Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 2, 2002

Updated Post: McCarthy First In Pro Thunder, Oliver Wins 250cc Grand Prix At Pikes Peak

Copyright 2002, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.<BR><BR>Kirk McCarthy stalked his Buell opponents for half the Pro Thunder race at Pikes Peak before making his moved, taking the lead and pulling away to a 2.682-second margin at the flag. McCarthy rode an AMS Ducati 748.<BR><BR>Shawn Higbee, who led early-on, retired with engine problems on his Buell XB9R. Dave Estok and Mike Ciccotto finished second and third on their Buells. Shane Turpin was fourth on a Ducati 748 with Leo Venega fifth on another Ducati. Venega was later disqualified for running an oversized engine.<BR><BR><BR>In 250cc Grand Prix, Rich Oliver beat Simon Turner by 2.805 seconds, leading every lap of the race. Chuck Sorensen was third with Jason DiSalvo fourth ahead of Perry Melneciuc.<BR><BR>Results follow:<BR><BR>Pro Thunder<BR>1. Kirk McCarthy, Ducati, 29 laps<BR>2. Dave Estok, Buell<BR>3. Mike Ciccotto, Buell<BR>4. Shane Turpin, Ducati, -1 lap<BR>5. Leo Venega, Ducati, -1 lap<BR>6. Josh Bryan, Buell, - 1 lap<BR>7. Charlie Hewett, Ducati, -1 lap<BR>8. Tom Hull, Ducati, -1 lap<BR>9. Tom Chauncey, Ducati, -2 laps<BR>10. Clark Freatman, Ducati, -2 laps<BR>11. Michael Kludt, Buell, -2 laps<BR>12. Jessica Zalusky, Ducati, -2 laps<BR>13. Charles Sipp, Buell, -3 laps<BR>14. Peter Bohlig, Suzuki, -3 laps<BR>15. Dale Pestes, Ducati, -5 laps<BR>16. Heath Small, Ducati, -9 laps<BR>17. Brian Destarac, Suzuki, -12 laps<BR>18. Tom Montano, Ducati, -14 laps<BR>19. Tripp Nobles, Buell, -16 laps<BR>20. Shawn Higbee, Buell, -19 laps<BR>21. Debbie Venega, Ducati, -25 laps<BR><BR><BR>250cc Grand Prix<BR>(Yamaha TZ250 unless indicated)<BR>1. Rich Oliver, 29 laps<BR>2. Simon Turner<BR>3. Chuck Sorensen, Aprilia RSV250<BR>4. Jason DiSalvo, Honda RS250R<BR>5. Perry Melneciuc<BR>6. Colin Jensen, Aprilia RSV250, -1 lap<BR>7. Ty Piz, -1 lap<BR>8. Ed Sorbo, -1 lap<BR>9. Frank Aragaki, -1 lap<BR>10. Darren Fulce, -1 lap<BR>11. John Williams, -1 lap<BR>12. Russ Strobridge, -2 laps<BR>13. Andy Edwards, -2 laps<BR>14. David Bothell, Honda RS250R, -2 laps<BR>15. Stephen Bowline, Honda RS250R, -3 laps<BR>16. Glen Christianson, -3 laps<BR>17. John France, Honda, -28 laps, DNF<BR>
Top 5 This Week