Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 28, 2014

Herfoss Takes Top Honors At YMF Loan Australian FX-Superbike Event At Queensland Raceway

Team Honda Racing’s Troy Herfoss has taken first blood at the second round of the 2014 YMF Loan Australian FX-Superbike Championship, taking honours in the coveted Superbike class.

The Honda rider secured his first ever round win after a consistent day on the bike at Queensland Raceway, managing a second, first and third from his three races.

Series leader Wayne Maxwell (Team Motul Honda) was able to extend his lead at the top of the overall standings thanks to a second overall on the day – his third, second and fourth place finishes in the three races enough to keep BikeBiz Racing Kawasaki’s Sean Condon at bay in third.

With two New South Welshman and a Victorian on the podium, it was up to Mike Jones (Crazy Dogs Kawasaki) to fly the flag for Queensland – an improved second placing in race three seeing the pilot manage fourth overall.

Team Honda Racing’s Josh Hook rounded out the top-five.

The round mean Maxwell increased his overall series lead to 25 points from InsureMyRide Honda rider Glenn Scott, with Jones and Herfoss a further 23 points behind.

In the Supersport class, Maxima Yamaha rider Aaron Morris recorded back-to-back wins to take the outright honours on the day.

With the event reduced to two races, Morris finished on 50 points and well clear of three riders all tied on 38 points.

The trio tied on points were Chris Quinn, Aiden Wagner and Callum Spriggs and after finishing in second, third and fourth respectively in the final race, that is where they ended up in the outright standings.

Yamaha rider Daniel Falzon finished the day in fifth overall.

Brandon Demmery took the honours in the Kawasaki Insurances FX 300 Ninja Cup class taking two wins and a secon placing from the three races run.

He finished the day 10-points clear of Jack Baker (third, second and third from his three races) and a further four points ahead of Sophie Lovett who rounded out the day’s top-three.

The result put Demmery into a commanding 43.5 point lead in the overall championship standings ahead of Kyle Buckley

In the Kawasaki Ninja FX 250 category, Grant Jordan took two wins from three races to take the round victory from Joshua McHenry (second, first and second) and Craig White (fourth, third and third).

It was enough for McHenry to take the slimmest of leads (half a point) from ACT racer Benjamin Green in the outright positions.

Jason Eacott recorded two wins on the day to take the outright honours in the Forumla Oz C-Grade class while local Adam Schipper came out on top in the Forumla Oz D-Grade class.

Angus Reekie retained his hold on the Nakedbikes – F1 class with three wins from three races, while Craig McMartin made it a clean sweep of all three races in the Pro-Twins F1 class.

For a list of all race results in all classes – as well as the overall standings, visit

Superbikes - Round Three Results:
1. Troy Herfoss 67 (22, 25, 20)?
2. Wayne Maxwell 60 (20, 22, 18)?
3. Sean Condon 58 (15, 18, 25)?
4. Mike Jones 51 (13, 16, 22)?
5. Josh Hook 44 (8, 20, 16)
6. Glenn Scott 42 (12, 15, 15)
7. Cru Halliday 41 (16, 13, 12)?
8. Robert Bugden 39 (14, 14, 11)
9. Ben Burke 36 (10, 12, 14)?
10. Glenn Allerton 29 (25, 0, 4)

Superbikes – Overall standings:
1. Wayne Maxwell 193
2. Glenn Scott 168
3. Mike Jones 145
4. Troy Herfoss 145
5. Robbie Bugden 137
6. Sean Condon 130
7. Cru Halliday 128
8. Jamie Stauffer 104
9. Matt Walters 94
10. Glenn Allerton 78

Supersport - Round Three Results:
1. Aaron Morris 50 (25, 25)?
2. Chris Quinn 38 (16, 22)?
3. Aiden Wagner 38(18, 20)?
4. Callum Spriggs 38 (20, 18)?
5. Daniel Falzon 35 (22, 13)
6. Justin Di Giandomenico 31 (15, 16)?
7. Mason Coote 27 (13, 14)
8. Luke Mitchell 26 (14, 12)?
9. Jay Presepio 25 (10, 15)?
10. Aiden Coote 20 (9,11)

Supersport - Overall standings:
1. Aaron Morris 200
2. Callum Spriggs 164
3. Aiden Wagner 162
4. Daniel Falzon 136
5. Patrick Medcalf 94
6. Jay Presepio 90
7. Justin Di Giandomenico 88
8. Luke Mitchell 84
9. Mason Coote 77
10. Aiden Coote 75