Dick Klamfoth, Three-Time Daytona 200 Winner, To Be Inducted Into Motorsports Hall Of Fame Of America

Dick Klamfoth, Three-Time Daytona 200 Winner, To Be Inducted Into Motorsports Hall Of Fame Of America

© 2017, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

Seven for ’17: Kinser, Klamfoth, Labonte, Murphy, Pruett, Thomas, Yates To Be Inducted Into MSHFA Wednesday Night

  • 29th Annual Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone at Shores Resort & Spa
  • DAYTONA 500 Champion Kurt Busch to Serve as Honorary Chairman
  • Tuesday ‘Heroes Of Horsepower’ Reception in Hall’s Home at Daytona International Speedway
  • Tuesday Inductee Luncheon Presented by Chevrolet at Chevrolet Daytona Experience
  • Wednesday Inductee Breakfast Presented by Toyota in DIS’ Rolex 24 Lounge
  • DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 26, 2017) – The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) is being showcased this week with a series of events capped by Wednesday night’s 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented by Bridgestone, at The Shores Resort & Spa.

    Wednesday marks the second induction ceremony in Daytona Beach for the MSHFA, which relocated last summer to Daytona International Speedway (DIS) from Novi, Michigan. Reigning DAYTONA 500 champion Kurt Busch will be the black-tie affair’s keynote speaker, serving as the Honorary Chairman for the evening. Former road racing great and past inductee David Hobbs will return as the master of ceremonies.

    The new MSHFA facility, located in the speedway’s Ticket and Tours Building, will host the annual “Heroes of Horsepower Reception” on Tuesday night; this year’s seven new inductees will be honored with the unveiling of their respective bronze busts to be displayed perpetually in the hall.

    Those inductees:

  • World of Outlaws Sprint Car legend Steve Kinser, a 20-time WoO champion;
  • Dick Klamfoth, the first three-time winner of the DAYTONA 200 motorcycle road race;
  • Two-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series titlists Terry Labonte and the late Herb Thomas;
  • Drag racing/land-speed record pioneer Paula Murphy;
  • Sports car great Scott Pruett, a five-time Rolex 24 At Daytona champion;
  • Longtime executive editor of Car and Driver and renowned journalist, the late Brock Yates.
  • The 230-person MSHFA inductee roll honors all forms of motorsports: motorcycles, stock cars, sports cars, open-wheel, drag racing, land speed records, powerboating, off-road and aviation racing. MSHFA inductees are chosen via a multi-round voting process involving 200 motorsports peers and experts – including key members of the motorsports media nationwide.

    In addition, two other events are slated for this week to honor the inductees: Tuesday’s Inductee Luncheon Presented by Chevrolet, at the Chevrolet Daytona Experience adjacent to Gatorade Victory Lane at the speedway; and on Wednesday morning, the Inductee Breakfast Presented by Toyota, in the speedway’s Rolex 24 Lounge overlooking the 2.5-mile tri-oval.

    “Once again, our voters – and our voting process – have produced a stellar group of inductees,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson. “Fittingly, we have a stellar lineup of partners for our various events this week, giving our inductees the spotlight they deserve.”

    Tickets for all of the week’s MSHFA activities can be purchased by calling 386.681.6843 or through the MSHFA website at www.mshf.com.

    The MSHFA events lead into the annual Independence Day weekend celebration in the community and at the speedway that includes Saturday night’s tradition-rich Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race, the 59th annual Coke Zero 400 Powered by Coca-Cola.

    About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America:

    The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) held its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was headquartered in Novi, Michigan from 1989-2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Florida in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the nonprofit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation Inc.

    Latest Posts

    Quinn Knives Producing Josh Hayes Limited Edition Pocket Knives

    Quinn Knives & Josh Hayes Team Up to Produce...

    AMA Supercross: Race Report And Video Highlights From Arlington, Texas

    Cooper Webb Wins Arlington Supercross, Extends Dallas-Area All-Time Win...

    Australian Superbike: Report From Race Two And Race Three At Phillip Island

    Waters resumes normal service to complete ASBK Phillip Island clean...

    WorldSBK: Race Two Results From Phillip Island

    Alex Lowes used a thrilling last-lap move to win...

    World Supersport: Race Two Results From Phillip Island

    Yari Montella won FIM Supersport World Championship Race Two...