Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Apr 7, 2002

Rossi Wins MotoGP In Wet At Suzuka While Roberts Crashes Out, Hopkins Crashes But Finishes 12th

Copyright 2002, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.<BR><BR>Valentino Rossi rode the Honda RC211V four-stroke to the first MotoGP race, in the rain at Suzuka. Akira Ryo finished second a Suzuki GSV-R four-stroke and Carlos Checa was third on a Yamaha YZR-M1 four-stroke, making it a clean sweep for the 990cc four-strokes.<BR><BR>Former 500cc World Champion Kenny Roberts crashed out, as did Jurgen van den Goorbergh, Garry McCoy, Olivier Jacque, Max Biaggi, Sete Giberbau, Jeremy McWilliams, Shinya Nakano and Tohru Ukawa.<BR><BR>Young American John Hopkins crashed twice but picked up his bike both times, pitted twice for repairs, and finished 12th, 5 laps down, to score points in the first Grand Prix of his career.<BR><BR>The race was 28 laps, or 122.241 kilometers long.<BR><BR>Results follow:<BR><BR>1. Valentino Rossi, Honda RC211V, 49:32.766<BR><BR>2. Akiro Ryo, Suzuki GSV-R, 49:34.316<BR><BR>3. Carlos Checa, Yamaha YZR-M1, 49:41.119<BR><BR>4. Shinichi Itoh, Honda RC211V, 49:43.595<BR><BR>5. Norick Abe, Yamaha YZR500, 49:53.189<BR><BR>6. Alex Barros, Honda NSR500, 50:05.025<BR><BR>7. Nobuatsu Aoki, Proton KR3, 50:12.399<BR><BR>8. Regis Laconi, Aprilia RS3, -1 lap<BR><BR>9. Loris Capirossi, Honda NSR500, -1 lap<BR><BR>10. Daijiro Katoh, Honda NSR500, -1 lap<BR><BR>11. Tetsuta Harada, Honda NSR500, -1 lap<BR><BR>12. John Hopkins, Yamaha YZR500, -5 laps<BR><BR>13. Tohru Ukawa, Honda RC211V, -3 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>14. Shinya Nakano, Yamaha YZR500, -4 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>15. Jeremy McWilliams, Proton KR3, -5 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>16. Sete Gibernau, Suzuki GSV-R, -9 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>17. Olivier Jacque, Yamaha YZR500, -9 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>18. Kenny Roberts, Suzuki GSV-R, -15 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>19. Max Biaggi, Yamaha YZR-M1, -15 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>20. Jurgen van den Goorbergh, Honda NSR500, -17 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR>21. Garry McCoy, Yamaha YZR500, -19 laps, DNF, crashed<BR><BR><BR><BR>Osamu Miyazaki won the 19-lap 250cc Grand Prix race on a Yamaha from Daisaku Sakai on a Honda and Randy De Puniet on an Aprilia. The race saw 15 riders crash out, including Casey Stoner, Jay Vincent, Marco Melandri, Roberto Locatelli, Shahrol Yuzy, Leon Haslam, Fonsi Nieto and Haruchika Aoki. Results follow:<BR><BR>1. Osamu Miyazaki, Yamaha, 47:09.454<BR><BR>2. Daisaku Sakai, Honda, -6.941 seconds<BR><BR>3. Randy de Puniet, Aprilia, -29.020<BR><BR>4. Emilio Alzamora, Honda, -45.300<BR><BR>5. Sebastian Porto, Yamaha, -45.495<BR><BR>6. Naoki Matsudo, Yamaha, -54.725<BR><BR>7. Choujun Kameya, Honda, -60.572<BR><BR>8. Roberto Rolfo, Honda, -62.287<BR><BR>9. Alex Debon, Aprilia, -78.282<BR><BR>10. Franco Battaini, Aprilia, -79.377<BR><BR><BR>Arnaud Vincent won the 125cc Grand Prix, an 18-lap race that saw 9 riders crash. Results follow:<BR><BR>1. Arnaud Vincent, Aprilia, 46.22.971<BR><BR>2. Mirko Giansanti, Honda, -1.164 seconds<BR><BR>3. Manuel Poggiali, Gilera, -2.558<BR><BR>4. Noboru Ueda, Honda, -3.479<BR><BR>5. Simone Sanna, Aprilia, -10.188<BR><BR>6. Shuhei Aoyama, Honda, -23.056<BR><BR>7. Angel Rodriguez, Aprilia, -23.653<BR><BR>8. Daniel Pedrosa, Honda, -33.488<BR><BR>9. Lucio Cecchinello, Aprilia, -34.285<BR><BR>10. Gino Borsoi, Aprilia, -47.304