Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 21, 2013

Bemisderfer, Hanig, Miller Win ASRA Nationals At New Jersey Motorsports Park

Bemisderfer, Miller and Hanig Conquer Heat and NJMP Thunderbolt

ASRA Championship Sprint Series
Sanctioned by AMA
July 20, 2013
New Jersey Motorsports Park
Millville, NJ

Millville, NJ – The AMA sanctioned ASRA Championship Series joined USGPRU and the Championship Cup Series at New Jersey Motorsports Park for the fifth round of the 2013 championship and it was a scorcher in more ways than one. First out were the ASRA SuperStock competitors and they wasted no time getting busy with the championship chase. Tim Bemisderfer put his Suzuki GSX-R1000 out in front and led all 9 laps to finish with a 3.768 margin of victory. Paul DeCouto, the point-leader coming into the event, tried to stay close but between the heat and Bemisderfer's pace it was a losing battle. First to get past DeCouto’s Suzuki was eventual runner-up Mark Heckles on his Honda 1000 on lap 2. Then on lap 6, Erich Helmbach moved his BMW 1000 past DeCouto to take the final podium spot. Bemisderfer's win, coupled with DeCouto’s fourth place, moves him to within 14 points of the championship lead.

In the closest race of the afternoon Mark Miller Jr, defending ASRA SportBike Champion, was challenged the whole race by Ryan Jones and Nick McFadden before securing another victory by a mere 0.735 second. Second place went to Jones with McFadden 0.009 back in third position. Miller rode his Yamaha YZF-R6 to victory while Jones and McFadden finished out the podium on their Suzuki GSX-R600s. With 5 rounds finished, Miller has a 31-point lead over Jones and a 51-point advantage over McFadden with 3 rounds to go.

For the last race of the day, the ASRA ThunderBikes rolled to the line missing point leader Ray Hofman and raising the hopes of championship contender Doug Fogg. When the green flag dropped, it was David Hanig on the Ducati 749 who jumped to the point and took off chasing his first ThunderBike victory of 2013. It didn’t take long for Leonard Roy on his Suzuki SV 650 to move into second position and set off after Hanig. The race was stopped when Jim Bonner crashed his Yamaha 250 after the white flag, ending the race with Hanig in first, Roy in second and Fogg in third place. Ray Hofman holds a 19-point lead over Fogg with three races left in the 2013 ASRA ThunderBike Championship.

In Amateur action Benjamin Seville rode his Suzuki GSXR 750 to the win in SuperStock, Michael Bliss won SportBike on a Honda CBR600 and the ThunderBike win went to Sam Wiest on his Suzuki SV650.

For complete results and point standings, visit www,

The next event for the AMA sanctioned ASRA Championship Series is August 17-18 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, New Hampshire.

The American SportBike Racing Association (ASRA) is the parent organization to the Championship Cup Series (CCS), the largest amateur motorcycle road racing organization in the United States issuing over 3,000 licenses per year. ASRA promotes eight AMA sanctioned Sprint Series and eight AMA sanctioned Team Challenge road racing events for 2013. The CCS Series sanctions 45 events at popular tracks around the United States, including Daytona International Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Road America, Heartland Park, and Virginia International Raceway among other fine venues. In 2013 ASRA and CCS will provide riders with access to millions of dollars of sponsorship awards through participation in its sanctioned events.

Join CCS and ASRA in the greatest road racing experience available today. Race CCS! To learn more visit our website at or call us at (817) 246-1127.
Top 5 This Week