Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 2, 2002

World Endurance Series Announces Permanent Team Lineup

From a press release:

International Teams Line Up for World Endurance Prize
The Prestigious "200 Miles" come back

Twenty-six teams from ten countries have applied for "permanent" status in the 2002 FIM World Endurance Championship. Races will be held in six countries around the world, reinforcing the successful efforts of the FIM and series promoter Octagon Motorsports in developing the series.

The official Permanent Teams list, delivered by the FIM Selection Committee, is including teams representing France, Germany, China, Belgium, Italy, the Czech Republic, Austria, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK.
All four of the Japanese manufacturers are represented, and this year no less than two Ducatis will be competing in the full series. As World Endurance becomes more competitive the teams are becoming more professional, with several of the front runners entering two-bike squads. The "permanent teams" list includes riders representing 14 different nations.

Endurance World Championship includes this year too the Suzuka 8 Hours, regarded by many as world's most important motorcycle race but year 2002 also sees a wider range of races than before. The traditional 24-hour race format supplemented by 8 and 6 hour sprints and the resurrection of shorter races such as the classic 200 Miles. This mix of gruelling long-distance tests, shorter tactical challenges and intense sprints will test the depth of skill of all teams; reliability alone will not be enough to win the championship. The varied format will also gain greater TV coverage and spectator interest.

Races will take place in San Marino, the UK, the Czech Republic, Japan, Germany and Italy, with the calendar stretching from April to October. Teams will compete for a single FIM ratified World Championship, with bikes modified to World Superbike, SuperProduction and Stocksport regulations going head to head in the same race. The permanent teams will be joined by a full grid of local "wildcard" entries at each round, with supporting races adding to the unique Endurance Festival atmosphere.

World Endurance Championship 2002 Provisional Entry List:

(Bike Number, Team Name, Nationality, Riders, Riders' Nationality, Bike Manufacturer and Model)

1. WIM Motors Racing Division, Belgium, Laurent Naveau, Belgium, Albert Aerts, Belgium, Heinz Platacis, Germany, Honda RC51-SP2.

2. Zongshen 2, China, Stephane Mertens, Belgium, Warwick Nowland, Australia, TBA, Suzuki GSX-R1000

3. QB Phase One, Great Britain, Jason Pridmore, USA, Mike Edwards, Great Britain, Olivier Ulmann, France, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

4. Team Schafer Endurance, Germany, Hans Herber, Germany, Martin Blug, Germany, Gerhard Lindner, Germany, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

5. Herman Verboven Racing 5, Belgium, Michael Barnes, USA, John Jacobi, USA, Andy Deatherage, USA, Suzuki GSX-R750.

6. Herman Verboven Racing 6, Belgium, Jeff Vermeulen, Belgium, Wim Van Achter, Belgium, TBA, Suzuki GSX-R750.

7. Ducateam, France, J. Claude Hambuckers, Belgium, Emmanuel Ripault, France, J. Michael Salvaia, France, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

8. Bolliger Team, Switzerland, Marcel Kellenberger, Switzerland, Roman Stamm, Switzerland, Thomas Hinterreiter, Austria, Kawasaki ZX-9R.

9. Zongshen 9, China, Igor Jerman, Slovakia, Bruno Bonhuil, France, TBA, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

10. QB Phase One Junior, Great Britain, James Hutchins, Great Britain, David Morillon, France, Frederic Moreira, France, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

11. Rookie Endurance Racing Team, Germany, Thomas Roth, Germany, Jochen Schermuly, Germany, Christian Plantius, Germany, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

12. Team, Sweden, Niklas Carlberg, Sweden, Paul Notman, Great Britain, Andy Notman, Great Britain, Yamaha YZF-R1.

14. Jet Endurance Team, Switzerland, Claude-Alain Jaggi, Switzerland, Dave Rollier, Switzerland, Regis Bosonnet, Switzerland, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

15. Nolden Racing Team, Germany, Erich Nolden, Germany, Michael Weynand, Belgium, Norbert Jansen, Germany, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

16., Germany, Harry Gres, Germany, Stephan Steinbach, Germany, Markus Stroeher, Germany, Ducati 998R.

18. Yamaha Austria Racing Team, Austria, Horst Saiger, Austria, Erwin Wilding, Austria, Manfred Kainz, Austria, Yamaha YZF-R1.

21. Piazza Corse, Italy, Dario Marchetti, Italy, Marc Garcia, France, TBA, Ducati 998R.

22. Team 22 Police Nationale, France, Thierry Paillot, France, Gwen Giabbani, France, Christophe Roche, France, Kawasaki ZX-9R.

34. Bergmann & Sohne Racing, Germany, Klaus Schulz, Germany, Rudiger Seefeldt, Germany, Harald Kitsch, Germany, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

38. Endurance Moto 38, France, Bernard Cuzin, France, Christian Hacquin, France, Philippe Dobe, France, Yamaha YZF-R1.

44. Team Top Moto, France, Franck Lethin, France, David Dumain, France, Jacques Le Noxaic, France, Yamaha YZF-R1.

54. Trackdaze 54, Great Britain, John Croxford, Great Britain, James Agombar, Great Britain, Tony McNally, Great Britain, Yamaha YZF-R1.

55. Trackdaze 55, Great Britain, Chris Burns, Great Britain, Jeff Collins, Great Britain, Ralph Stocker, Great Britain, Yamaha YZF-R1.

77. Replay Racing Team, Czech Republic, Michal Bursa, Czech Republic, Sandor Bitter, Hungary, Karl Truchsess, Austria, Kawasaki ZX-7RR.

91. Dap Unisson Motomax, France, Stephane Gallia, France, Pierrot Lerat Vanstaen, France, J. Francois Cortinovis, France, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

94. GMT 94, France, Christophe Guyot, France, Sebastien Scarnato, France, Arnaud Vandenbossche, France, Suzuki GSX-R1000.

Top 5 This Week