Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >   |   Win Cool Prizes: Take Our Reader Survey >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 20, 2001

Hayes On Pole For F-USA Unlimited Superbike At Daytona

Josh Hayes ended up on top of F-USA Unlimited Superbike qualifying at Daytona Saturday. Hayes and Lee Acree actually tied on time, both turning a best lap in 1:53.198, but Hayes' second-fastest lap beat Acree's second-fastest lap, 1:53.588 to 1:53.629.<BR><BR>Shawn Higbee, who turned a 1:52.994 backed up with a 1:53.302, was disqualified when his bike exceeded the 145-horsepower limit in post-qualifying dyno tests. Tony Fania (1:56.182), John Ashmead (1:57.619), Mike Ciccotto (1:58.174)and James Compton (1:59.433) also were disqualified for exceeding the horsepower limit.<BR><BR>Official qualifying times follow:<BR><BR>1. Josh Hayes, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:53.198<BR>2. Lee Acree, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:53.198<BR>3. Grant Lopez, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:53.361<BR>4. Eric Wood, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:54.185<BR>5. Brian Parriott, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:54.514<BR>6. Michael Barnes, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:54.651<BR>7. Chris Carr, Aprilia RSV1000R, 1:54.755<BR>8. Mike Himmelsbach, Aprilia RSV1000R, 1:55.576<BR>9. Chris Ulrich, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:55.772<BR>10. Tray Batey, Aprilia RSV1000R, 1:55.920<BR>11. Chuck Chouinard, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:55.957<BR>12. Roland Williams, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:56.396<BR>13. Byron Barbour, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:56.490<BR>14. Carlos Macias, Ducati 996, 1:57.274<BR>15. Marco Martinez, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:57.556<BR>16. Mike Luke, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:57.776<BR>17. Mark Ledesma, Aprilia RSV1000R, 1:57.809<BR>18. Mike Fitzpatrick, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:58.633<BR>19. Kevin Pate, Yamaha YZF-R1, 1:59.087<BR>20. Darian Polach, Suzuki GSX-R1000, 1:59.087<BR>21. John-o Bowman, Suzuki GSX-R750, 1:59.799<BR>22. Ray Bowman, Honda, 2:00.767<BR>23. Robert Presby, Kawasaki ZX-7R, 2:00.832<BR>24. Dr. Jeff Purk, DDS, Suzuki GSX-R750, 2:00.995<BR>25. Pete Friedman, Suzuki GSX-R750, 2:03.767<BR>26. Dale Dandrea, Suzuki GSX-R750, 2:04.574<BR>27. David McEnery, Honda RC51, 2:04.700<BR>28. John Porlier, Honda RC51, 2:04.900<BR>29. Nelson Suarez, Ducati 748, 2:05.495<BR>30. Michael Hanley, Suzuki GSX-R750, 2:06.759<BR><BR>Times Disqualified<BR>Shawn Higbee, Suzuki GSX-R750<BR>Tony Fania, Suzuki GSX-R750<BR>John Ashmead, Suzuki GSX-R750<BR>Mike Ciccotto, Suzuki GSX-R750<BR>James Compton, Suzuki GSX-R750