Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 7, 2002

Kcraget Wins USGPRU 125cc Championship

From a press release issued by USGPRU:

Brian Kcraget wins USGPRU 125GP National Championship at VIR Final

The USGPRU 125GP National Championship at Virginia International Raceway attracted 38 riders from across North America this weekend. With 6 practice sessions on Friday, 2 sessions Saturday and another on Sunday prior to qualifying, competitors had plenty of opportunity to dial in their set-up for the 54 km final event Sunday afternoon.

Brian Kcraget was the favorite for both the race and the Championship but the surprise of the weekend was the tremendous showing by Quentin Wilson riding a Honda RS125R with a motor--prepped and provided by Tony Bell--originally built for the now retired former National Champion Vicky Jackson-Bell.

During Saturday morning practice Kcraget was thrown viciously from his bike and injured either his groin or cracked his pelvis. Refusing to leave the track for treatment he entered the GT Lights race later that afternoon and proceeded to pass every rider in the field from the back row of the second wave to take the win on his home circuit.

Quentin was fast all weekend but found a little extra in his set-up to get on the front row in qualifying beside Brian Kcraget, Chris Peris and the 15 year old from California, Scott Jackson riding the Honda RS125R prepped and tuned by Ian Emberton & Jonathan Flack.

"Brian Kcraget should get the iron man award. He crashed badly in T1 on Sat, still came back to win the GT lights race and then the final. I believe there is concern he may have cracked his pelvis," noted fellow 125 competitor Paul Hoyt Nelson.

Brian and Chris Peris took the early lead with Quentin Wilson trailing a short distance behind in the early stages of the race. Peris and Kcraget would swap first and second place a number of times as their battle heated up. A small group of riders including Scott Moxey, Ryan Andrews and Scott Jackson gapped the main field and took up chase.

As predicted the race to watch turned out to be between the two young riders Scott Jackson and Ryan Andrews. The two fought all race with New Jersey rider Scott Moxey and Quentin Wilson in what will be remembered as one of the epic battles of the 2002 season.

16 year old Joe Ford aboard the Drucker Yamaha TZ125 went out with a vicious highside on the first lap of the final in Turn 5. It's a very tight corner and there were bikes everywhere trying to avoid him, his bike and his fuel tank.

By lap 7 the trio of Moxey, Jackson and Andrews were beginning to reel in Wilson - but a crash involving one of the early lapped riders and John Hjelm along with the always fast Californian Carlos Neves forced a red flag as the leaders began lap 8.

The grid was re-formed and the cleanup resumed after Carlos Neves was transported to a local hospital with undisclosed injuries and a possible broken ankle.

Once again Peris and Kcraget took an early lead with Wilson, Moxey, Andrews and Jackson in hot pursuit. This time Quentin could not gap his pursuers and the trio including Moxey and the two 15 year olds from California and Texas held fast to his rear wheel.

As Peris and Kcraget exited the back section of the course and began the descent into the front section Peris tucked the front end and handed the lead back to Kcraget who would proceed to lay in lap after lap in the 1:35 range, slowly walking away from the small group of riders now vying for the second & third position on the podium.

As the riders crossed the line to take the white flag it was Kcraget in the lead with Wilson, Moxey, Jackson and Andrews all too close to call. As the riders exited the final turn onto the front straight Andrews and Jackson broke from the draft behind Moxey and passed him on either side in an all out drag race to the finish with Quentin Wilson aggressively blocking to protect against the pass at the line.

In the end it was Wilson second and Jackson third just a few thousandths in front of Andrews and Moxey.

Midwest rider Rob Rawlins was able to edge out the Japanese rider Nobi Iso aboard the Veloce Racing Aprilia from Portland followed by 2001 US National Champion Stewart Aitken-Cade who had struggled with motor problems throughout the weekend.

Brian Kcraget graciously thanked his tuner Phill Dodd who turned 40 on Sunday after the race along with his sponsors, SpeedWerks Racing, AGV, CAD Cycles,, VP Racing Fuels, Silkolene, Dr. James Adams at Tachyon Sports Injury Research Foundation and Bruce Wilkin's Danville Breeze. "I would like to thank the USGPRU and its directors for opportunity to run their series, all of the other USPRU competitors, CCS for allowing us to run with their organization, and last but not least VIR's Jack and Vickie Abbott and all of their staff who run the best road racing facility in the USA," noted Brian on Monday Morning.

Paul Hoyt Nelson related his feelings after the race, "CCS did a great job of slotting us into their program, particularly when you consider it was both a double region event, and the final regional event before the ROC. So, it was very busy. They should all be commended."

Brian Kcraget and Quentin Wilson's first and second place finishes in the final event secured them first and second in the US National Championship while third fell to California rider William Morton who did not travel to Virginia to attend the final.

The USGPRU wishes to extend its thanks to all the staff at CCS and Formula USA for all their support and effort this season, especially Kevin Elliott and Kenny Abbott. The staff at the USGPRU could never had made this past season as successful as it has been without all their help. We look forward to an even bigger and better series next year and look forward to all our 120+ riders returning next season for more of the best GP road racing in the United States.

USGPRU 125 GP National Championship Final Race Results
1 - Brian Kcraget
2 - Quentin Wilson
3 - Scott Jackson
4 - Ryan Andrews
5 - Scott Moxey
6 - Rob Rawlins
7 - Nobi Iso
8 - Stewart Aitken-Cade
9 - Samantha Cotter
10- Bill Cole

USGPRU 125GP National Championship Standings
1. Brian Kcraget
2. Quentin Wilson
3. William Morton

Additional race reports and standings will be posted to the USGPRU website at
Top 5 This Week