Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 16, 2002

Vesrah Suzuki Goes 1-2 In WERA Endurance At Talladega

Copyright 2002, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

By Beth Wyse

Vesrah Suzuki won the four-hour WERA/GMD Computrack National Endurance Series race at Talladega Gran Prix Raceway. After a rough start to their day, Tray Batey and John Jacobi rode the Vesrah Suzuki GSX-R1000 to a five-lap margin of victory.

Batey crashed twice in morning practice and missed the warm-up lap of the race because he was wrapping up his injured knee. He held back at the start while Vesrah II took the lead with Army of Darkness in pursuit. Batey worked his way up to the front by fifteen minutes into the race.

In Mediumweight Superbike, Vesrah Suzuki II took their first victory over Army of Darkness, who lost time because of their shift drum bolt. Vesrah II's Mark Junge, Brian Stokes and Dave Yaakov finished second overall on a Suzuki GSX-R600. Another Mediumweight Superbike team on a Suzuki GSX-R600, Velocity Racing Crew finished third overall with riders Paul Youngman and Kevin Perkins.

Performance Superbikes II won Heavyweight Superstock, finishing sixth overall on a Yamaha YZF-R1. Dale Davenport and Brian Watkins rode for the team.

Neighbor of the Beast took their first win of the season in Mediumweight Superstock. Melissa Berkoff, Scott Fisher and Jeff Walker rode a Suzuki GSX-R600 to an overall finish of seventh.

Team Info Tech took another victory in Lightweight Superbike, finishing tenth overall on their Suzuki SV650. Terry Teske, Jurgen Wimbauer, Bobby Miosek and Tommy Bauchiero rode for Team Info Tech.

The race was completed with no red flags.

1. Vesrah Suzuki (Tray Batey/John Jacobi), Suz GSX-R1000, HSB, 229 laps
2. Vesrah Suzuki II (Mark Junge/Brian Stokes/Dave Yaakov), Suz GSX-R600, MSB, 224 laps
3. Velocity Crew Racing (Kevin Perkins/Paul Youngman), Suz GSX-R600, MSB, 220 laps
4. Team Xtreme (Mark Edwards/Billy Ethridge/Ken Snyder), Suz GSX-R1000, HSB, 219 laps
5. Team Xtreme II (Sean Dillon/Rob Palmieri), Suz GSX-R600, MSB, 218 laps
6. Performance Super Bikes II (Dale Davenport/Brian Watkins), Yam YZFR6, HSS, 218 laps
7. NOTB (Melissa Berkoff/Scott Fisher/Jeff Walker), Suz GSX-R600, MSS, 218 laps
8. J&J Motorsports (Jerry Russell/David Coomes), Suz GSX-R750, HSS, 218 laps
9. Team Life (Joe Milanesi/Kevin Warner/Justin Marm), Yam YZFR6, MSS, 217 laps
10. Team Info Tech (Terry Teske/Jurgen Wimbauer/Bobby Miosek/Tommy Bauchiero), Suz SV650, LSB, 216 laps