Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 27, 2013

Zemke Wins Two CVMA Races During Wind-Shortened Weekend At Chuckwalla

Jake Zemke (98) leads Brian Short (12) during Supersport Middleweight at Chuckwalla Valley Raceway. Photo by CaliPhotography, courtesy of CVMA

Round Five of Chuckwalla Valley Motorcycle Association's winter series took place this past weekend, with sizable grids and excellent racing in all classes.

Highlights of the event included former AMA Daytona 200 winner Jake Zemke winning both Supersport Middleweight and Formula Middleweight by a fair margin aboard his Pirelli-shod Honda CBR600RR. Zemke outpaced the pack immediately, leaving Brian Short on his Pirelli-shod Yamaha YZF-R6 all by himself in second place, and Chris Duran and Andrew Zabzdyr to battle for 3rd place aboard their Yamaha YZF-R6s. Duran bested Zabzdyr in both races.

Ryan Gagliano also had a successful weekend, taking the top step on the podium in both Formula 40 Lightweight and Formula Twins aboard his de-stroked, Bridgestone-equipped Ducati 650.

Dale Kieffer rode his Pirelli-shod, #1-plated Suzuki GSX-R1000 to a convincing victory in Formula Open. Kieffer has already established a substantial points lead in Formula Open and is well on his way to another well-deserved class championship.

FemmeWalla, CVMA's all-women class, also played host to AMA pro racer Melissa Paris who rode an AP MotoArts Suzuki SV650 to second place, finishing behind Joanna Bitter aboard her Yamaha YZF-R6.

CVMA typically runs a full schedule of races on both Saturday and Sunday, offering racers the opportunity to participate in numerous races. Unfortunately, extreme winds on Sunday prompted Race Director Jay Tanner to cancel Sunday's events.

CVMA racing resumes at Chuckwalla March 30th and 31st. ~

Saturday Results:

250SS 1. Josh Fogle (Kaw 250R) 2. Ari Henning (Hon CBR250R) 3. Jonathan Hong (Kaw 250R) 4. Darren Simms (Kaw 250R) 5. Elaine Carpenter (Kaw 250R) 6. Arek Stanton (Kaw 250R)

Amateur Formula Middleweight 1. Luis Quinones (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Walter Nitto Sr. (Tri Daytona 675) 3. Mark Buenaflor (Kaw ZX-6R) 4. Austin Harness (Hon CBR600RR) 5. Damon Duckworth (Yam YZF-R6) 6. Aaron Shmuckler (Kaw ZX-6R)

Amateur Formula Open 1. Duncan Mardling 2. Jozef Tomasovich (Kaw ZX-10R) 3. John Menzie (Suz GSX-R1000) 4. Canea Rowan (Suz GSX-R1000) 5. Sterling Robertson (Apr RSV4) 6. Damon Duckworth (Yam YZF-R6)

Amateur Formula Twins 1. Scott Holmes (Suz SV650) 2. Brian Lensch (Suz SV650) 3. Mitchell Cardwell (Suz SV650)

Amateur Supersport Middleweight 1. Mark Buenaflor (Kaw ZX-6R) 2. Luis Quinones (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Walter Nitto Sr. (Tri Daytona 675) 4. Jeff Townson (Hon CBR600RR) 5. Austin Harness (Hon CBR600RR) 6. Kyle Robinson (Kaw ZX-6R)

Amateur Supersport Open 1. Jozef Tomasovich (Kaw ZX-10R) 2. Kyle Robinson (Kaw ZX-10R) 3. Damon Duckworth (Yam YZF-R6) 4. John Menzie (Suz GSX-R1000) 5. Chris Alford (Duc 1199) 6. Dan McCormack (Duc 1199)

FemmeWalla 1. Joanna Bitter (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Melissa Paris (Suz SV650) 3. Lea Cutshall (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Issey W. Wiriyahyuttamar (Tri Daytona 675) 5. Jennifer Dunstan (Hon CBR600RR) 6. Christin Voros (Hon CBR600RR)

Formula 2 1. Vincent Rolleri (Yam TZ250) 2. Michael Gilbert (Suz SV650) 3. Christian Readyhoff (Suz SV650) 4. Brian Herzfeldt (Kaw 650R) 5. Andrew Artola (Suz SV650) 6. Kalvin Kwong (Suz SV650)

Formula 40 1. Kenny Perez (BMW S1000RR) 2. Lenny Beckman (Yam YZF-R1) 3. Ted Rich (Kaw ZX-10R) 4. Bill McCoy (BMW S1000RR) 5. Humberto Baca (Yam YZF-R6) 6. James Davis (Yam YZF-R6)

Formula 40 Lightweight 1. Ryan Gagliano (Duc 650) 2. Brian Herzfeldt (Kaw 650R) 3. Ralph Staropoli (Yam 250) 4. John Reynolds (Suz SV650) 5. Charles Fathy (Suz SV650)

Formula Middleweight 1. Jake Zemke (Hon CBR600RR) 2. Brian Short (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Chris Duran (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Andrew Zabzdyr (Yam YZF-R6) 5. Walter Nitto Jr (Tri Daytona 675) 6. Humberto Baca (Yam YZF-R6)

Formula Open 1. Dale Kieffer (Suz GSX-R1000) 2. Chad Lewin (Hon CBR1000RR) 3. Kenny Perez (BMW S1000RR) 4. Lenny Beckman (Yam YZF-R1) 5. Evan Cox (Suz S1000RR) 6. Ted Rich (Kaw ZX-10R)

Formula Twins 1. Ryan Gagliano (Duc 650) 2. Christian Readyhoff (Suz SV650) 3. Michael Gilbert (Suz SV650) 4. Andrew Artola (Suz SV650) 5. Kalvin Kwong (Suz SV650) 6. Evan Markus (Suz SV650)

Modern Vintage Lightweight 1. Christian Readyhoff (Suz SV650) 2, John Reynolds (Suz SV650) 3. Chaz Abbott (Suz SV650)

Supersport Middleweight 1. Jake Zemke (Hon CBR600RR) 2. Brian Short (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Chris Duran (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Andrew Zabzdyr (Yam YZF-R6) 5. Walter Nitto Jr (Tri Daytona 675) 6. Humberto Baca (Yam YZF-R6)

Supersport Open 1. Kenny Perez (BMW S1000RR) 2. Lenny Beckman (Yam YZF-R1) 3. Shane Kampstra (Suz GSX-R1000) 4. Evan Cox (Suz GSX-R1000) 5. Anton Sohn (Hon CBR1000RR) 6. Christopher Gustin (Suz GSX-R1000)

Open Twins Grand Prix 1. Kenny Perez (Duc 1199) 2. Chris Alford (Duc 1199) 3. Dan McCormack (Duc 1199) 4. Chaz Abbott (Suz SV650)

Ultra Lightweight Shootout 1. Steven Dawson (Kaw 250R) 2. Jonathan Hong (Kaw 250R) 3. Ari Henning (Hon CBR250R) 4. Josh Fogle (Kaw 250R) 5. Darren Simms (Kaw 250R) 6. John Hamilton (Kaw 250R)

Vintage Lightweight 1. Craig Beecher (Yam) 2. Stephen Gillen (Hon) 3. Charles Stark (Kaw)

Top 5 This Week