Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Mar 2, 2001

Loudoun Motorsports Wins Daytona Team Challenge On GSX-R1000

By David Swarts

Loudon Motorsports' Greg Harrison, John Jacobi and David Yaakov rode a 2001 Suzuki GSX-R1000 on Pirelli slicks to win the Engine Ice 200-Mile Team Challenge March 1st at Daytona International Speedway. Loudon's Jacobi battled for the early lead in the race with Joe Gill on a 4&6 Cycle Yamaha YZF-R1 and Shawn Higbee on a KWS Motorsports / Millennium Technologies GSX-R750. When both Higbee and Gill made extended pit stops early on, Loudon was alone at the front. Loudon pitted twice for fuel and changed the rear tire—which was down to the cords on the left side--during the second, 30-second stop, and won the race by two laps. Besides taking the overall win, Loudon also topped the GTO class.

"The new Suzuki 1000 is just an awesome motorcycle," said Harrison. "It's incredible! We only had 200 miles on it when we got here. We just had the suspension done by Traxxion Dynamics and a M4 slip-on pipe, but it's dead stable and fast on the banking. The Pirelli tires worked really well for us."

Synergy Racing Technology's Matt Wait and Marc Palazzo finished second overall and took the GTU class win on a Honda CBR600F4 with Dunlop DOT-labeled tires.

"It definitely feels good," said Wait of his return to Daytona. "Being back here just brings back good memories. I'm happy and feeling well. I'm looking forward to the big race this weekend. I think this is going to be a positive year. My Synergy team, Honda motorcycles, and Dunlop tires are working out great."

The results of the Engine Ice 200-mile Team Challenge at Daytona follow:

GTO: 1. Loudon Motorsports (Greg Harrison, John Jacobi, David Yaakov), Suz GSX-R1000; 2. Legal Racing (James Hooper), Suz GSX-R750; 3. Yapima Racing (William Siemens, James Gaal, James Melley, Jr.), Suz GSX-R750; 4. MBS Racing (Jeffery McKinney), Suz TL1000R; 5. Eksite Racing (Jonathan Glaefke, James Doerfler) Suz GSX-R750; 6. Bad Apple Racing (Arthur Wagner, Jr.) Suz TL1000R.

GTU: 1. Synergy Racing (Matt Wait, Marc Palazzo) Hon CBR600F4i; 2. Big Pink Machines (Mauro Cereda, Robert Fisher) Suz GSX-R600; 3. Brotz Motorsports (Richie Morris, Clint Brotz) Yam YZF-R6; 4. Speed Racing (C.J. Czaia) Suz GSX-R600; 5. Starnet 4&6 Racing (Russ Intravartolo) Yam YZF-R6; 6. Redlight Racing (Pedro Valiente) Yam YZF-R6.
Top 5 This Week