Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 27, 2011

Suzuka 8 Hours Race Will Start One Hour Earlier This Year To Save Power

Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (1).
Suzuki Endurance Racing Team and Yoshimura Suzuki Racing are both chasing victory at this weekend's prestigious and hotly-contested World Endurance Championship third round at Suzuka in Japan.

Reigning World Champions and current series leaders, SERT, will field a three-man team of Daisaku Sakai, Vincent Philippe and Anthony Delhalle on the French team's GSX-R1000, while Yoshimura Suzuki has put another strong and experienced line-up aboard its Yoshimura-prepped GSX-R1000, comprising former MotoGP, WSB and BSB rider Yukio Kagayama, Suzuki MotoGP test rider Nobuatsu Aoki and Australian Josh Waters.

The Suzuka 8 Hour race is an Endurance classic in Japan, attracting the top Japanese teams, and following a recent two-day test at the circuit, Yoshimura Suzuki and SERT are likely to face strong opposition from FCC TSR Honda with three regular Suzuka podium contenders; Kosuke Akiyoshi, Shinichi Itoh and Ryuichi Kiyonari along with 2010 Suzuka 8 Hour winners, Honda Musashi RT Harc Pro's Takumi Takahashi, Makoto Tamada and Tadayuki Okada.

A total of six permanent World Endurance Championship teams are entered, including current second-placed BMW Motorrad France 99 and third-placed Yamaha Racing France GMT 94 Ipone.

The first Free Practice sessions are scheduled for tomorrow afternoon (GMT + 9), and to save energy consumption in the country - that continues to recover from the recent Earthquake and ensuing Tsunami - the start of the race has been moved one hour earlier.

World Endurance Championship Standings (after 2 rounds):

1 Suzuki Endurance Racing Team, FRA (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 54
2 BMW Motorrad France 99, BEL (BMW S1000RR) 52
3 Yamaha Racing France GMT 94 Ipone, FRA (Yamaha YZF-R1) 35
4 Team SRC Kawasaki, FRA (Kawasaki ZX10R) 28
5 YMES Folch Endurance, ESP (Yamaha YZF-R1) 25
6 National Motos, FRA (Honda CBR1000RR) 22
7 Bolliger Team Switzerland, SUI (Kawasaki ZX10R) 18
8 Team R2CL, FRA (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 17
9 Monster Yamaha YART, AUT (Yamaha YZF-R1) 16
10 Honda TT Legends, GBR (Honda CBR1000RR) 15