Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Aug 29, 2010

Road Racer J.D. Beach Wins AMA Pro Singles Flat Track Race At The Indy Mile

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - History was made on the fabled Indiana State Fairgrounds mile oval as Kawasaki / Monster Energy / Werner-Springsteen Racing's #42 Bryan Smith captured the first AMA Pro K&N Filters Grand National Championship presented by Twins Main event in a hard fought, twenty five lap battle.

Lancaster Harley-Davidson / Dallas Fort Worth Honda's Chris Carr grabbed the early lead from series points leader #3 Joe Kopp on his Latus Harley-Davidson / ENI USA R&M backed Ducati, then repeated the feat as the race was red flagged on lap three, when Stevie Bonsey fell in turn three.

Carr picked up where he left off, but now Smith and Zanotti Racing's #5 Jake Johnson were right behind. On lap six Smith took control, but White's Harley-Davidson / SNIP's Matt Weidman was up high on the cushion and flying to the front. Unfortunately for Weidman, when the high line went away, he backed up as fast as he had come forward.

As the race reached the mid-point it became a two rider race. Smith and Carr went back and forth several times, but as the laps wound down Smith took control. The race would end with Carr just over a tenth of a second out. "I've been dreaming about this all year," said Smith. "And it wasn't a nightmare either. I was sure, as soon as we got to these tracks with long straight-aways, the Kawasaki's power was let us finally win one."

"I just couldn't draft him (Smith)," said Carr. "I could get close, but he just had too much power."

Harley-Davidson Motor Company's Kenny Coolbeth brought his #2 Harley-Davidson home third over two seconds off the lead.

Johnson took control of fourth and rode home a lonely three seconds off the pace. King's Kustoms / KK Motorcycle Supply's Sammy Halbert finished an uneventful fifth as Joe Kopp made a late race pass of Rookie of the Year front runner, Moroney's's #99B PJ Jacobsen.

Defending Series Champion # 1 Jared Mees work his way up to fourth before sliding back to an eighth place finish. It was another eight seconds back to Matt Weidman.

The K&N Filter's dash for Cash saw Chris Carr dominate as points leader Joe Kopp suffered a blow to his points total when he couldn't get his Ducati to fire and he received no points. Sammy Halbert and Bryan Smith rounded out the podium as all three received "Special Edition, Nicky Hayden watches."

When JD Beach announced he was moving up to the Expert ranks for the Labor Day races in Springfield he said he wanted to win the Peoria, IL TT and the Indianapolis, IN Mile before taking on the challenge.

Impressively Beach accomplished just that as he led the last eleven laps of the Pro Singles Grand National Championship main on his #95C Red Bull / Top 1 Oil backed Honda. Price Truck Line / Kennedy Wheels' #22L Michael Toon and Van's Yamaha / Woody Kyle Racing's #24P Jeffery Carver finished a very close second and third.

Carver's points lead continues to grow in the Pro Singles Grand National Championship. Carver now leads defending Champion Brad Baker by 31 points with James Rispoli another thirty six points back.

The K&N Filters Grand National Championship presented by points standing are still being le by Joe Kopp, but Sammy Halbert and Jake Johnson are closing in, just twelve and fourteen points back respectively.

RESULTS: August 28, 2010

GNT DASH FOR CASH (4 laps; 6 riders): 1. Chris Carr (H-D); 2. Sammy Halbert (H-D); 3. Bryan Smith (Kaw); 4. Jake Johnson (H-D); 5. Stevie Bonsey (H-D); 6. Joe Kopp (Duc).
Time: 2:37.318

AMA PRO MOTORCYCLE-SUPERSTORE.COM PRO SINGLES MAIN (12 laps; 18 riders): 1. JD Beach (Hon); 2. Michael Toon (Hon); 3. Jeffery Carver (Yam); 4. Mike Avila (Hon); 5. James Rispoli (Hon); 6. Brad Baker (Hon); 7. Mike LaBelle (Hon); 8. Zakk Palmer (Hon); 9. Corey Crawford (Hon); 10. Kurtis Lee (Hon); 11. Cody Johncox (Yam); 12. Jake Cunningham (Suz); 13. William Cato (Hon); 14. Tony Davila (Suz); 15. Jake Shoemaker (Suz); 16. Brian Tapp (Hon); 17. Brandon Laursen (Hon); 18. Jeremy Hamilton (Hon).
Time: 8:02.297

AMA PRO MOTORCYCLE-SUPERSTORE.COM PRO SINGLES CHAMPIONSHIP POINT STANDINGS (After 12 of 17 rounds): 1. Jeffery Carver (227 pts / 4 wins); 2. Brad Baker (196 / 3 wins); 3. James Rispoli (160); 4. Mike Avila (143); 5. JD Beach (118 / 4 wins); 6. Mike LaBelle (101); 7. Mike Martin (99); 8. Chaz Springsteen (81); 9. Jake Shoemaker (66); 10. Michael Toon (57 / 1 win); 11. Gerit Callies (48); 12. Zakk Palmer (47); 13. Tyler O'Hara (44); 14. (TIE) William Cato / Wyatt Maguire (43); 16. Jeremy Hamilton (38); 17. (TIE) Brandon Laursen / Shayna Texter (35); 19. (TIE) Stephen Vanderkuur / Corey Crawford / Adam Bushman (31).

AMA PRO K&N GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTED by MOTORCYCLE-SUPERSTORE.COM MAIN (25 laps; 18 riders): 1. Bryan Smith (Kaw); 2. Chris Carr (H-D); 3. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D); 4. Jake Johnson (H-D); 5. Sammy Halbert (H-D); 6. Joe Kopp (H-D); 7. PJ Jacobsen (H-D); 8. Jared Mees (H-D); 9. Matt Weidman (H-D); 10. Willie McCoy (H-D); 11. JR Schnabel (H-D); 12. Larry Pegram (Duc); 13. Luke Gough (H-D); 14. Brandan Bergen (H-D); 15. Rob Pearson (H-D); 16. Shawn Baer (Tri); 17. Steve Murray (H-D); 18. Jethro Halbert (H-D); 19. Stevie Bonsey (H-D).
Time: 22: 59.491 --RED FLAG--

AMA PRO K&N GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTED by MOTORCYCLE-SUPERSTORE.COM POINT STANDINGS (After 12 of 17rounds): 1. Joe Kopp (221 pts / 3 wins); 2. Sammy Halbert (209 / 1 win); 3. Jake Johnson (207 / 2 wins); 4. Jared Mees (198); 5. Henry Wiles (188 / 4 wins); 6. Kenny Coolbeth (179); 7. Chris Carr (135); 8. Bryan Smith (127 / 1 win); 9. Johnny Lewis (82); 10. (TIE) Matt Weidman / Rob Pearson (81); 12. Mick Kirkness (73); 13. Jethro Halbert (58); 14. Stevie Bonsey (47 / 1 win); 15. JR Schnabel (39); 16. Luke Gough (38); 17. Brandon Robinson (35); 18. Shaun Russell (33); 19. PJ Jacobsen (31); 20. Chad Cose (26).

AMA PRO K&N GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTED by MOTORCYCLE-SUPERSTORE.COM TWINS POINT STANDINGS (After 7 of 11 rounds): 1. Sammy Halbert (136 pts); 2. Jake Johnson (131 / 1 wins); 3. Joe Kopp (129 / 3 wins); 4. Kenny Coolbeth (113); 5. Jared Mees (108); 6. Chris Carr (99); 7. Bryan Smith (86 / 1 win); 8. Henry Wiles (75 / 1 win); 9. Matt Weidman (56); 10. Rob Pearson (51); 11. Stevie Bonsey (46 / 1 win); 12. Mick Kirkness (34); 13. (TIE) Luke Gough / PJ Jacobsen (31); 15. Brandon Robinson (15); 16. JR Schnabel (20); 17. (TIE) Willie McCoy / Larry Pegram (17); 19. (TIE) Chad Cose / Jethro Halbert (15).

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines. Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at