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:57.615 9. Stefano Mesa (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.625 10. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.728 11. Charles Weaver (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.910 12. Ryan Matter (Yam YZF-R6), 1:57.917 13. Devon McDonough (Yam YZF-R6), 1:58.727 14. Erick Sanchez (Yam YZF-R6), 1:58.787 15. Royce McLean (Yam YZF-R6), 1:58.904 16. Andrew DiBrino (Yam YZF-R6), 1:59.027 17. Conner Blevins (Kaw ZX-6R), 1:59.585 18. Andre Ochs (Yam YZF-R6), 1:59.599 19. Alexander Hartl (Yam YZF-R6), 1:59.608 20. Neill Herbert (Yam YZF-R6), 1:59.820 21. Ryan Max Johnson (Yam YZF-R6), 2:00.327 22. Javelin Broderick (Yam YZF-R6), 2:00.982 23. Chad Swain (Yam YZF-R6), 2:00.993 24. Daytona Anderson (Yam YZF-R6), 2:01.210 25. Timothy Hines (Yam YZF-R6), 2:01.563 26. Mark Windham (Yam YZF-R6), 2:01.733 27. Jeremy Simmons (Yam YZF-R6), 2:01.930 28. Nobi Iso (MV Agusta F3 675), 2:03.151 29. Jordan Imrie (Hon CBR600RR), 2:03.474 30. Matheus Perrira (Yam YZF-R6), 2:03.563 31. Michael Pond (Yam YZF-R6), 2:03.888 32. Patricia Fernandez (Yam YZF-R6), 2:05.351 33. Kelly Barnett (Yam YZF-R6), 2:05.726 34. John Crump (Bue 1125R), 2:06.457 35. Donald Ellsworth (Kaw ZX-6R), 2:07.425 36. Jon Foy (Kaw ZX-6R), 2:07.781

110% of Fast Time: 2:08.222

37. Kat Zimpel (Yam YZF-R6), 2:10.124 38. Danielle Diaz (Suz GSX-R600), 2:11.292 39. Chris Crump (Bue 1125R), no time recorded

Latest Posts

Penguin Racing School’s 2024 Schedule Includes New Mid-Ohio Event

Penguin Racing School 2024 Schedule 4/26                 New Hampshire Motor Speedway,...

Video: Sam Fleming Rides And Reviews The 2024 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R

Roadracing World's Sam Fleming shares his experience and thoughts...

American Flat Track: Tickets On Sale For Ventura Short Track

Back to the Beach: Tickets on Sale for Progressive...

ASRA Kicking Off 2024 Season Dec. 2-3 At Homestead-Miami Speedway

ASRA American Superbike Racing Association Kicks off 2024 season...

MotoGP: More From Tuesday’s Test At Valencia

Viñales fastest, Marc Marquez debuts with Ducati in P4 & Acosta...