Morais Quickest In Wet MotoAmerica Superbike/Superstock 1000 Warm-Up At Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Morais Quickest In Wet MotoAmerica Superbike/Superstock 1000 Warm-Up At Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

© 2015, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

South African Sheridan Morais was the quickest rider during the MotoAmerica Superbike/Superstock 1000 warm-up session early Sunday morning at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Riding his Aprilia/HSBK Racing RSV4, Morais led all riders with a time of 1:36.854 on the wet 2.2-mile road course.

That’s right. It was wet. It was raining lightly during the session, and every rider appeared to be using rain tires.

Weather forecasts vary, but it appears that there is some chance for rain at any point of the day Sunday in Monterey, California.

After a quick, unofficial poll of paddock veterans, the last time anyone remembers there being a pro motorcycle road race in the rain at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca was in 1999 when Tommy Hayden dominated an AMA Pro Supersport race held in very wet conditions.

MotoAmerica FIM/AMA North America Road Racing Series

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Monterey, California

July 19, 2015

Combined Superbike/Superstock 1000 Warm-Up Results (wet conditions, all on Dunlop tires):

1. Sheridan Morais (Aprilia), Superstock, 1:36.854

2. Josh Hayes (Yamaha), Superbike, 1:36.957

3. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha), Superbike, 1:37.147

4. Jake Gagne (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:38.217

5. Roger Hayden (Suzuki), Superbike, 1:38.586

6. Daniel Rivas (BMW), Superbike, 1:38.586

7. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha), Superbike, 1:38.661

8. Josh Day (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:39.371

9. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki), Superbike, 1:39.639

10. Jake Lewis (Suzuki), Superbike, 1:40.157

11. Barrett Long (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:40.673

12. Taylor Knapp (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:42.103

13. Mark Heckles (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:42.748

14. Chris Fillmore (KTM), Superbike, 1:42.766

15. Elena Myers (Suzuki), Superbike 1:43.047

16. Shane Narbonne (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:43.208

17. Steve Rapp (BMW), Superstock, 1:45.317

18. Mathew Orange (BMW), Superbike, 1:46.989

19. Oleg Pianykh (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:48.494

20. Max Flinders (Yamaha), Superstock, 1:50.957

21. Kevin Pinkstaff (Kawasaki), Superbike, 1:52.223

22. Danny Eslick (Honda), Superbike, 1:58.185

23. Josh Chisum (Yamaha), Superstock, no time recorded

24. Tyler O’Hara (Yamaha), Superstock, no time recorded

25. Devon McDonough (Aprilia), Superstock, no time recorded

26. Cory Call (BMW), Superstock, no time recorded

27. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha), Superstock, no time recorded

28. Chad Swain (Suzuki), Superstock, no time recorded

Latest Posts

Isle Of Man TT: Arai Celebrating 40 Years Of Racing On The Island


Isle Of Man TT: Watch All The Action On TT+ Live Pass

We Are Live  Witness The Spectacle TT 2024 is LIVE. Expected...

MotoGP: World Championship Race Results From Catalunya (Updated)

Francesco "Pecco" Bagnaia won the FIM MotoGP World Championship...

Moto2: World Championship Race Results From Catalunya

Ai Ogura won the FIM Moto2 World Championship race...

Moto3: World Championship Race Results From Catalunya

David Alonso won the FIM Moto3 World Championship race...