Canadian Superbike: Championship Point Structure Altered

Canadian Superbike: Championship Point Structure Altered

© 2024, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. From a press release issued By CSBK/Professional Motorsports Productions (PMP):

Bridgestone CSBK tweaks point structure for 2024

Hamilton, ON – The Bridgestone Canadian Superbike Championship has made a slight revision to its point structure for the 2024 campaign, removing the “lap led bonus” for all national classes this season.

The rule was first introduced in the 1990’s, where the rider who led the most laps in each race would earn a two-point bonus in the standings. When CSBK adopted the more common FIM-style point structure in 2022, the rule was revised to become a two-point bonus to any rider who led a lap across the line, with multiple riders able to earn the bonus in each race. 

Beginning in 2024, no in-race bonuses will be awarded. The qualifying point system will remain in place, awarding four points to pole position down to one point for fourth, while the race point structure also remains unchanged from the FIM system used in 2023.

The lap led bonus was unique to the Bridgestone CSBK series, with every other major motorcycle racing championship currently using the standard FIM point structure, seen primarily in MotoGP and World Superbike. 

Notably, eliminating the bonus points would not have changed any of the title outcomes in either 2022 or 2023, the two seasons when the most recent format was used. 

Last season, three different riders managed to lead a lap in the feature GP Bikes Pro Superbike category, with champion Ben Young doing it on six occasions while rival Alex Dumas countered with five lap led bonuses and Sam Guerin earned one.

In the Pro Sport Bike category, eight different riders managed to secure a lap led bonus at some point in the season, with champion David MacKay doing so four times while runner-up Matt Simpson and Sebastien Tremblay each countered with three. 

The revised format is just the latest change to take affect entering the 2024 season, which will begin with round one at Shannonville Motorsport Park from May 17-19, just east of Belleville, ON. 

Latest Posts

WorldSBK: Superpole Race Results From Autodrom Most

Toprak Razgatlioglu won the FIM Superbike World Championship Superpole...

British Superbike: Race One Results From Brands Hatch

Editorial Note: Americans Julian Correa, Joshua Raymond, Jr., and...

World Supersport: Race One Results From Autodrom Most

      More, from a press release issued by Dorna: Huertas extends...

WorldSBK: Race One Results From Autodrom Most

Toprak Razgatlioglu won FIM Superbike World Championship Race One...

WorldSBK: Razgatlioglu Smashes Record, Takes Pole At Autodrom Most

Toprak Razgatlioglu earned pole position during FIM Superbike World...