Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 16, 2001

Oliver On Pole After 250cc Qualifying Heat Races At Loudon

Rich Oliver won his heat race and pole position for tomorrow's 250cc Grand Prix race at Loudon, beating Chuck Sorensen by 0.382-second with at average lap time of 1:14.367 and an average speed of 77.453 mph. Sorensen's average lap time was 1:14.407 and his average speed for the five-lap heat race was 77.412 mph.

Jimmy Filice won the first heat race by 1.804 seconds over Michael Hannas, Filice's average speed being 77.345 and his average lap time being 1:14.471. Hannas averaged 1:14.838 and 76.967 mph.

Local star Jeff Wood, expected to contend for the win in the first heat race, crashed twice and was credited with 13th.

First Heat Race
250cc Grand Prix
1. Jimmy Filice, Yamaha
2. Michael Hannas, Yamaha
3. Perry Melneciuc, Yamaha
4. Mike Himmelsbach, Aprilia
5. Tony Iannarelli, Yamaha
6. Cory West, Yamaha
7. Greg Esser, Honda
8. Stuart Nodell, Honda
9. Bruce Lind, Yamaha
10. Ty Piz, Yamaha
11. Ed Marchini, Yamaha
12. Gary Berbaum, Yamaha
13. Jeff Wood, Yamaha
14. Sean Wray, Yamaha
15. Charles MacKay, Yamaha

Second Heat Race
250cc Grand Prix
1. Rich Oliver, Yamaha
2. Chuck Sorensen, Yamaha
3. Simon Turner, Yamaha
4. Chris Pyles, Yamaha
5. Bill Himmelsbach, Yamaha
6. Steve Scott, Yamaha
7. Derek MacKelvie King, Honda
8. Ed Sorbo, Yamaha
9. Gus Holcomb, Yamaha
10. Tyler Henshaw, Yamaha
11. John France, Honda
12. Christopher Holske, Yamaha
13. Michael Zajac, Yamaha
14. Jim Bonner, Yamaha