Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Sep 28, 2013

Guintoli Wins eni FIM World Superbike Superpole At Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

eni FIM Superbike World Championship: Sylvain Guintoli (50).
eni FIM Superbike World Championship
Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Monterey, California
September 28, 2013
Final Qualifying Results, After Superpole (all on Pirelli tires):

From Superpole Knockout Session Three:

1. Sylvain Guintoli, France (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), 1:22.683*
2. Tom Sykes, UK (Kawasaki ZX-10R), 1:22.698
3. Eugene Laverty, Ireland (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), 1:22.728, crash
4. Niccolo Canepa, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), 1:22.824
5. Chaz Davies, UK (BMW S1000RR), 1:23.040
6. Davide Giugliano, Italy (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), 1:23.353
7. Marco Melandri, Italy (BMW S1000RR), 1:23.363
8. Jules Cluzel, France (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:24.079
9. Ayrton Badovini, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), 1:24.789

From Superpole Knockout Session Two:

10. Roger Hayden, USA (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:24.133
11. Danny Eslick, USA (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:24.153
12. Leon Haslam, UK (Honda CBR1000RR), no time recorded in Superpole Two

From Superpole Knocout Session One:

13. Michel Fabrizio, Italy (Honda CBR1000RR), 1:24.212
14. Mark Aitchison, Australia (Kawasaki ZX-10R), 1:24.364
15. Toni Elias, Spain (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), 1:24.456

The Rest of the Grid:

16. David Salom, Spain (Kawasaki ZX-10R), 1:25.449
17. Blake Young, USA (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 1:25.661
18. Federico Sandi, Italy (Kawasaki ZX-10R), 1:25.668
19. Vittorio Iannuzzo, Italy (BMW S1000RR), 1:25.975
20. Glenn Allerton, Australia (BMW S1000RR), 1:26.735

*new Circuit Best Lap Record

More, from a press release issued by SBK Press Office:

Maiden Tissot-Superpole of the season for Sylvain Guintoli

Laguna Seca (US), Saturday 28 September 2013 – The Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca hosted today one of the most challenging Tissot-Superpole of the season, that was won by Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) at the very last minute thanks to a 1'22.683 lap-time, new Best Lap for the track. The Frenchman – who scored his second ever Superpole, first one this year - edged out Championship leader Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) by just 0.015s, while other works Aprilia rider Eugene Laverty had to settle for third, after crashing at Turn 3 in the final stages.

Fourth place Niccolò Canepa (Team Ducati Alstare) will share the second row of the grid with Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet) and Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Apriila), while Davies' team mate Marco Melandri will start the two races – the first one scheduled for today at 2pm local time – from seventh place.

Times: 1. Guintoli (Aprilia) 1'22.683 average 157.179 kph; 2. Sykes (Kawasaki) 1'22.698; 3. Laverty (Aprilia) 1'22.728; 4. Canepa (Ducati) 1'22.824; 5. Davies (BMW) 1'23.040; 6. Giugliano (Aprilia) 1'23.353; 7. Melandri (BMW) 1'23.363; 8. Cluzel (Suzuki) 1'24.079; 9. Badovini (Ducati) 1'24.789; 10. Hayden (Suzuki); 11. Eslick (Suzuki); 12. Haslam (Honda); 13. Fabrizio (Honda); 14. Aitchison (Kawasaki) 1'24.364; 15. Elias (Aprilia).
Top 5 This Week