Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 17, 2017

Mike Shreve Wins ASMA Formula Arroyo Race At Arroyo Seco Raceway

Mike Shreve (311) leads Jason Brown (11) at Arroyo Seco Raceway. Photo by Eric Pugh, courtesy of ASMA.

New Mexico’s Mikey Shreve did everything he could at this weekend’s ASMA [Arroyo Seco Motorcyclist Association] road racing event [October 8 at Arroyo Seco Raceway, in Deming, New Mexico] towards regaining the #1 plate that he last had 10 years ago by taking pole position and leading every lap of the feature Evan Steel Performance race.

Shreve entered the weekend with a 1 point over Arizona’s David Hurtado, 3 time and reigning #1 plate holder and the only man in the current championship to have circulated in the 1:07 range, but it was Shreve who stood alone in qualifying with a 1:07.964. Arizona’s Jason Brown qualified second with a 1:09.081 on the Fast by Few ZX10 and first time front row qualifier Josh Kauffman riding his Speedcell R1 turning in a 1:09.125. David Hurtado had his worst qualifying position in recent memory at a 1:09.3, putting the championship contender on the 2nd row for the first time this year.

The first race of the day, the Unlimited Superstock sprint, had most of the top contenders, and in an unusual feat, David Hurtado was able to grab the holeshot over Shreve and Brown. Hurtado tried to make a break, dipping into the 1:08’s and Shreve stuck to his back tire as the duo pulled away from Brown, Joe Chasser and James Yogi. At the end of the 7th lap, Hurtado took the win on his CT Racing Pirelli sponsored Kawasaki ZX10 by .334 over Shreve’s Yamaha R1, with Brown rounding out the podium 6 seconds back.

The stage looked to be set for a showdown between Shreve and Hurtado to continue their early morning battle in the ESP Formula Arroyo race, but it was Brown with the lead at the end of the first lap with Shreve, Kauffman, James Yogi, Kevin Gibson and Hurtado down in 6th, and Kelcey Walker running off track in the Carousel to bring up the rear in 11th. It’s not unusual for Hurtado to botch the start, but what followed was unusual, as Shreve on his Dunlop shod Yamaha YZF-R1 took over the lead and pulled Brown and Kauffman with him, the top 3 opening a gap over the rest of the field, with Hurtado moving past Gibson on lap 2 and Yogi on lap 3, but not able to close the gap to Kauffman who eventually lost the draft of the leading duo around the fifth lap. Brown shadowed Shreve the entire 12 laps, with both riders turning in almost identical 1:08.3’s but Shreve held on for another victory and extended his points lead with only one round remaining.

The JR Cochran Service Formula 500 was a highly anticipated showdown between the top two “kids” in the Southwest, Sean Ungvarsky fresh off a podium at the final MotoAmerica race and Robert Roach Jr who has been the dominant UltraLight racer at ASMA events this year as well as training and racing in Spain at the Chicho Lorenzo School.

Robert Roach had the early advantage, as most races are gridded by points and Robert was on pole position, with Art Johnson and Mickey Rupe on the front row, while Ungvarsky was gridded in 13th out of 17 bikes on the grid. Roach immediately went to the front and tried to get away as Ungvarsky made quick work of the rest of the field and was into 2nd on lap 3 of 9 and began closing on Roach, who was pushing both ends in the middle of Yucca, while Ungvarsky was slower into the turn but getting a better exit leading towards the short straight to the Bus Stop. Ungvarsky made the pass on lap 6 and started to pull away, but Roach dug deep and matched the pace, with both riders running identical 1:15.2 lap times on the last couple laps of the race, over 2 seconds under the previous official 500cc lap record. Both riders were using the new Dunlop Q3+ tires on Sunday. Mickey Rupe finished 3rd on his Yamaha R3.

ASMA has one round remaining, November 11-12 at Arroyo Seco Raceway. For more information visit or call Roger Heemsbergen at (575)494-4794 or email

Race Results for Round Two at Arroyo Seco Raceway

Formula Arroyo by Evan Steel Performance

1. Mikey Shreve (Yam YZF-R1)

2. Jason Brown (Kaw ZX-10R)

3. Josh Kauffman (Yam YZF-R1)

4. David Hurtado (Kaw ZX-10R)

5. Joe Chasser (Yam YZF-R1)

6. James Yogi (Yam YZF-R1)

Formula Amateur by Speedcell

1. John Freisen (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Mike Sobjak (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Marlon Swaby (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Michael Thompson (Tri 675)

5. Dan Junick (BMW S1000RR)

6. Bill Yelverton (Kaw ZX-10R)

Formula 500 by JR Cochran Service

1. Sean Ungvarsky (KTM RC390)

2. Robert Roach (KTM RC390)

3. Mickey Rupe (Yam YZF-R3)

4. Christian Chaparro (Kaw 250)

5. Leif Munson (Yam YZF-R3)

6. Art Johnson (Kaw 250)

Amateur Unlimited Superbike by

1. Matt Kendrick (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Mike Sobjak (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Bill Yelverton (Kaw ZX-10R)

4. Dan Junick (BMW S1000RR)

5. Alfonso Sanchez (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Loren Jury (Yam YZF-R6)

Expert Unlimited Superbike by

1. David Hurtado (Kaw ZX-10R)

2. Mikey Shreve (Yam YZF-R1)

3. Jason Brown (Kaw ZX-10R)

4. Joe Chasser (Yam YZF-R1)

5. James Yogi (Yam YZF-R1)

6. Scott Diehl (Apr RSV4)


1. Cory Jones (Yam YZF-R1)

2. Leo Poole (Hon CBR1000RR)

3. Jacob Mendivil (Suz GSX-R600)

4. Oscar Ybarra (Suz GSX-R600)

5. Cedric Madden (BMW S1000RR)

6. Eric Torres (Kaw Z900)

Formula 40 by Southwest Suzuki / Kawasaki

1. Josh Kauffman (Yam YZF-R1)

2. Roger Heemsbergen (Suz GSX-R1000)

3. Kevin Gibson (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Greg Talbot (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Mickey Rupe (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Bill Yelverton (Kaw ZX-10R)

Amateur Middleweight Superbike by Law Tigers

1. Matt Kendrick (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Mike Sobjak (Suz GSX-R600)

3. Michael Thompson (Tri 675)

4. Cedric Madden (Kaw ZX-6R)

5. Loren Jury (Yam YZF-R6)

6. John Freisen (Yam YZF-R6)

Expert Middleweight Superbike by Law Tigers

1. Greg Talbot (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Kelcey Walker (Yam YZF-R6)

Lightweight GP by JR Cochran Service

1. Sean Ungvarsky (KTM RC390)

2. Robert Roach (KTM RC390)

3. Mickey Rupe (Yam YZF-R3)

4. Christian Chapparo (Kaw 250)

5. Leif Munson (Yam YZF-R3)

6. Arturo Johnson (Kaw 250)

Amateur Middleweight Superstock by JR Cochran Service

1. John Freisen (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Mike Sobjak (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Loren Jury (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Oscar Ybarra (Suz GSX-R600)

5. Jacob Mendivil (Suz GSX-R600)

6. Cedric Madden (Kaw ZX-6R)

Expert Middleweight Superstock by JR Cochran Service

1. Kelcey Walker (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Greg Talbot (Yam YZF-R6)

Southwest Thunder by Fast by Few

1. Sean Ungvarsky (KTM RC390)

2. Mickey Rupe (Yam YZF-R3)

3. Leif Munson (Yam YZF-R3)

4. Robert Roach (Kaw 250)

5. Arturo Johnson (Kaw 250)

6. Kevin Edgington (Hon CBR250R)

250 Cup by Fast by Few

1. Robert Roach (Kaw 250)

2. Arturo Johnson (Kaw 250)

3. Kevin Edgington (Hon CBR250R)

4. Anthony Tontodanati (Kaw 250)

5. Anthony Davis (Kaw 250)

6. Bill Yelverton (Kaw 250)

Amateur Unlimited Superstock by Twigs Jewels

1. Cory Jones (Yam YZF-R1)

2. John Freisen (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Marlon Swabe (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Bill Yelverton (Kaw ZX-10R)

5. Matt Kendrick (Yam YZF-R6)

6. Dan Junick (BMW S1000RR)

Expert Unlimited Superstock by Twigs Jewels

1. Roger Heemsbergen (Suz GSX-R1000)

2. Jason Brown (Kaw ZX-10R)

3. Scott Diehl (Apr RSV4)

Ultra Lightweight GP by JR Cochran Service

1. Leif Munson (Yam YZF-R3)

2. Mickey Rupe (Yam YZF-R3)

3. Robert Roach (Kaw 250)

4. Christian Chaparro (Kaw 250)

5. Loren Jury (Yam YZF-R3)

6. Anthony Tontodanati (Kaw 250)

Top 5 This Week