Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Mar 5, 2002

Updated Post: Motorcycle Hall Of Fame Museum Embarks On Ambitious Expansion Plan

Copyright 2002, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.<BR><BR>Meeting in Daytona, the Board of Directors of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum today approved an ambitious, long-term expansion plan that includes a new 60,000 square-foot building to house museum collections, exhibits and offices.<BR><BR>The new building will be located adjacent to AMA headquarters and existing museum buildings, in Pickerington, Ohio.<BR><BR>The Board also voted to consolidate the museum and its underlying organization under the name<BR>Motorcycle Hall Of Fame Museum, abandoning the separate American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation name for the organization itself.<BR><BR>The museum was founded by the AMA and is an AMA affiliate.<BR><BR>The museum's 2002 board includes Chairman Don Emde, Vice Chairman Mark Mendell, Secretary Dr. Charles Falco, Treasurer Dave Mungenast, Bill Baird, Bob McLean, Tim Parker, Bob Sinclair, Dal Smilie, Mark and Margaret Wilson and John Ulrich.<BR><BR>The board also made committee assignments, appointing Emde, Falco, Mendell and Mungenast to the Executive Committee, which will also take over the duties of the former Nominating and Finance/Budgeting Committees; Ulrich, Parker, Sinclair and Smilie to the Marketing/Branding Committee; Mendell, Sinclair, the Wilsons and Mungenast to the Fundraising Committee; and Falco, McLean, Smith and Baird to the Exhibits/Programs Committee.<BR><BR><BR>A museum press release on the 2002 Board follows:<BR><BR><BR>AMHF BOARD WELCOMES FOUR NEW MEMBERS<BR><BR>PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- The American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation (AMHF), which administers the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, has announced four new members of its Board of Directors. The new members were officially seated at the<BR>Board's >meeting today in Daytona Beach, Florida.<BR><BR>Joining the AMHF Board are Dave Mungenast, Sr. of Sunset Hills, Missouri, Bob Sinclair of Santa Barbara, California, Jeff Smith of Wausau, Wisconsin, and John Ulrich of Lake Elsinore, California.<BR><BR>"We're pleased to welcome these four new members to the Foundation Board," said Don Emde, Chairman of the AMHF Board of Directors. "Their background,<BR>expertise, and enthusiasm, combined with that of the other nine Board members, will ensure that the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum continues to fulfill its mission."<BR><BR>Dave Mungenast, Sr. was a successful enduro racer during the '60s and '70s, riding the International Six Days Trials (ISDT) nine times. He earned six medals in the prestigious competition, including two golds as a member of the Club Team and a silver as part of Triumph squad in 1973. After retiring from competition,<BR>Mungenast continued to support off-road riding as a motorcycle dealer, owner of off-road riding areas, and sponsor of numerous off-road racing events. He was inducted into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2000.<BR><BR>Bob Sinclair brings an extensive powersports background to his position on the AMHF Board. A motorcycling enthusiast for 40 years, he's been active in amateur road racing, off-road racing, and off-shore powerboat racing. Sinclair won<BR>several national class championships in off-shore racing, and held the World Speed Record in the 500ci class. His business career spanned 33 years in the automotive industry, with both Saab and Volvo. He retired from Saab-Scania of America in 1991, where he served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer.<BR><BR>Jeff Smith's enviable racing career includes two 500cc World Motocross Championships, three golds and two bronze medals in the ISDT, five consecutive Super Senior AMA Hare Scrambles Championships, and fifteen American Historic Racing Motorcycle Association (AHRMA) Championships. Smith served as AHRMA's Executive Director from 1990 through 1999, and currently serves on its Board of Trustees. He was inducted into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2000.<BR><BR>John Ulrich, during his 34 years in motorcycling, has competed in enduro, motocross, and road racing events, and currently owns a successful racing team. A motojournalist since 1972, today Ulrich is the owner and Editor of Roadracing<BR>World & Motorcycle Technology magazine and its companion website,<BR><BR>Each member of the AMHF Board of Directors serves a two-year term. Smith, Ulrich, and AMHF Board member Dal Smilie of Helena, Montana, also serve on the Board of Directors of the American Motorcyclist Association.<BR><BR>The other members of the AMHF Board of Directors are Emde of Laguna Niguel, California, Mark Mendell (Vice Chairman) of Buffalo, New York, Dr. Charles Falco (Secretary) of Tucson, Arizona, Bill Baird of Sterling, Illinois, Bob McLean of Bettendorf, Iowa, Tim Parker of Stillwater, Minnesota, and Margaret and Mike Wilson of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.<BR><BR>The goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum, located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame<BR>honors those who have contributed notably to the sport, and three major exhibition halls showcase the machines and memorabilia that have shaped motorcycling.<BR><BR>The Museum is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily; noon to 4.p.m. on Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day; and closed on New Year's, Easter,<BR>Thanksgiving and Christmas. Adult admission is $4 per person; ages 17 and under are admitted free. For more information, call (614) 856-2222, or visit the Museum's website at<BR>;
Top 5 This Week