Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 19, 2013

Santiago Villa Wins Six CCS Races At Homestead-Miami Speedway (Updated)

Rodolfo Ramirez (78), Santiago Villa (32), Bruno Silva (9) and Jacquel Gonzalez (331) enter Turn One at the start of the Unlimited Grand Prix at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Photo by Lisa Theobald, courtesy of CCS Florida.

Villa Back On the Box, Russell Wins Big in First Race Event of CCS Florida Season at Homestead-Miami Speedway February 17, 2013

Santiago Villa started 2013 with six wins at the CCS Florida season-opening event at Homestead-Miami Speedway, including the hotly-contested Unlimited Grand Prix race, making him the winningest expert of the weekend. The winningest amateur of the weekend was Clint Russell, who swept all of his classes and took home a whopping 10 (out of 10) victories.

The opening event was probably one for the record with countless red flags and race restarts, causing the final race of the day to be run as the sun was setting and temperature was dropping from the normal near 80 degrees down to 50. The event's grand finale, the Unlimited Grand Prix race finally got underway with Villa nabbing the holeshot on his Prieto Performance ZX-10R, and leading the way through Turn One. Behind him the battle for second place was heavily contested with Kissimmee Motorsports' Jeff Lampe quickly moving ahead of the rest of the field on his ZX-10R and chasing the leader. Just after the halfway mark, a collision between Lampe and Rodolfo Ramirez caused the final red flag of the day. And with unsafe light conditions and the race being more than halfway completed, the race was called complete with Villa out front, and he was the declared winner. Bruno Silva finished second on his Prieto Performance ZX-10R, and Sean Dwyer was third on Westside Performance's Suzuki GSX-R1000.

On the podium, Villa commented, "I crashed twice today. I really didn't have any confidence. But, I have a great team. Prieto Performance will put your bike back out and they always give 100%. That's how we win championships. That's how we win races. Thanks to everybody that makes this possible. Especially to all my crew today. They had to work extra with my crashes." He continued to thank Addict By Bosi, Monster Energy Drinks Colombia, Eric Gray with GMD Computrack Fort Lauderdale, Heroic Leathers, and Dunlop. Villa also won the Heavyweight Supersport, Unlimited Superbike, Lightweight Superbike, Lightweight Supersport, and Heavyweight Superbike races.

The winningest racer of the weekend was Amateur Clint Russell, who ran his very first race weekend ever and finished undefeated. Russell rode his Champion Motorcycles-backed Suzuki GSX-R600 and SV650 in 10 classes and won all 10, taking home first-place trophies in Amateur GT Lights, GTU, Ultralight Superbike, Middleweight Supersport, Lightweight Grand Prix, Heavyweight Supersport, Lightweight Superbike, Middleweight Superbike, Lightweight Supersport, and Middleweight Grand Prix classes. Russell is helped by Dunlop, Vortex, VP Fuels, and Sharksinz.


UNLIMITED SUPERBIKE AMATEUR: 1. Alby Radulic (Suz GSX-R1000); 2. Dean Palacios (Hon CBR1000RR); 3. John Delargy (Apr 1000); 4. Darwin Perez (Suz GSX-R1000); 5. Vaughn Ali (Yam YZF-R1); 6. Lazaro Barco (Suz GSX-R1000).

SUPERTWINS EXPERT: 1. Barrett Long (Duc 1199); 2. Gui Berg (Duc 848); 3. Kevin Mendez (Duc 749).

SUPERTWINS AMATEUR: 1. Edward Foy (Duc 1199); 2. Kevin Farrell (Duc 848).

LIGHTWEIGHT FORMULA 40 EXPERT: 1. Mark Tenn (Duc 800); 2. Mitchell Lachowitz (Duc 1000); 3. Thomas Eubank (Duc 1000); 4. Robert Cole (Bim 1100); 5. Jeff Puleo (Bim 1000); 6. Phillippe Touya (Duc 1000).

LIGHTWEIGHT FORMULA 40 AMATEUR: 1. Scott Donn (Duc 800); 2. Jane Eubank (Duc 800); 3. Dan Dolan (Duc 1000).

MIDDLEWEIGHT FORMULA 40 EXPERT: 1. Mauricio Roque (Yam YZF-R6); 2. Mark Gage (Suz GSX-R600); 3. Marco Martinez (Yam YZF-R6); 4. Tony Montenegro (Kaw ZX-6R); 5. Edward Alvarado (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Jon Foy (Yam YZF-R6).

MIDDLEWEIGHT FORMULA 40 AMATEUR: 1. Julio Vallette (Yam YZF-R6); 2. Timothy Peterman (Yam YZF-R6); 3. Andres Cuellar (Suz GSX-R600); 4. Dawn Thompson (Suz GSX-R600); 5. Kevin Farrell (Duc 1000); 6. Marcelo Paladini (Suz GSX-R750).

FORMULA 40 EXPERT: 1. Paul Manuel (Suz GSX-R1000); 2. Robert Picinich (Suz GSX-R750); 3. Sunil Sardarsingh (Suz GSX-R1000); 4. Jose Fernandez (Hon CBR1000RR); 5. Mak Pena (Suz GSX-R1000); 6. Carlos Fabian (Suz GSX-R1000).

FORMULA 40 AMATEUR: 1. John Delargy (Apr 1000); 2. Gregory Wong (Suz GSX-R1000); 3. Lazaro Barco (Suz GSX-R1000); 4. Guillermo Reyes (Suz GSX-R750); 5. Vaughn Ali (Yam YZF-R1); 6. Marc Allen (BMW S1000RR).

LIGHTWEIGHT SUPERBIKE EXPERT: 1. Santiago Villa (Suz SV650); 2. Charlie Mavros (Duc 1000); 3. Jiri Kolar (Duc 1100); 4. Gino Angella (Duc 1000); 5. Jeff Puleo (Bim 1000); 6. Robert Cole (Bim 1100).

LIGHTWEIGHT SUPERBIKE AMATEUR: 1. Clint Russell (Suz SV650); 2. Kevin Farrell (Duc 1000); 3. James P Quinn (Duc 1000); 4. Scott Donn (Duc 800).

MIDDLEWEIGHT SUPERBIKE EXPERT: 1. Stefano Mesa (Yam YZF-R6); 2. Santiago Villa (Kaw ZX-6R); 3. Armando Ferrer (Suz GSX-R600); 4. Fernando Silva (Yam YZF-R6); 5. Stephan Bodedi (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Gui Berg (Duc 848).

MIDDLEWEIGHT SUPERBIKE AMATEUR: 1. Clint Russell (Suz GSX-R600); 2. Joseph Resta (Hon CBR600RR); 3. Jose Restrepo (Yam YZF-R6); 4. Yusei Cespedes (Yam YZF-R6); 5. Matneus Pereira (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Darwin Rodriguez (Yam YZF-R6).

THUNDERBIKE EXPERT: 1. Mark Tenn (Duc 748); 2. Gino Angella (Duc 749); 3. Carl Cohen (Duc 749); 4. Jeff Puleo (Bim 1000); 5. Robert Colel (Bim 1100); 6. Gary Grant (Duc 1000).

THUNDERBIKE AMATEUR: 1. James P Quinn (Duc 1000); 2. Vladen Roman (Mor MD250H); 3. Andres Jaramillo (Kaw 250R).

LIGHTWEIGHT SUPERSPORT EXPERT: 1. Santiago Villa (Suz SV650); 2. Charlie Mavros (Duc 1000); 3. Thomas Eubank (Duc 1000).

LIGHTWEIGHT SUPERSPORT AMATEUR: 1. Clint Russell (Suz SV650); 2. Kyle D. Russell (Suz SV650); 3. Jane Eubank (Duc 800).

HEAVYWEIGHT SUPERBIKE EXPERT: 1. Santiago Villa (Kaw ZX-10R); 2. Armando Ferrer (Yam YZF-R6); 3. Stephan Bodedi (Yam YZF-R6); 4. Robert Picinich (Suz GSX-R750); 5. Carlos Gulfo (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Patricia Fernandez (Yam YZF-R6).

HEAVYWEIGHT SUPERBIKE AMATEUR: 1. Jason Dai (Yam YZF-R6); 2. Charlie Bruin (Kaw ZX-6R); 3. Jorge Benzant (Suz 1000).

BRIDGESTONE CUP: 1. German Vacca (Duc 848); 2. Jon Foy (Yam R6); 3. Jeremy Krasny (BMW S1000RR); 4. Frank de la Renta (Duc 848); 5. Marcelo Paladini (Suz GSX-R750)6. Andres Cuellar (Suz GSX-R750).

MIDDLEWEIGHT GRAND PRIX EXPERT: 1. Stefano Mesa (Yam YZF-R6); 2. Armando Ferrer (Suz GSX-R600); 3. Fernando Silva (Yam YZF-R6); 4. Stephan Bodedi (Yam YZF-R6); 5. Ronny Alexander (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Mauricio Roque (Yam YZF-R6).

MIDDLEWEIGHT GRAND PRIX AMATEUR: 1. Clint Russell (Suz GSX-R600); 2. Joseph Resta (Hon CBR600RR); 3. Yusei Cespedes (Yam YZF-R6); 4. Matheus Pereira (Yam YZF-R6); 5. Kristian Sarmiento (Yam YZF-R6); 6. Darwin Rodriguez (Yam YZF-R6).

UNLIMITED GRAND PRIX EXPERT: 1. Santiago Villa (Kaw ZX-10R); 2. Bruno Silva (Kaw ZX-10R); 3. Sean Dwyer (Suz GSX-R1000); 4. Francois Dumas (BMW S1000RR); 5. Barrett Long (Duc 1199); 6. Jacquel Gonzalez (Kaw ZX-10R).

Top 5 This Week