Australian Superbike: Race One Results From Phillip Island

Australian Superbike: Race One Results From Phillip Island

© 2020, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. By David Swarts.

Race Lap Record: 1:31.881, Michael Jones, 2019

mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship

Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia

February 29, 2020

Race One Results:

  1. Wayne Maxwell (Duc Panigale V4 R), 12 laps, Total Race Time 18:40.847, Best Lap Time 1:32.456
  2. Cru Halliday (Yam YZF-R1), -0.848 second, 1:32.500
  3. Josh Waters (Suz GSX-R1000), -2.889 seconds, 1:32.664
  4. Bryan Staring (Kaw ZX-10R), -7.547, 1:32.980
  5. Troy Herfoss (Hon CBR1000RR), -17.010, 1:32.475
  6. Arthur Sissis (Suz GSX-R1000), -17.263, 1:33.859
  7. Daniel Falzon (Yam YZF-R1), -17.397, 1:33.752
  8. Aiden Wagner (Yam YZF-R1), -17.485, 1:32.290
  9. Jed Metcher (Suz GSX-R1000), -25.268, 1:34.319
  10. Josh Hayes (Yam YZF-R1), -27.142, 1:34.223
  11. Linden Magee (BMW S1000RR), -39.697, 1:35.405
  12. Max Crocker (Suz GSX-R1000), -39.736, 1:35.388
  13. Sloan Frost (Suz GSX-R1000), -46.159, 1:35.683
  14. Beau Beaton (Duc Panigale V4 R), -49.072, 1:35.662
  15. Brendan McIntyre (Suz GSX-R1000), -52.902, 1:36.208
  16. Glenn Allerton (BMW S1000RR), -56.395, 1:32.767
  17. Glenn Scott (Kaw ZX-10R), -56.894, 1:36.850
  18. Giuseppe Scarcella (Duc Panigale), -57.679, 1:36.943
  19. Dean Hasler (BMW S1000RR), -64.432, 1:37.478
  20. Matthew Tooley (Yam YZF-R1), -70.792, 1:37.876



More, from a press release issued by Motorcycling Australia:


Wayne Maxwell (47) leads Cru Halliday and Josh Waters (25) during Race One at Phillip Island. Photo by Russell Colvin, courtesy of Motorcycling Australia.
Wayne Maxwell (47) leads Cru Halliday and Josh Waters (25) during Race One at Phillip Island. Photo by Russell Colvin, courtesy of Motorcycling Australia.

Well we expected drama in the first mi-bike Motorcycle Insurance Australian Superbike Championship, presented by Motul, and that’s what we got with Ducati’s Mike Jones bike failing on the warm-up lap and Boost Mobile’s Wayne Maxwell taking the victory in a sensational battle with Yamaha Racing Team’s Cru Halliday and JW Racing Suzuki rider Josh Waters.

It was drama from the start with 2019 ASBK Champion Mike Jones having bike issues on the warm up lap.


As the flag dropped it was Waters with the holeshot before he was quickly gobbled up by Maxwell and Halliday.

Early in the race Penrite Honda’s Troy Herfoss joined the battle as did Kawasaki BC Performance Bryan Staring.

Herfoss pressured Maxwell but ran wide mid-race losing a stack of ground and slipped back into the field.


Halliday moved onto the back wheel of Maxwell in the second half of the race piling on the pressure but, was unable each lap to keep on Maxwell’s tail leading onto the main straight.

On lap 10 Staring was pressuring Waters but just couldn’t get close enough for a solid pass.

On the last lap Halliday gave it his all but Maxwell again was too strong at the Island kicking off his championship in fine style, Halliday second, Waters third, Staring fourth and Troy Herfoss fifth after being able to make up a few places.

Race two coming up this afternoon, stay tuned.

Latest Posts

World Endurance: ERC Endurance Ducati Bolsters Rider Lineup

Spanish gain: ERC Endurance Ducati adds Checa and Fores...

MotoAmerica: Schultz Returning To Twins Cup

Cycle Tech to Contest 2022 MotoAmerica Twins Cup Championship...

MotoAmerica: Motul Sponsoring Two Classes In 2022


World Superbike: Rea Quickest At Jerez Test

Strong Jerez Test For KRT Kawasaki Racing Team riders Jonathan...

NPA Renews Partnership With USMCA Motorcycle Coaching

National Powersport Auctions Continues With USMCA and Temecula, California...