AHRMA Vintage Cup: Dave Roper, Dean De St. Croix Split Race Wins At Barber

AHRMA Vintage Cup: Dave Roper, Dean De St. Croix Split Race Wins At Barber

© 2019, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. From a press release issued By Kenny Cummings on behalf of AHRMA:

The 2019 AHRMA Vintage Cup 350 GP class, sponsored by RoadracingWorld.com and NYC Norton, had its culminating event at the 15th annual Barber Motorsports Park Vintage Festival on October 5th and 6th.

The racing was, as usual, incredibly close throughout the field. There were a lot of entries for this premier race weekend, and racing was exciting from the front to the back of the pack. Saturday’s race winner was Dave Roper, Mr. Saturday, who has, throughout the season, shown that he can pull a win off on Saturday while the others go to school on him on Sundays. We also saw some good racing for 2nd and 3rd between Alex McLean and Canadian Dean De St. Croix, who has come back to race with AHRMA after a 10-year absence—a welcome return! The podium was Roper in 1st, De St. Croix in 2nd, and McLean in 3rd.

Sunday’s racing saw McLean sit the race out, having already secured the 350 GP Vintage Cup national championship. Roper shot out with a sizeable lead at the start of the race, with De St. Croix in 2nd place and Jack Parker rounding out the top three. De St. Croix put his head down and started to chip away, and on the seventh lap was able to pass Roper, whose bike had begun breaking up toward the end of the race. Meanwhile, Parker dropped back and Jim Jowers, riding a beautifully turned out AJS 7R, put the moves on to take third. The podium saw De St. Croix in 1st, Roper in 2nd, and Jowers in 3rd place.

This has been an incredibly successful debut of the AHRMA Vintage Cup. We’re looking forward to doing it again next year, with the 500 Premier/500 GP classes as AHRMA’s Vintage Cup for 2020.

AHRMA Vintage Cup (350 GP) Race Results (Oct. 5):

  1. David Roper (1970 H-D ERTT)
  2. Alex McLean (1967 H-D Aermacchi Drixton), -2.829 seconds
  3. Dean De St. Croix (1958 BSA Geoff Monty Gold Star), -5.118
  4. Jack Parker (1968 Yam DT250), -19.883
  5. Walt Fulton (H-D), -30.170
  6. Jason Roberts (1968 Yam DT-1), -31.383
  7. Jim Jowers (Seeley 7R), -31.901
  8. Jonathan Hollingsworth (1973 H-D), -37.953
  9. Don Hollingsworth (1973 H-D Sprint), -40.656
  10. Jerry Duke (Duc), -41.960
  11. Jason Lindquist (1968 Yam DT-1), -42.341
  12. Robert Aegerter (H-D Aermacchi), -53.879
  13. Richard Hollingsworth (1972 H-D Sprint), -1 lap
  14. Stan Miller (1966 Suz T20), -1 lap
  15. Tim O’Donnell (1969 Duc Mk3 350), -1 lap
  16. Eric Watts (1972 Duc 350), -3 laps
  17. Christian Jensen (Duc 350), 04 laps

AHRMA Vintage Cup (350 GP) Race Results (Oct. 6):

  1. Dean De St. Croix (1958 BSA Geoff Monty Gold Star)
  2. Dave Roper (1970 H-D ERTT), -4.542 seconds
  3. Jim Jowers (Seeley 7R), -55.171
  4. Jack Parker (1968 Yam DT250), -55.807
  5. Jason Roberts (1968 Yam DT-1), -71.800
  6. Don Hollingsworth (1973 H-D Sprint), -71.801
  7. Jonathan Hollingsworth (1973 H-D), -72.000
  8. Jason Lindquist (1968 Yam DT-1), -72.900
  9. Robert Aegerter (H-D Aermacchi), -115.800
  10. Jerry Duke (Duc), -1 lap
  11. Stan Miller (1966 Suz T20), -4 laps
  12. Tim O’Donnell (1969 Duc Mk3 350), -7 laps


Latest Posts

MotoGP: More From Saturday At The Red Bull Grand Prix Of The Americas

Maverick Vinales showed that his speed in Friday practice...

MotoAmerica: Mission King Of The Baggers Race Two Results From COTA (Updated)

Harley-Davidson Factory Racing's Kyle Wyman won MotoAmerica Mission King...

MotoGP: Tissot Sprint Race Results From COTA

Maverick Vinales won the MotoGP World Championship Tissot Sprint...

Moto2: Canet On Pole, Roberts Qualifies P5 At COTA

Veteran Aron Canet took pole position during Moto2 World...

Moto3: Alonso Earns Pole Position At COTA

David Alonso continued his domination of the Moto3 World...