Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 19, 2013

AMA Pro Racers Dominate 17th Annual Roadracing World Young Gun Honors

Roadracing World Young Gun Ryan Matter (122). Photo by Brian J. Nelson

AMA Pro road racers dominate the 17th Annual Roadracing World Young Gun Honors, recognizing the best young road racers in North America. The annual feature is published in the March, 2013 edition of Roadracing World magazine, now in distribution to subscribers and on newsstands nationwide.

Among the 30 riders named as 2013 Roadracing World Young Guns are 17 AMA Pros, including 13 who plan to compete this season in SuperSport and another four in Daytona SportBike.

The SuperSport riders include Jason Aguilar, age 16; Corey Alexander, age 18; Daytona Anderson, age 16; Conner Blevins, age 18; Wyatt Farris, age 18; Hayden Gillim. age 18; Cameron Gish, age 18; Tyler Linders, age 16; Ryan Matter, age 17; Stefano Mesa, age 18; Andre Ochs, age 16; Travis Ohge, age 18; and Miles Thornton, age 18.

The Daytona SportBike riders include Austin DeHaven, age 18; Garrett Gerloff, age 17; Jake Lewis, age 17; and Benny Solis, age 18.

Being named a Roadracing World Young Gun means something to these young racers. For example, returning Young Gun Ryan Matter said, "I'm happy to be a part of the Roadracing World Young Guns program because it's a great way to get your name out there so people will notice you. When people hear that you are a Roadracing World Young Gun they recognize that you have accomplished something special. It means that I'm on a good path and I have the potential like someone who has been a Roadracing World Young Gun in the past."

And newly named Young Gun Daytona Anderson said, "I've read Roadracing World magazine as an amateur coming up, and the Young Guns always went on and did great things. So I'm really excited to be chosen. It's a great way to kick off the debut season of my AMA Pro career."

Past Roadracing World Young Guns who have won AMA Pro road races include Tommy Aquino, J.D. Beach, Cameron Beaubier, Josh Day, Jason DiSalvo, Dustin Dominguez, Danny Eslick, Bobby Fong, Jake Gagne, Nicky Hayden, Roger Hayden, Tommy Hayden, Josh Herrin, Jake Holden, John Hopkins, Elena Myers, Shane Narbonne, Huntley Nash, Tyler Odom, Joey Pascarella, Chris Peris, James Rispoli, Ben Spies, Chris Ulrich and Blake Young.