Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 6, 2013

Maxwell Wraps Up 2013 QBE Australian Superbike Championship At Phillip Island

2013 QBE Australian Superbike Champion Wayne Maxwell. Photo by Andrew Gosling/TBG Images, courtesy of Fluid PR.
Maxwell and Falzon crowned 2013 ASBK Champions

After nine years in the premier QBE Australian Superbike class, Team Suzuki rider Wayne Maxwell has taken his first championship crown.

CAT Yamaha rider Daniel Falzon took the title in the Motul Supersport class, capping off an incredible debut year for the 19 year old, in which he finished on the podium at every round.
Maxwell, who started from pole position, won today’s opening 12-lap race but the Race 2 win and round spoils went to NextGen Motorports Glenn Allerton.

“It is a great feeling to get my first Superbike title,” Maxwell said. “It is also really rewarding to finish the championship with a podium results.

“I always knew I could win, it was a matter of everything falling into place. Roll on 2014.

Allerton’s round win saw him surpass Team Volvo Suzuki’s Robbie Bugden in the championship standings to take the runner-up spot.

“It was very satisfying to end the year with such a good results,” Allerton said. “I finished second in Race 1 but it was as good as a win, it was that close between Wayne and I.

“It was nervous times before the last race due to the rain but I decided to go with slicks. Once I got past the guys on the wets it was about managing the gap.

“While we had hoped to finish one better in the championship it is still a great achievement for our team as we are not a factory team,” Allerton added.

In the Motul Supersport class Daniel Falzon came into the round with a 20-point lead. The South Australian faced stiff opposition from NSW rider Aaron Morris, who won both of today’s 12 lap races and took the round win.

Falzon finished the round third and seven points ahead of Morris in the championship standings.

“The Motul Supersport Championship has proven to be one of the most the most difficult series I have ever raced in,” Falzon said.

“I can’t believe we have come out on top after so much hard work. We stayed consistent all year and I was the only rider to finish on the podium at every round.

“It was the consistency that won it for us and I was also extremely lucky to have such an awesome team behind me,” Falzon continued.

While Matt Walters secured the Honda Prostock Championship at the previous round the battle for second went down to the wire. NextGen Motorsports Ben Nicholson finished the series in the runner-up spot but it was Sean Condon who came away with the round win today.

Top Ten QBE Australian Superbike Round 7 Results - Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

1. Glenn ALLERTON (BMW) 45, 2. Wayne MAXWELL (Suzuki)44, 3. Robert BUGDEN (Suzuki) 38, 4. Jamie STAUFFER (Honda) 33, 5. Josh HOOK (Honda) 31, 6. Ben HENRY (Suzuki) 30, 7. Beau BEATON (Suzuki) 28, 8. Ben BURKE (Kawasaki) 25, 9. Glenn SCOTT (Honda) 24, 10. Phil LOVETT (Kawasaki) 23

Top Ten QBE Australian Superbike Championship (Final standings)

1. Wayne MAXWELL (Suzuki) 268, 2. Glenn ALLERTON (BMW) 234, 3. Robert BUGDEN (Suzuki) 231, 4. Jamie STAUFFER (Honda) 213, 5. Josh HOOK (Honda) 198, 6. Glenn SCOTT (Honda) 156, 7. Beau BEATON (Kawasaki) 155, 8. Linden MAGEE (BMW) 141, 9. Phil LOVETT (Kawasaki) 126, 10. Ben HENRY (Suzuki) 119

Top Ten Motul Supersport Round 7 Results - Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

1. Aaron MORRIS (Yamaha) 51, 2. Michael BLAIR (Yamaha) 38, 3. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha) 38, 4. Ryan TAYLOR (Yamaha) 34, 5. Hudson PITT (Suzuki) 32, 6. Mason COOTE (Yamaha) 30, 7. Thomas BRYDEN (Yamaha) 27, 8. Cam RUSSELL (Yamaha) 25, 9. Jake THOMAS (Kawasaki) 23, 10. David ROUGHLEY (Yamaha) 20

Top Ten Motul Supersport Championship (Final standings)

1. Daniel FALZON (Yamaha) 247, 2. Aaron MORRIS (Yamaha) 240, 3. Michael BLAIR (Yamaha) 204, 4. Ryan TAYLOR (Yamaha) 169, 5. Chris QUINN (Yamaha) 153, 6. Callum SPRIGGS (Yamaha) 147, 7. Aiden WAGNER (Yamaha) 136, 8. Mason COOTE (Yamaha) 127, 9. Aaron GOBERT (Kawasaki) 117, 10. Hudson PITT (Suzuki) 104
Top 5 This Week