Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 2, 2013

Sutton Wins Overall WMRRA Championship At Pacific Raceways

Sutton Dominates and Takes WMRRA Championship at Rainy Pacific Raceways

WMRRA Round 7, Pacific Raceways, Kent, Washington

9/28/13 - 9/29/13 After an impressive 2013 race season, Ryan “Chromie” Sutton headed home with the WMRRA #1 plate on his motorcycle. In his sixth season of racing with WMRRA, Ryan has become “the guy that everyone is chasing.” Ryan was at the top of the podium on every class he raced this weekend, 750 Superbike, Open Superbike, and both Formula Ultra races.

The championship-deciding WMRRA round was held at a rainy and windy Pacific Raceways on the 28th and 29th of September. The record setting rainfall brought about a mudslide that covered Turn 7 in gravel and debris at the end of Saturday’s races. All the racers would like to thank Pacific Raceway staff and WMRRA staff for hustling to clear the track in preparation for Sunday’s races. Only the die-hard “heart of WMRRA" showed up to battle the conditions, with several riders racking up points to improve their class positions. In the end, only 36 points separated #2 through #5 in the Overall Championship.

Former WMRRA President, Allister MacKinnon celebrated his most successful year racing yet, notching the #2 plate in the Overall Championship. MacKinnon had solid finishes over the weekend, claiming 3rd in Open Superbike, 3rd in the Saturday Formula Ultra race, and a 4th in the Sunday Formula Ultra and 750 Superbike.

2012 #1 plate holder, Mark DeGross, finished 3rd in the Overall Championship. DeGross finished the season in style last weekend by racking up a 1st in 600 Superbike, a 2nd in 600 Supersport and both legs of Formula Ultra, and a 3rd in 750 Superbike.

Up-and-comer, Kyle Staples had a great 2013 season, finishing in 4th Overall. Staples had a solid weekend, finishing 3rd in both 600 Superbike and 600 Supersport, and 5th place finishes in 750 Superbike, 750 Supersport, and both Formula Ultra races.

Sam Verderico, the 2012 OMRRA #2 plate holder, raced the entire season with WMRRA, and won the #5 plate for his efforts. Verderico had a stellar weekend, claiming the top of the podium in Open Supersport and 750 Supersport, a pair of 4th place finishes in Open Superbike and Saturdays Formula Ultra race, and a 6th in the Sunday Formula Ultra event.

In Novice, David Wanzer beat Keith Robert by a scant 19 points to claim the 2013 Novice Championship. Wanzer claimed 2nd in the Saturday race and 3rd in the Sunday race, clinching the points needed to take the title.

Sutton’s 2013 season championship went largely uncontested by any other racers. With help from his sponsors (Listed at end of article) and pit crew, Ryan was able to be more than competitive during the race season. It’s not cheap to run a full season in all the premiere classes! Sutton added a GSX-R1000 to his garage this season to rack up even more points and to be able to compete in more classes.

“Chromie” finished the season with 1,285 total points, with Allister MacKinnon trailing some ways behind in second overall. Sutton said that he would like to participate next year in AMA Pro Superbike, or at least qualify at the Laguna Seca rounds. His father especially is anxious to have him go to some AMA rounds, and is optimistic about how he will do. “He’s a champion here, he can be a champion somewhere else.”

Ryan’s family is fully supportive of him, and one of Ryan’s largest supporters, Mr. “Pops” Sutton, is always with him at all the races. He travels with him to each of the tracks, helps in the pits, and encourages all of Ryan’s new racing ventures.

Sutton also strongly requested that big thanks go out to all WMRRA staff and volunteers. He also wanted to thank all his sponsors and pit crew for making his season easier. The following are his sponsors: STG (, Ducati Seattle, KFG Racing, GP suspension, Pirelli Tires, Flexi Glass Bodywork, EBC Brakes, Bell Helmets, Darren Beatty Photography, 2fast Track Days, and Penske Shocks.

The Washington Motorcycle Road Racing Association was formed in 1974 to organize and promote the sport of motorcycle racing in Washington State. Currently, WMRRA races at two tracks in Washington: Pacific Raceways in Kent, Washington, and the newly constructed Ridge Motorsports Park in Shelton, Washington. To learn more, please go to

September 28-29, 2013 @ Pacific Raceways – Results

 Formula Ultra 1. Ryan Sutton (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR) 3. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R1000) 4. Sam Verderico (Suz GSXR-750) 5. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 6. Steve Kidd (Kaw ZX-10R) 

Novice 1. Morgan Strobel (Apr RSV4) 2. David Wanzer (Hon CBR1000RR) 3. JR Guse (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Jeff Lane (BMW S1000RR) 5. Dana Deeter (Suz GSX-R1000) 6. Jean-Claude Riopel (Hon CBR600RR) 

750 Supersport 1. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750) 2. Ryan Sutton (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Kevin Klemmer (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Mike Alton (Suz GSX-R750) 5. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 6. Robert Workman (Suz GSX-R750) 

650 Supersport Twins 1. Barry Carlson (Suz SV650) 2. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650) 3. Dustin Walbon (Suz SV650) 

 600 Supersport 1. Kevin Klemmer (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Mark DeGross (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Chris Sarbora (Yam YZF-R6) 5. Micah Kudo (Yam YZF-R6) 

Middleweight Grand Prix Twins 1. Barry Carlson (Suz SV650) 2. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650) 

Clubman Qualifier 1. Raymond Parsons (Duc 848evo) 2. Ken Holme (Hon CBR600RR) 3. Dan Cordon (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Scott Teuton (Kaw ZX-6R) 

Open Supersport 1. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750) 2. Robert Workman (Suz GSX-R750) 3. Steve Kidd (Kaw ZX-10R) 

Novice 1. Keith Robert (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Jean-Claude Riopel (Hon CBR600RR) 3. David Wanzer (Hon CBR1000RR) 4. Dana Deeter (Suz GSX-R1000) 

600 Superbike 1. Mark DeGross (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Chris Sarbora (Yam YZF-R6) 3. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Morgan Strobel (Yam YZF-R6) 5. Matt Darling (Yam YZF-R6) 

160 Vintage 1. Tim O'Mahony (Hon CL175) 2. Neil Jensen (Hon CL175) 3. Tim Fowler (Hon CB160) 

750 Vintage 1. John Nilsson (Hon CR750) Ultra Lightweight Sportsman 1. Gunnar Jensen (Kaw 250R) 

Lightweight Superbike 1. Krister Fast (Suz SV650) 2. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650) 3. Neil Heineman (Suz SV650) 

750 Superbike 1. Ryan Sutton (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Mike Alton (Suz GSX-R750) 3. Mark DeGross (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R750) 5. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 6. Chris Sarbora (Yam YZF-R6) 

Formula Thunder 1. Raymond Parsons (Duc 848evo) Open Superbike 1. Ryan Sutton (GSX-R1000) 2. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR) 3. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R1000) 4. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750) 

Ninja 250 Cup 1. Gunnar Jensen (Kaw 250R) 600 TFS 1. Damon Wells (Suz GSX-R600) 2. Scott Teuton (Kaw ZX-6R) 

Open GP Twins 1. Robert Workman (Duc 1198S) 2. Raymond Parsons (Duc 848evo) 3. Erick Rostad (KTM RC8R) 

Formula Ultra 1. Ryan Sutton (Yam YZF-R6) 2. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR) 3. Mike Alton (Yam YZF-R6) 4. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R1000) 5. Kyle Staples (Yam YZF-R6) 6. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750)

Top 5 This Week