Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 21, 2019

Daytona 200: Talented Field Of Riders Taking Shape

The starting grid for the 2017 Daytona 200.

A talented field of riders is taking shape for the 78th Daytona 200, which is scheduled to run March 16 at Daytona International Speedway, in Daytona Beach, Florida.

With four weeks remaining to enter the race, there are already 46 riders entered, including: Frenchman Gwen Giabbani, who co-rode to the 2009 FIM Endurance World Championship; Josh Hayes, the four-time AMA Pro Superbike Champion who crossed the finish line first in the 2008 Daytona 200 but was stripped of the victory due to his crew's violation of technical rules; Tyler O'Hara, a former AMA Pro Harley-Davidson XR1200 Championship contender; Cory West, the 2018 Daytona 200 runner-up; Brandon Paasch, a rising American star who regularly competes in the British Motostar Championship; AMA Road Race Horizon Award winner Joseph Blasius; Kyle Wyman, a regular in the MotoAmerica Superbike Championship; Bailey Cox, the 2018 ASRA SportBike National Champion, John Ashmead, the winner of the 1989 Daytona 200, the record holder of the most Daytona 200 starts, and the unofficial record holder of the most miles covered while racing in the Daytona 200; Jason DiSalvo, winner of the 2011 Daytona 200; Bobby Fong, an AMA Pro Daytona SportBike and MotoAmerica Superstock 1000 race winner; Jody Barry, a former AMA Road Race Horizon Award winner; Tony Storniolo, the 2017 ASRA SportBike National Champion; Jason Farrell, the 2014 ASRA SportBike National Champion; Jason Aguilar, the 2017 MotoAmerica Superstock 600 Champion; Geoff May, a former Daytona 200 pole sitter and podium finisher as well as a former World Superbike racer; Darren James, a former Canadian Thunder National Champion; MotoGP Red Bull Rookies Cup graduate Sean Dylan Kelly, winner of the ASRA Team Challenge race at Daytona in October 2018; and Ryan Jones, a regular front-runner in the ASRA National Championships.

One name not on the entry list released by the American Sportbike Racing Association (ASRA) on Thursday was that of four-time Daytona 200 winner Danny Eslick. Earlier this month, Eslick told he is planning to do the Daytona 200 on the same TOBC Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 he used to win the race last year, and today, Eslick re-confirmed that he plans to go for win number five.

Pre-entries for the Daytona 200 are open until March 3. Post-entries for the Daytona 200 will be accepted up until the start of the first qualifying session on March 15.

For more information on how you can enter the Daytona 200, go to

78th Daytona 200

ASRA National Championship

Daytona International Speedway

Daytona Beach, Florida

Official Entry List (as of February 21, 2019):

(Competition Number, Rider Name, Motorcycle)

2, Gwen Giabbani, Suz GSX-R600

4, Joshua Hayes, Yam YZF-R6

9, Tyler O'Hara, Kaw ZX-6R

11, Pat Mooney, Sr., Yam YZF-R6

12, Alen Gyorfi, Yam YZF-R6

13, Cory West, Yam YZF-R6

19, David Moser, Duc 848

21, Brandon Paasch, Yam YZF-R6*

21, Darrin Klemens, Kaw ZX-6R*

24, Joseph Blasius, Tri Daytona 675R

28, Patrick Ryan, Kaw ZX-6R

32, Alexander Guilbeault, Yam YZF-R6

33, Kyle Wyman, Yam YZF-R6

34, Bailey Cox, Kaw ZX-6R*

34, R. Scott Briody, Kaw ZX-6RR*

37, John Ashmead, Kaw ZX-6R

40, Jason DiSalvo, Yam YZF-R6

49, Russ Intravartolo, Yam YZF-R6

50, Bobby Fong, Suz GSX-R600

61, Ross Patterson, Kaw ZX-6R*

61, William Finnerty, Tri Daytona 675*

64, Max Angles, Yam YZF-R6

70, Jody Barry, Kaw ZX-6R

79, Tony Storniolo, Kaw ZX-6R*

79, Roosevelt Wright, Jr., Yam YZF-R6*

86, Jason Farrell, Kaw ZX-6R

94, Justin Holderman, Yam YZF-R6

96, Jason Aguilar, Yam YZF-R6

99, Christpher Dove, Yam YZF-R6*

99, Geoff May, Yam YZF-R6*

114, David Campbell, Hon CBR600RR

141, Alejandro Rei, Yam YZF-R6

147, Andrew Abel, Suz GSX-R600

158, Tyler Wasserbauer, Kaw ZX-6R

229, Darren James, Yam YZF-R6

311, Sean Dylan Kelly, Suz GSX-R600

330, Zoltan Nemes, Suz GSX-R600

368, Daniel Weems, Yam YZF-R6

411, Daniel Spaulding, Yam YZF-R6

412, Rick Lind, Yam YZF-R6

413, Christian Miranda, Yam YZF-R6

683, Ryan Jones, Kaw ZX-6R

690, Bob Berbeco, Suz GSX-R600

760, Timothy Wilson, Kaw ZX-6R

770, Mikal Pechota, Suz GSX-R600

975, Antal Halasz, Suz GSX-R600

*riders entered with the same number may be re-assigned a new number for the race

Top 5 This Week