Howard Takes $4500 Home From CMRA Season-opener At Oak Hill Raceway

Howard Takes $4500 Home From CMRA Season-opener At Oak Hill Raceway

© 2005, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.


From a press release issued by CMRA:

Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association Championship Series
Round 1
Oak Hill Raceway
Henderson, TX
Feb. 19-20, 2005

Ty Howard claimed over $4500 in CMRA purse and Kawasaki contingency money at round one of the 2005 CMRA Championship Roadracing Series held at Oak Hill Raceway near Henderson, Texas this weekend. The opening round of the series was well attended with 552 sprint entries, 45 mini sprint entries and 31 mini endurance teams gracing the grids over the two days of action, despite off-and-on rain, which kept track conditions constantly changing.

The Kawasaki-mounted Howard won four of the five sprint events he entered on Sunday, after crashing out while leading the A Superstock Expert race, and was pushed hard by Heath Small and Craig Montgomery throughout Sunday’s sprint action. Howard claimed wins in the Racing Performance Services B Superstock Expert race, which paid a $150 purse, the C Superstock Expert race, which paid a $500 purse, the Raceworx C Superbike Expert race, which paid a $150 purse and the Pace American Trailers Formula One Expert race, which paid a $1000 purse.

Small claimed the $175 Fast Lap bounty sponsored by Mr. Corder Racing for the fastest Sunday lap time when he turned a 1.23.378 in the C Superbike Expert race, a race that was won by Howard. The lap record is 1:22.565, set last year by Michael Sanchez. Small also added wins in the Motorcycles Unlimited-sponsored A Superbike Expert race and the B Superbike Expert race.

Other money winners included Will Gruy, who also won four Expert events, including the South Central Race Center D Superbike Expert, Unlimited Super Motard, Super Motard and Lightweight Twins Expert classes.

Ronnie Lunsford took top prize money in the AF1 Racing Heavyweight Twins Expert race then later added a win in the Formula 40 Expert race.

Craig Montgomery won the Sum Of All Parts-sponsored A Superstock Expert race, featuring a $150 purse, while Tyler McDonald grabbed a win in the 125cc GP race ($250 purse).

Cory Burleson was the class of the Novice divisions, taking wins in the A Superstock, B Superstock, B Superbike, C Superstock, C Superbike, D Superbike and D Superstock Novice races.

Additional Expert winners include Chase Vivion (Formula 2 Expert), Chris Vinson (Classic Unlimited), Zac Chapman (Formula CMRA Lightweight), Dustin Dominguez (D Superstock Expert), Scott Levine (Formula 40 LW), David Petitpas (Classic Superbike), Chris Vinson (Formula CMRA HW) and Michael Humphries (Formula CMRA MW).

On Saturday, the Mini Sprints hit the track with Tyler McDonald winning first place money in the $250 Formula 4 race, while Kelly Tompkins was top rider in the Formula 6 division. Derrick Wagnon took the win in the Formula 5 race and Dirk Anderson won the Formula 7 race.

After the Mini Sprint action, the Shogun Motorsports Mini Endurance Series, which featured a $500 purse got underway in a light rain. Team K&N #1 won the overall and the Formula 4 class during the 4-hour event, while Team Extreme Powers won the AF1 Racing Formula Mini Endurance Formula 5 class, which featured a $250 purse. The Formula 6 division was won by Team Crossroads Honda and the Formula 7 class was topped by Team Excel.

The CMRA returns to action on March 19-20 at Motorsport Ranch near Cresson, Texas.

Latest Posts

Two-Time World Champion Cecil Sandford, R.I.P.

Two-time Grand Prix World Champion and two-time Isle of...

Australian Superbike: Waters Tops Practice Friday At “The Bend”

Waters and Herfoss dominate practice to set the scene...

British Superbike: Reigning Champ Bridewell Signs With Honda

Reigning champion Tommy Bridewell joins Honda with title-defending ambition In...

Where To Ride In December: Track Days, Schools, And Races

The following track days, riding schools, and racing events...

Oxley Bom MotoGP Podcast: “Valencia 2023 – Don’t Deny The Hugs”

Roadracing World MotoGP Editor and Isle of Man TT winner...