Australian Superbike: Troy Herfoss, Wayne Maxwell Split Race Wins At Phillip Island

Australian Superbike: Troy Herfoss, Wayne Maxwell Split Race Wins At Phillip Island

© 2019, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. From a press release issued By Motorcycling Australia:


6 October 2019 

Troy Herfoss has taken his second Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship round victory for 2019, prevailing in a captivating, final-lap duel with Wayne Maxwell in today’s second race to set up an epic title showdown at Sydney Motorsport Park in four weeks.

Herfoss made a last-lap pass on Mike Jones to finish second behind runaway winner Maxwell in Race 1, before chasing down Maxwell in Race 2 and coming out on top in a last-lap exchange during which the Honda and Suzuki riders repeatedly swapped positions.

“That was the first time I’ve ridden around this track, and felt like I could earn a win,” Herfoss said.

“It was really hard out in front, and Wayne did a great job; he’s so fast around this track, and I didn’t know if I would be able to get him.

“I didn’t want to have to pass him into the Hayshed, I wanted to be in front from Turn 1, but the wind was so heavy out of Turn 2 I got a wobble up and couldn’t open the throttle; I just knew he was going to fight back.

“I’m so proud of my team – I want to dedicate this win to my crew chief Shaun Clarke, because he’s been with me the whole time and he’s worked so hard for me.”

“Troy rode awesome, and I just didn’t quite have enough on the last lap to respond; he caught me be surprise a bit,” Maxwell said.

“I’m happy with second; we’re really in this championship now and I’m looking forward to Sydney.”

While Jones finished third in Race 1, he crashed while battling Maxwell in Race 2 and retired from proceedings; as a result, Josh Waters claimed his first overall podium of the season.

“This year’s been pretty difficult for some reasons, so it’s great to prove to myself that I’ve still got it – thanks to my team and the people around me who haven’t given up,” Waters said.

Daniel Falzon finished the weekend fourth overall ahead of Matt Walters, the privateer following up his front-row qualifying performance by running in the lead pack in both races.

Jones’ DNF allowed both Herfoss and Maxwell to leapfrog him in the standings, and the three riders are separated by just 4.5 points.

Other notable casualties in Race 2 included Cru Halliday, who crashed out of the race while trying to pass his Yamaha team-mate Daniel Falzon, along with Bryan Staring and Mark Chiodo who retired in separate incidents.

The title decider will be held at Sydney Motorsport Park, 1-3 November.

Latest Posts

American Flat Track: Daniels Injured, Beach Filling In At Peoria TT

Estenson Racing’s Dallas Daniels broke his femur while training...

MRA Announces 2024 Schedule Changes

MRA 2024 Season Schedule Update Announcement Byers, CO - The...

American Flat Track: Black Hills H-D Named Sponsor Of Black Hills Half-Mile

Black Hills Harley-Davidson Named Title Sponsor of Black Hills...

Honda Bringing E-Clutch Technology To America

CB650R & CBR650R Bring Honda E-Clutch Technology to the...

MotoGP: Raul Fernandez Re-Signs With Trackhouse Racing Through 2026

TRACKHOUSE RACING RETAINS #25 RAUL FERNANDEZ Trackhouse Racing joined the...