Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jan 21, 2002

This Just In: News From MARRC Awards Banquet

From a press release received January 21:

For Immediate Release:

MARRC Awards Banquet Salutes Racers and Volunteers

Laurel, MD, January 12, 2002 - - The Mid-Atlantic Roadracing Club (MARRC) held its 18th annual awards banquet in Laurel, Maryland to recognize its members and Mid-Atlantic racers. Nearly 100 people attended the event, including several WERA, CCS, and Formula USA National Champions.

The MARRC annual awards are voted on by the MARRC membership, consisting of cornerworkers, racers, and road racing enthusiasts. The MARRC Board of Directors, along with past award winners and special guests, presented the awards. Awards are presented based on the votes from MARRC members, with the exception of two special categories--President's Awards, which are decided by the club President, and the Harry E. Morse Cup, which is decided by a consensus of the Board of Directors and Judy Morse.

The name most heard at this year's banquet was that of Rick Beggs. Mr. Beggs was recognized as not only the person who contributed most to MARRC during the past season as the recipient of the MARRC Cup, but also as the top middleweight expert during 2001, and the recipient of the Crash-and-Burn Award.

Mr. Beggs received the infamous Crash and Burn Award, given to the most spectacular crash of the year, for his highside at Summit Point Raceway that sent his Kawasaki careening into another rider in a monumental fireball. Fortunately both riders were OK, but what was left of the motorcycles in fierycrash had to be retired from racing.

Mr. Beggs also received a President's Award from outgoing President Roger Lyle in recognition of his support of the MARRC Roadracing School.

In a similar fashion, Timothy Bemisderfer dominated the racing scene in the Mid-Atlantic region, earning the distinction of the HW Expert of the Year and Professional Rider of the Year.

MARRC's Cornerworker of the Year went to Will Astle, who committed himself to the club all season in many different ways. Not only has he been a trusted Corner Captain and Safety Crew member, but Mr. Astle has become one of the favorite chefs for the weekend meals. He also proved invaluable at reporting on zoning meetings for Summit Point Raceway, and tracking community events. His leadership, dedication, and initiative have made Mr. Astle more than worthy
of this award.

Other notable winners include Loudoun MotorSports, as the Endurance Team of the Year, for their outstanding season in winning not only the WERA HW Superstock Endurance National Championship, but also for claiming National CCS and Formula USA Championships as well. Area native and AMA mechanic Todd Fenton was recognized as Tuner of the Year for his work on the Valvoline Suzuki team supporting rider Grant Lopez.

Roger Lyle received the Harry E. Morse Cup not only for his long career as a leader in road racing safety, but as an endurance racer and his sportsmanship throughout his life. Suffice to say, Mr. Lyle's life has been dedicated to the advancement of motorcycle road racing, and has served not only MARRC but the entire road racing community.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of a President's Award to retiring CCS and former AMA Grid Marshall Dave Lewis. A well-known figure to many of the attendees, Mr. Lewis recalled the hundreds of races and thousands of miles he drove during his time in racing. He calculated that he spent the equivalent of over one year just driving to each event, and that 15% of his lifetime has been spent in working in motorcycle racing.

During the evening, Roger Lyle and Roger Bacon also announced their resignation and retirement from the Board of Directors to make way for new leadership in the Club. In recognition of Mr. Lyle's dedication to MARRC, he was named as President Emeritus, and made a member for life. Wendy Leland and John Capen were introduced as the new President and Vice-President, respectively.

Complete List of Awards and Award Winners:

Cornerworker of the Year:
Will Astle

Rick Beggs

Heavyweight Expert:
Timothy Bemisderfer

Middleweight Expert:
Rick Beggs

Lightweight Expert:
Steve Keener

Heavyweight Amateur:Joe Kimble

Middleweight Amateur:
Tomas Bauchiero

Lightweight Amateur:
Robert E. Lee

Professional Rider:
Timothy Bemisderfer

Endurance Team:
Loudon MotorSports

Twins Rider:
Stephen Harris

Todd Fenton

Best Looking Motorcycle:
Thane Stielow

Crash and Burn:
Rick Beggs

Hard Luck:
Ed Morgan

Michael Parr

Harry E. Morse Cup:
Roger Lyle

President's Awards:
Dave Lewis
Sharon Stringfield
Scooter and Karen Ball
Roger Bacon
Bill & Sandy Powers
Rick Beggs
David Rickman
Art Sears

MARRC is dedicated to the advancement of motorcycle road racing. Established in 1983 as a not-for-profit, all-volunteer club to provide a trained and organized safety crew at Summit Point Raceway in West Virginia, it has expanded in membership and scope. The Club boasts over 500 active members that include racers, cornerworkers, and racing enthusiasts. MARRC now runs a nationally recognized safety crew, and a road racing school accredited by CCS and WERA. Last year, MARRC volunteers spent over 14,000 hours of service in the Safety Crew, road racing school, and racer support functions.

For more information, see the MARRC website at