Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Aug 24, 2011

News From Last Weekend's USGPRU National At Portland International Raceway

Ochs, Truslow and Caravatta Win in Portland

Fairfax, VA. August 24, 2011 The USGPRU traveled to Portland International Raceway this weekend for round eight. OMRRA and the weather brought a warm welcome.

In the Pilot Moto3 race, Andre Ochs led from the start and never looked back. Keeping him honest, local favorite Mackenzie Ancien was glued to his rear wheel lap after lap. With one lap to go before the race was prematurely stopped, Ancien's Moriwaki lost rear grip and nearly highsided, opening a gap to an RS125 mounted Ochs, who held on for the win. Pole-sitter Michael Caravatta didn't get the start he was dreaming of on his Aprilia and finished third. Mario Alvarez, II, finished in fourth in front of Nobi Iso.

The Rev'it! MD250H race saw Ben Truslow rocket off the starting line with Ochs not being able to give chase. Truslow won by a convincing margin while Ochs fought hard for second place.

In Moto Liberty/RS Taichi 250GP action, pole-sitter Caravatta got his dream start and was determined to give Ochs a race. And a race it was, with the two leaders swapping passes every lap. Just when it seemed Ochs had this one by opening a nearly one-second gap, veteran racer Caravatta reeled him in on the back side of the track and took the lead. Caravatta won by only three tenths of a second. Alvarez, II and Dave Heinricks finished 3rd and 4th.

The USGPRU would like to thank Mike McDonough and the entire OMRRA crew and staff for their continued generous hospitality.

The USGPRU thanks all of its sponsors that help to make it possible for us to keep coming out and doing what we all love to do. Without your help, many more racers wouldn't be able to afford to come out and live the GP dream. Thank you RS Cycles, Motion Pro, Moto Liberty, Pilot, REV'IT!, HONDA, Impact Armor, and RS-Taichi. We also have great contingency support from EBC, Silkolene, Dunlop, Bridgestone, and Michelin. Thank you all!

Pilot Moto3
1. Andre Ochs, Honda RS125
2. Mackenzie Ancien, Mor
3. Michael Caravatta, Apr
4. Mario Alvarez, II , RS125
5. Nobi Iso, RS125
6. John Gessner, RS125 DNS

REV'IT! Moriwaki MD250H Powered by HONDA
1. Ben Truslow, Mor
2. Andre Ochs, Mor

Moto Liberty / RS-Taichi 250GP
1. Michael Caravatta, Apr
2. Andre Ochs, RS125
3. Mario Alvarez, II, RS125
4. Dave Heinricks, RS125
5. Nobi Iso, RS125
6. Herb Wagner, TZ250

The USGPRU is the officially recognized 125 Grand Prix National Championship® and 250 Grand Prix National Championship® series. The popular Moriwaki MD250H spec-bike youth class and the exciting new Moto3 classes round out a real GP experience. The USGPRU provides a unique opportunity for riders by providing extended length grand prix racing with timed qualifying and superb contingency and sponsor support. Race and practice format is designed to prepare riders for the experience of 2-wheel racing at the highest levels.
Top 5 This Week