Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Sep 25, 2013

Kcraget, Kling Take Races, Aitken-Cade, Jasso Claim USGPRU Championships At VIR

USGPRU: Adrian Jasso (12) and Stu Aitken-Cade (25) in action at VIR. Photo by, courtesy of USGPRU.

USGPRU Series Round 8 AMA Sanctioned Virginia International Raceway Alton, VA

Kling and Kcraget Win at USGPRU Finale Alton VA – It was both ends of the age spectrum at the AMA sanctioned USGPRU finals at Virginia International Raceway as “Young Guns” and “Elder Statesmen” faced off with championships on the line. 

This was the eighth and final round of the 2013 United States Gran Prix Riders Union championship and both the Moto 3 and 250 GP class titles were up for grabs. In the ultra competitive Moto 3 class, both Palmer Kling and Anthony Mazziotto III were long shots for the championship, trailing point leader Stu Aitken-Cade by 33 points. With a win counting for 35 points, the “Young Guns” had their work cut out for them and they did what they had to do. It was a seven lap slugfest as 13-year old Mazziotto and 14-year old Kling on their Moriwaki MD250’s quickly dispatched the rest of the field and set out looking for victory. For the first 2 laps it was Mazziotto who appeared to have the upper hand until Kling uncorked a lap .2 quicker and moved into the lead. The two battled for the remaining 7 laps before Kling took the checkered flag by .045 seconds. Third place went to 13-year old Brandon Paasch on another Moriwaki and 43-year old Stu Aitken-Cade on his Honda RS125 took fourth, clinching the 2013 USGPRU Moto 3 Championship. 

For the 250 GP class, the “Young Guns” met their match with 48-year old Brian Kcraget aboard a Honda RS250R for the first time in 9 years. Kcraget to the lead on lap 1 and never looked back. Palmer Kling and Brandon Paasch riding their Moriwaki MD250’s had nothing for the “Elder Statesman” as Kcraget went on to win by 22.612 seconds. With Kling in 2nd, Paasch in 3rd and Adrian Jasso on the lone Yamaha 250 in 4th. Jasso secured his first USGPRU National Championship in the 250 GP class. 

Congratulations to Stu Aitken-Cade and Adrian Jasso on their hard-earned titles and we look forward to seeing them at Roebling Road Raceway in March of 2014 to defend their titles. 

The United States Grand Prix Riders Union would like to extend a heart-felt thanks to the Roadracing World Action Fund for its support of road racing in the United States of America. The RRW Action Fund has supplied more than 50 inflatable barriers and soft barriers to the ASRA/CCS/USGPRU Series and their deployment has made our sport much safer for all our competitors. Without their support we could not continue to bring the most exciting sport in the USA to tracks near you. Thank you Roadracing World Action Fund.

The American SportBike Racing Association (ASRA) is the parent organization to the Championship Cup Series (CCS), the largest amateur motorcycle road racing organization in the United States with 4,000 licensed riders. ASRA hosts eight AMA sanctioned ASRA Series, eight AMA sanctioned USGPRU championship rounds and eight AMA sanctioned ASRA Team Challenge road racing events for 2013. ASRA is the administrator of the United States Grand Prix Riders Union as well as CCS and the ASRA Series. The CCS Series sanctioned 45 events for 2013 at popular tracks around the United States. Tracks include Daytona International Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Homestead Miami Speedway, Heartland Park Topeka, and Virginia International among other fine venues. In 2013 ASRA and CCS provided riders with access to millions of dollars of sponsorship awards through participation in its sanctioned events.

For more information about ASRA, CCS or the USGPRU Series, visit our websites at,, or,