European Talent Cup: Alonso Wins, Scott 16th, Collins 20th, Jigalov 27th

European Talent Cup: Alonso Wins, Scott 16th, Collins 20th, Jigalov 27th

© 2020, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

Editorial Note: Use the zoom and scrolling tools in the bottom left corner of the PDF viewer to better see all pages of the results.


Race 1 Results



More, from a press release issued by FIM CEV Repsol Press Office:

Championships won in sensational opening FIM CEV Repsol race day in Valencia

The first of two race days saw two titles clinched and a huge plot twist as the final action of 2020 enters the horizon for Sunday…

The 2020 FIM CEV Repsol season’s penultimate day of racing saw breath-taking action and phenomenal twists and turns as the Championship battle lit up the spectacle at the Ricardo Tormo Circuit in Valencia. In the Moto2™ European Championship, Yari Montella (Team Ciatti Speed Up) took the crown with a strong second place finish, whilst in the Hawkers European Talent Cup, it was Colombia’s David Alonso (Openbank Aspar Team) who clinched the title in a titanic final lap showdown.

The only Championship that wasn’t clinched was the FIM Moto3™ Junior World Championship, with the race winner being Izan Guevara (Openbank Aspar Team), who came from the third row of the grid to cement himself as the new Championship leader. Moto2™ ECh honours went to Alessandro Zaccone (PromoRacing), as the Italian took a third victory in four races. In the HETC, a thrilling final corner battle saw David Alonso come out on top from 15th on the grid after a penalty on Friday.

The FIM Moto3™ JWCh gave an enthralling spectacle, although big crashes on the exit of Turn 14 for David Salvador (Cuna De Campeones) and Gerard Riu (AGR Team) meant the Red Flag came out. A 12-lap restart saw poleman Pedro Acosta (MT-Foundation 77) grab the lead whilst fellow Spaniard Daniel Holgado (Openbank Aspar Team) passed Japan’s Takuma Matsuyama (Asia Talent Team). However, the man on the move was Izan Guevara and whilst Jose Julian Garcia (SIC 58 Squadra Corse) took a long lap penalty and Matsuyama fell back, the three Spaniards fought to the end. Passing Holgado at Turn 8 and Acosta at Turn 14 on the last lap, Guevara took a fifth victory and the Championship lead for the first time. Xavier Artigas (Leopard Impala Junior Team) didn’t score points after a problem on the grid before lights went out for the restart, and drops to second overall.

With the title on the line, the Moto2™ ECh battle was electric from the start. Montella grabbed an early advantage over Nikki Tuuli (Team Stylobike) and Alessandro Zaccone, who burst through early on. He was soon under pressure from Zaccone and in the closing stages, Zaccone hit the front and the Kalex rider broke clear from Montella’s Speed Up and the two finished in that order ahead of debutant Dominque Aegerter (Liqui Moly Intact SIC Junior Team) – Montella taking the title. Despite a long lap penalty, Andorra’s Xavi Cardelus (Team Stylobike) caught and passed Nikki Tuuli on the final lap as the two completed the top five in that order. There was also late race drama in STK600 as Alex Toledo (EasyRace Team) crashed at Turn 6 and took out title rival Fermin Aldeguer (FAU 55 Tey Racing), meaning Aldeguer’s debutant teammate Fenton Harrison Seabright took the class victory.

The HETC offered great racing from the off with a six-rider group throughout. Constant swapping and changing between Marcos Ruda (Team Honda Laglisse) and Marco Tapia (Leopard Impala Junior Team) let the likes of David Alonso come through to be in the mix. Alonso hit the front in the closing stages, taking victory in a final run to the line by 0.021s – the second-closest finish of the HETC season. Second went to Tapia whilst Alberto Ferrandez (Cuna De Campeones) was able to complete the podium for his fifth rostrum of the year. Poleman Ruda secured fourth ahead of Zonta Van Der Goorbergh (Super-B) in fifth and Alvaro Carpe (Hawkers Finetwork ARO Team) in sixth. Alonso and Van Der Goorbergh can’t be caught in their positions.

With loads to look forward to across the weekend, make sure you know the all-important times below (all times are Local Time GMT+1):

Sunday 1st November Schedule 

11:00: Moto3™ Race – 18 laps

12:00: Hawkers ETC Race – 17 laps

13:00: Moto2™ Race – 19 laps

14:00: Moto3™ Race – 18 laps

Latest Posts

MotoAmerica Live+ Now Available At Mid-Season Price

Midseason Pricing Special For MotoAmerica Live+ Five Rounds And 10...

MotoAmerica: The Final Press Releases From Ridge Motorsports Park

3D Motorsports’ Power claims top-five finish Sunday in MotoAmerica...

Canadian MiniSBK: Lalande Sweeps At Lombardy Raceway

Lalande continues perfect season in Canadian MiniSBK with victory...

MotoAmerica Mini Cup: More From The Ridge

By Shawn Smith A total of 24 young racers from...

American Flat Track: Smith Filling In For Royal Enfield’s Injured Lewis

Cameron Smith to Fill In For Injured Johnny Lewis Moto...