World Superbike: Superpole Race Results From WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

World Superbike: Superpole Race Results From WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

© 2019, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

Alvaro Bautista was clipped by Toprak Razgatlioglu in Turn Two on the original start, causing Bautista to crash.

Later on the first lap, JD Beach and Alessandro Delbianco came together at the entrance to the Corkscrew and both crashed.

At the end of the first lap of the 10-lap Superpole Race, the leaders were shown the red flag, stopping the race.

Bautista’s Racing Ducati was returned to his pit box, but Bautista was taken to the medical center and did not return prior to the eight-lap restart of the Superpole Race.

Beach was seen walking away from his crash, but he did not attempt to restart the race.

Delbianco did restart the Superpole Race from the back of the grid.

With the win and 12 points earned in the Superpole Race, Jonathan Rea now has a 61-point lead in the standings and can finish second behind Bautista in the 13 remaining races (nine regular races and four Superpole races) in 2019 and still win the Championship.

World Superbike Race Lap Record: Alvaro Bautista, 1:22.945, 2019

World Superbike All-Time/Pole Lap Record: Tom Sykes, 1:21.811, 2014

Motul FIM Superbike World Championship

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

Monterey, California, USA

July 14, 2019

Superpole Race Results (all on Pirelli tires):

1. Jonathan Rea, UK (Kaw ZX-10RR), 8 laps, Total Race Time 11:09.272, 1:22.700 (New Race Lap Record)

2. Chaz Davies, UK (Duc Panigale V4 R), -2.533 seconds, 1:22.986

3. Tom Sykes, UK (BMW S1000RR), -3.641, 1:23.023

4. Toprak Razgatlioglu, Turkey (Kaw ZX-10RR), -4.901, 1:23.269

5. Leon Haslam, UK (Kaw ZX-10RR), -5.995, 1:23.341

6. Alex Lowes, UK (Yam YZF-R1), -6.207, 1:23.305

7. Loris Baz, France (Yam YZF-R1), -9.597, 1:23.779

8. Jordi Torres, Spain (Kaw ZX-10RR), -9.711, 1:23.753

9. Leandro Mercado, Argentina (Kaw ZX-10RR), -13.441, 1:24.457

10. Michael Van Der Mark, Netherlands (Yam YZF-R1), -13.633, 1:24.193

11. Sandro Cortese, Germany (Yam YZF-R1), -14.658, 1:24.390

12. Markus Reiterberger, Germany (BMW S1000RR), -14.865, 1:24.360

13. Michael Rinaldi, Italy (Duc Panigale V4 R), -17.991, 1:24.424

14. Eugene Laverty, Ireland (Duc Panigale V4 R), -18.917, 1:24.813

15. Ryuichi Kiyonari, Japan (Hon CBR1000RR SP2), -19.253, 1:24.814

16. Marco Melandri, Italy (Yam YZF-R1), -40.443, 1:24.168

17. Alessandro Delbianco, Italy (Hon CBR1000RR SP2), DNS*

18. JD Beach, USA (Yam YZF-R1), DNS*

19. Alvaro Bautista, Spain (Duc Panigale V4 R), DNS*

*crashed during first portion of red-flagged race

World Championship Point Standings (after 24 of 37 races):

1. Rea, 413 points

2. Bautista, 352

3. Van Der Mark, 215

4. Lowes, 207

5. Haslam, 192

6. Razgatlioglu, 175

7. TIE, Sykes/Davies, 159

9. Melandri, 131

10. Cortese, 98

11. Rinaldi, 91

12. Torres, 88

13. Baz, 67

14. Reiterberger, 57

15. Mercado, 43

16. Laverty, 37

17. Leon Camier, 26

18. TIE, Lorenzo Zanetti/Delbianco, 21

20. Kiyonari, 19

21. Peter Hickman, 14

22. Tommy Bridewell, 12

23. Yuki Takahashi, 11

24. Michele Pirro, 10

25. Samuele Cavalieri, 6

26. Hector Barbera, 3

Latest Posts

Canadian Superbike: Young Breaks Lap Record, Takes Pole At Mosport

Young sets new lap record en route to pole...

British Superbike: O’Halloran Rebounds From Crash To Lead FP2 At Thruxton

Editorial Note: Americans Julian Correa and Eli Banish were...

British Superbike: Mackenzie Tops FP1 At Thruxton

Editorial Note: American Julian Correa was 16th in British...

MotoAmerica: Herrin, Petrucci Doing N2/WERA Endurance Race At PittRace

MotoAmerica stars Josh Herrin and Danilo Petrucci are entered...