Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 18, 2001

Updated Post: MBNA 250cc Grand Prix Final Results From Loudon

<BR><BR>1. Jimmy Filice, Yamaha<BR>2. Chuck Sorensen, Yamaha<BR>3. Jeff Wood, Yamaha<BR>4. Michael Hannas, Yamaha<BR>5. Perry Melneciuc, Yamaha<BR>6. Simon Turner, Yamaha<BR>7. Derek Mackelvie King, Honda<BR>8. Ed Marchini, Yamaha<BR>9. Steve Scott, Yamaha<BR>10. Chris Pyles, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>11. William Himmelsbach, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>12. Ed Sorbo, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>13. Greg Esser, Honda, 23 laps<BR>14. Tony Iannarelli, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>15. Stuart Nodell, Honda, 23 laps<BR>16. Tyler Henshaw, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>17. Bruce Lind, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>18. James Bonner, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>19. John France, Honda, 23 laps<BR>20. Ty Piz, Yamaha, 23 laps<BR>21. Sean Wray, Yamaha, 22 laps<BR>22. Rich Oliver, Yamaha, 16 laps, DNF, crashed<BR>23. Michael Himmelsbach, Aprilia, 16 laps, DNF, mechanical<BR>24. Michael Zajac, Yamaha, 15 laps<BR>25. Chris Holske, Yamaha, 8 laps<BR>26. Gus Holcomb, Yamaha, 5 laps<BR>27. Cory West, Yamaha, 0 laps<BR><BR>What follows is the winning team's press release version of what happened at Loudon:<BR><BR><BR>"Corbin Grand Prix Wins Loudon Classic<BR><BR>"Corbin Grand Prix's Jimmy Filice rode to a commanding victory in the 78th annual Loudon Classic held in perfect conditions at New Hampshire International Speedway in Loudon, New Hampshire. Filice took the lead from the start and led till lap 11 when rival Rich Oliver made a pass for the lead. Filice bombed back past on the brakes into the first turn at the end of the lap and was never headed. Oliver hung on and tried to pressure Filice but fell in turn 2 on lap 17. <BR><BR>"Second today was Chuck Sorensen who ran with the lead pair early but dropped back after a few bad breaks in traffic. Sorensen finished five seconds in arrears. Local rider Jeff Wood finished third.<BR><BR>"Today's final event was delayed a day by rain from its originally scheduled Sunday start.<BR><BR>"With his victory today, Filice has taken a commanding lead in the championship standings, with five rounds complete.<BR><BR>"Jim won his qualifying heat over Michael Hannas, with Oliver winning the second heat over Chuck Sorensen.<BR><BR>"The team now heads for Corbin's home race at Laguna Seca raceway in Monterey, California. Laguna was the scene of Jim's greatest victory when he won the USGP there in 1988 over the best riders in the world. <BR><BR>"Corbin Grand Prix's Success is made possible by the generous support of our sponsors, who include: Corbin, Yamaha, Dunlop, Motion Pro, Swedetech Racing Engines, Scuderia West, Fox Racing Shox, Supertech, Tiger Angel, Arai, Alpinestars, Z Gallerie, Hap Jones, Mike Vail Enterprises, Nutec, DID Chain, Aim Sports, And Roadracing World."<BR>