Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jan 31, 2003

The Latest In A Blitz Of AHRMA Press Releases...

From a press release issued by AHRMA:<BR><BR>AHRMA honors Great Men at Daytona<BR><BR>The American Historic Racing Motorcycle Association celebrates not only the machines of the past but also the people who made history on them. Many of these men will be honored as part of AHRMA's Daytona Bike Week activities this year. The following is a list of the motorcycling greats who will be taking part in the "Great Men" autograph sessions at Daytona International Speedway on March 3 and 4 during AHRMA Classics Days roadracing.<BR><BR>• Les Archer, AHRMA's Bike Week grand marshal, a top motocrosser of the 1950s and early ‘60s known for campaigning a Norton Manx-based machine; 1956 European Motocross Champion (then considered the world title), 1954 MX des Nations overall winner.<BR><BR>• Everett Brashear, a top dirt tracker from the late 1940s to early ‘60s.<BR><BR>• Chet Dykgraaf, the American Motorcyclist Association's first national champion in 1946. <BR><BR>• Paul Goldsmith, AMA national champion, USAC stock car champion, and the only man to win Daytona both on a motorcycle (‘53) and in a car (‘58). <BR><BR>• Bobby Hill, two-time AMA champ; winner of Daytona (‘54), Springfield, Indianapolis, Syracuse and Dodge City; part of the notorious Indian "Wrecking Crew."<BR><BR>• Dick Klamfoth, first three-time Daytona 200 winner (1949, ‘51, ‘52). <BR><BR>• Al Knapp, multi-time vintage racing champ and AHRMA's oldest active roadracer at age 78. <BR><BR>• Brad Lackey, 1982 World 500cc Motocross Champion; ‘72 AMA 500cc National Champion; frequent competitor in AHRMA motocross events. <BR><BR>• Dick Mann, AMA Grand National Champion in '63 and '71, Daytona winner in '70 and '71, and the first rider to win all five AMA racing categories — roadrace, TT, short track, half-mile and mile. <BR><BR>• Jody Nicholas, a roadrace specialist of the 1960s and ‘70s, competed five times in the Daytona 200. <BR><BR>• Gary Nixon, two-time AMA Grand National Champion (‘67, ‘68). <BR><BR>• Jim Pomeroy, first American to win a World Motocross Grand Prix and first rider ever to win his GP debut (both 1973 in Spain); first rider to win an AMA indoor Supercross (Houston, ‘74). <BR><BR>• Jeff Smith, two-time World 500cc Motocross Champion (‘64, ‘65); many-times ISDT gold medal winner; British motocross and trials champion. <BR><BR>• Jay Springsteen, three-time AMA Grand National Champion (1976-78). <BR><BR>• Bill Tuman, Indian Wrecking Crew and 1953 AMA national champ. <BR><BR>• Ed Youngblood, noted author (Mann of His Time), museum curator and former AMA president.<BR><BR>Autograph sessions will take place Monday and Tuesday, March 3 and 4, at 11 a.m. in the AHRMA tent in the paddock at Daytona International Speedway.<BR><BR>Many of these men also will participate in an autograph and photo session at 1 p.m. on Sunday, March 2, at the American Motorcycle Institute (3042 W. International Speedway Blvd., Daytona Beach). The event is free and open to the public.<BR><BR>For more information, visit the Bike Week preview page at<BR><BR><BR><BR>;