Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >   |   Win Cool Prizes: Take Our Reader Survey >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 15, 2001

AMA Pro Racing Finally Publicly Acknowledges Normand DQ Error

Late Sunday night, October 14, AMA Pro Racing Public Relations Contractor Larry Lawrence updated the story--linked to the home page--to reflect that Chris Normand was wrongly disqualified from the VIR Pro Thunder race two weeks earlier.<BR><BR>The correction marked the first public acknowledgement that AMA Pro Racing made a mistake in disqualifying Normand under a minimum-weight rule that no longer applied to non-desmo twin-cylinder motorcycles like his Suzuki SV650.<BR><BR>Lawrence corrected the posting by inserting the following note above the story, which still says Normand was DQ'd: "NOTE: CHRIS NORMAND WAS INCORRECTLY DISQUALIFIED FROM THE PRO THUNDER FINAL. HIS MOTORCYCLE WAS LEGAL DUE TO REVISED WEIGHT RULES FOR THE CLASS. HIS THIRD-PLACE FINISH WAS REINSTATED."<BR><BR>Lawrence modified the post after pointed out that the incorrect story still appeared on the Speedvision site, which is linked to by a Media Center button on the home page.<BR><BR>In an e-mail to on Sunday night, Lawrence wrote: "I was supposed to update the Speedvision website with the corrected VIR Pro Thunder result. I thought I had, but the update software is sometimes a bit quirky. I checked it tonight and I'm pretty certain now that it has been updated. <BR> <BR>"Thanks for bringing it to my attention."<BR>