Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Feb 6, 2003

Mladin, Yates Equally Fast Thursday Morning At California Speedway

<BR>Copyright 2003, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.<BR><BR>By David Swarts<BR><BR>Yoshimura Suzuki's Mat Mladin and Aaron Yates recorded identical 1:26.70 lap times on the watch of Team Manager Don Sakakura to lead all times during AMA team testing Thursday morning at California Speedway in Fontana, California. <BR><BR>Mladin, Yates and teammate Ben Spies spent all morning lapping the 2.36-mile infield road course on their GSX-R1000s, which have about 15 more horsepower and 10 percent more torque than the 2002 Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R750 Superbike, according to Mladin Crew Chief Peter Doyle.<BR><BR>Larry Pegram suffered a harmless lowside crash in turn six Thursday morning and later rode the same Ducati 998 after minor repairs.<BR><BR>After his YZF-R1 Formula Xtreme bike caught fire following a few laps Thursday morning, Aaron Gobert switched to his factory Yamaha YZF-R6 and set the fastest Supersport lap time thus far in the test at a 1:29.59. <BR><BR>Gobert said, "I'm just starting to get back to my old form. I'm a bit more race-fit and able to think about what I'm doing more out there."<BR><BR>With his FX bike down, Aaron Gobert said he might go home early Thursday to continue recovering from his flu-like illness.<BR><BR>Weather conditions have remained fair at the track.<BR><BR>Thursday Morning's Unofficial Lap Times:<BR><BR>1. Mat Mladin, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:26.70<BR>2. Aaron Yates, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:26.70<BR>3. Anthony Gobert, Ducati 998RS, 1:27.06<BR>4. Ben Spies, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:27.54<BR>5. Jamie Hacking, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:27.60<BR>6. Eric Bostrom, Kawasaki ZX-7RR, 1:27.64<BR>7. Larry Pegram, Ducati 998RS, 1:27.85<BR>8. Damon Buckmaster, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:28.05<BR>9. Aaron Gobert, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:29.59<BR>10. Marty Craggill, Honda CBR954RR, 1:30.20<BR>11. Tommy Hayden, Kawasaki ZX-6RR, 1:30.34<BR>12. Chris Ulrich, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:30.60<BR>13. Jason DiSalvo, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:30.73<BR>14. Tony Meiring, Kawasaki ZX-6R (636cc), 1:31.08<BR>15. Steve Rapp, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:31.70<BR>16. Matt Furtek, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:32.55<BR>17. Thad Halsmer, Yamaha YZF-R6, 1:36.21<BR><BR><BR><BR>