AHRMA Barber Vintage Motorcycle Festival: Mortgage Banker Geoff May Wins Featured Formula Thunder Pro Challenge On EBR 1190RS

AHRMA Barber Vintage Motorcycle Festival: Mortgage Banker Geoff May Wins Featured Formula Thunder Pro Challenge On EBR 1190RS

© 2017, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

Former AMA Pro and World Superbike racer Geoff May, now working as a mortgage banker at CBC National Bank, used a leftover EBR 1190RS practice bike that has been sitting in his garage for years to win the featured Formula Thunder Pro Challenge race at Barber Motorsports Park today, winning $8,000 of the posted $18,000 purse. Road Warrior Law-sponsored May used Dunlop tires to turn a best lap at 1:26.735 and held off pole-sitter Taylor Knapp and his Ducati Panigale to win the 8-lap race by 0.987-second. Knapp’s best lap was a 1:26.825.

Jason Disalvo finished third on a Triumph 675R, with a best lap at 1:26.912. Jake Zemke, who rode a Ducati 1198 Pierobon X80R that developed a quick-shifter-related miss at full lean, finished fourth with a best lap at 1:26.787. Last year’s winner, Stefano Mesa, finished fifth on a Ducati Panigale with a best lap of 1:28.151, while Chris Fillmore finished sixth on an unfaired KTM 1290 Super Duke R with a best lap at 1:28.641. Michael Barnes, Barrett Long, Mark Heckles and Max Flinders rounded out the top 10.

While preparing for the official podium ceremonies hours later, May told Roadracing World, “I would like to dedicate this win to Erik Buell and all the employees of EBR. We created something truly special.”


Barber Vintage Motorcycle Festival

Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham, Alabama

October 7, 2017

AHRMA Formula Thunder Pro Challenge

  • 1. Geoff May, EBR 1190RS, 10 laps, best time 1:26.735, purse $8,000
  • 2. Taylor Knapp, Ducati Panigale, 1:26.825, -1.307 seconds, purse $4,000
  • 3. Jason Disalvo, Triumph 675R, 1:26.912, -7.021 seconds, purse $3,000
  • 4. Jake Zemke, Pierobon X80R Ducati 1198, 1:26.787, -14.877 seconds, purse $2,000
  • 5. Stefano Mesa, Ducati Panigale, 1:28.151, -16.812 seconds, purse $1,000
  • 6. Chris Fillmore, KTM 1290 Super Duke R, 1:28.641, -22.518 seconds
  • 7. Michael Barnes, Ducati Panigale, 1:28.461, -23.525 seconds
  • 8. Barrett Long, Ducati Panigale, 1:29.652, -37.478 seconds
  • 9. Mark Heckles, Ducati 888, 1:31.995, -56.312 seconds
  • 10. Max Flinders, EBR 1190RX, 1:32.181, -67.445 seconds
  • 11. Nate Kern, BMW R9T, 1:34.385, -82.982 seconds
  • 12. Nicholas Sloan, 1:35.417, -91.704 seconds
  • 13. Carlos Gonzalez, EBR 1190RX, 1:33.311, -92.106 seconds
  • 14. Tom Wilbert, 1:36.015, -1 lap
  • 15. Tawfik Khalil Jr, Ducati, 1:38.643, -1 lap
  • 16. John Burden, 1:39.396, -1 lap
  • 17. David Hanig, Ducati, 1:38.097, -1 lap
  • 18. Gillis Glidewell, Triumph, 1:32:770, -7 laps
  • 19. Danny Eslick, Ducati Panigale, -9 laps, DNF, mechanical
  • DNS Seth Starnes, Ducati
  • DNS William Arnold, Ducati

Latest Posts

Bagger Racing League: Narbonne Wins Bagger GP In Utah

Editorial Note: The PDF results provided by Bagger Racing...

PanAmerican Superbike: Miranda Wins Three Races At CMP

PanAmerican Superbike Carolina Motorsports Park May 14, 15 2022 PanAmSBK made their...

N2 Track Days Holding Airfence Fundraiser 6/18-19 At PittRace

N2 Track Days Announces 2022 Airfence Fundraiser Media, PA –...

MotoAmerica: Petrucci Leads Medallia Superbike Points Heading To VIR

Petrucci Leads The MotoAmerica Medallia Superbike Pack To VIR With...

American Mikey Lou Sanchez P4 In ESBK Moto4 Race At Estoril

Mikey Lou Sanchez is proving to be a front...