Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >   |   Win Cool Prizes: Take Our Reader Survey >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Dec 18, 2001

Saddam Will Be Able To Watch Carmichael In 2002, On ESPN

From a press release:<BR><BR>EA SPORTS Supercross to be Televised in England, France, Italy, Japan & More<BR><BR>Clear Channel Entertainment Announces 2002's EA SPORTS International TV Distribution<BR><BR>AURORA, Ill. (December 17, 2001) - Through the combined resources of Clear Channel International, (a division of Clear Channel Worldwide) and ESPN, Clear Channel Entertainment announced today the international television distribution details of 2002's EA SPORTS Supercross.<BR><BR>Reaching key markets including England, France, Israel, and Italy, the 2002 EA SPORTS Supercross events are projected to reach more than 131 million homes in more than 300 countries or territories, not including the United States, representing an increase of more than 50% from 2001's international distribution. <BR><BR>(In 2001, the EA SPORTS Supercross international distribution reached 87 million homes.)<BR><BR>Additionally, Clear Channel International negotiated a special arrangement with Armed Forces Radio and Television to bring EA SPORTS Supercross to the allied troops around the globe.<BR><BR>"This is awesome news for supercross fans. Spin the globe and pick any spot, and EA SPORTS Supercross is on a TV somewhere. Through ESPN's footprint in Latin America and the Middle East, and Clear Channel International's connections our international coverage is at the sports highest ever," said Michael Weber, executive vice president of television for Clear Channel Entertainment's motor sports division. "I have no idea how many Ricky Carmichael fans there are in Madagascar, but you can bet there will be more by the end of the season" added Weber.<BR><BR>"Racing has an universal appeal, and the quality of the EA SPORTS Supercross turns heads everywhere on the globe. The racing, the fans, the packed stadiums all create an energy than cannot be matched, these factors made achieving the global clearances easier" added Weber.<BR><BR>A breakdown of ESPN's international distribution of 2002 EA SPORTS SUPERCROSS television follows:<BR><BR>I. Africa: ESPN Africa<BR>Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Reunion, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe <BR><BR>I. Australia: ESPN Australia, Duke<BR>Australia, Papua New Guinea <BR><BR>III. Caribbean: ESPN International<BR>Antigua, Anguilla, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherland Antilles, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Trinidad & Tobago<BR><BR>IV. England: Channel 5, Duke<BR><BR>V. France: Pathesport<BR><BR>VI. Israel: JCS Sports <BR><BR>VII. Italy: Nuvolari, Cinehollywood <BR><BR>VIII. Japan: Sports-I ESPN <BR><BR>IX. Latin America: ESPN Latin America<BR>Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela<BR><BR>X. Middle East: Orbit ESPN<BR>Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, UAE, Yemen<BR><BR>X. New Zealand: ESPN New Zealand <BR><BR>XII. American Forces Radio & Television (177 Territories)<BR><BR>Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Antarctica, Antigua, Argentina, Armenia, Ascension Island, Australia, Austria Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Diego Garcia, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji , Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Greenland, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Johnson Atoll, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kosrae, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Fed. States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua-New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saipan, Sao Tome, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wake Island, Yemen, Zaire, Zambia<BR><BR>For more information, visit