Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Aug 4, 2010

Galster Wins Four MRA Races At High Plains Raceway

Doug Kahl (121) riding for the winning Dougie Bobby & Friends team during the MRA Toyota Trucks 3 Hour Endurance Relay Race Teams event at High Plains Raceway. Photo by Jim Browning, courtesy of MRA.

MRA Draws Huge Grid for Toyota Trucks Endurance Race at High Plains Raceway

The MRA returned to High Plains Raceway for Round 5 on July 31st & August 1st. In addition to the regular schedule this round featured the Toyota Trucks Endurance Relay Race, offering team and solo categories. 127 riders from around the country entered the endurance race, forming 28 teams and 27 solo entries. Originally scheduled for 4 hours, the event was reduced to 3 hours after a brief rain blew through, coupled with red flag delays in earlier races.

Captain Doug Kahl started the Toyota Trucks Endurance Relay Race for his team, Dougie Bobby & Friends, and immediately opened up an impressive gap on second place team Pink Snapper, with Shannon Moham aboard. Mark Nudelman, longtime TrackAddix Instructor, rode a blistering pace in the solo category striving to keep the lead teams in sight. This was an unusual endurance event because it was a relay race. As Kahl was signaled into pit lane by his crew, the next rider/bike combination was queued up for the transponder handoff. Wyeth Jackson and Josh Galster worked the five hot pit exchanges for team Dougie Bobby & Friends. Eventual solo winner Nudelman and second place solo finisher Mike Applehans both had a series of bikes queued up for their ironman rides. As the solo racers pulled into the hot pit they jumped off of one bike and onto the next with their transponder, ripping back onto the track to race for 3 straight hours without break. Team Dougie Bobby & Friends maintained the overall lead throughout the race, closing with authority as their final rider, AMA Privateer Scott "Scooter" Jensen, wheelied his superbike over across the line for the checkers. Pink Snapper and Team R.A.C.E. took the next two podium spots in the relay team category, with Lithium Motorsports' Rob Oliva capturing 3rd in the punishing solo category.

Round 6 will take the MRA back to High Plains Raceway on August 28/29. This is the final KTM contingency weekend and visiting KTM racers are anticipated. The MRA has waived reciprocity license fees for the remainder of 2010.

Toyota Trucks 3 Hour Endurance Relay Race Teams 1 Dougie Bobby & Friends (Doug Kahl/Dale Eaton/Aaron Fisk/Tim Young/Keith Eastin/Scott Jensen) 2 Pink Snapper (Shannon Moham/Crash Lowe) 3 Team R.A.C.E. (Rick Grosse/Ara Maranian/Casey Dragos/Erik Cromer) 4 Big Stick Racing (Jim Brewer/Brian Lehfeldt) 5 Pocket Lint Racing (Luke Johnston/Chris Coonshead/Frank DiRanna) 6 Corner One Racing (Alan Filar/Giovanni Chimento)

Toyota Trucks 3 Hour Endurance Relay Race Solo 1 Mark Nudelman 2 Mike Applehans 3 Robert Oliva 4 Nik Lenski 5 Peter Tabor 6 Tom Lilly

Fay Myers Motorcycle World Race of the Rockies GTO 1 Dan Turner (Suz GSX-R1000) 2 Doug Kahl (Suz GSX-R1000) 3 Mike Applegate (Suz GSX-R1000) 4 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 5 Ray Thornton (Hon CBR1000RR) 6 Danny Anderson (Yam YZF-R1)

Vickery Motorsports Race of the Rockies GTU 1 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 Dalton Dimick (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Shane Turpin (Pierobon/Duc F042) 4 Ricky Orlando (Kaw ZX-6R) 5 Brian Johnson (Yam YZF-R6) 6 Shannon Moham (Yam YZF-R6)

Vickery Motorsports Amateur GTU 1 Anthony Ross (Yam YZF-R6) 2 Wyeth Jackson (Kaw ZX-6R) 3 Carlton Sorensen (Tri Daytona 675) 4 Erik Cromer (Kaw ZX-6R) 5 Nicholas Lenski (Yam YZF-R6) 6 Aaron Fisk (Kaw ZX-6R)

Northern Colorado Euro Motorcycles Amateur GTO 1 John Fifield (Yam YZF-R1) 2 Erik Cromer (Kaw ZX-6R) 3 Anthony Ross (Yam YZF-R6) 4 Keith Eastin (Hon CBR1000RR) 5 Jason Patton (Suz GSX-R1000) 6 Steven Grubbs (Kaw ZX-6R)

Grand Prix Motorsports Middleweight SuperBike 1 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 Dalton Dimick (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Ricky Orlando (Kaw ZX-6R) 4 Brian Johnson (Yam YZF-R6) 5 Scott Stall (Suz GSX-R600) 6 Dale Eaton (Yam YZF-R6)

MotoAdventure Kawasaki Middleweight SuperSport 1 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 Dalton Dimick (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Ricky Orlando (Kaw ZX-6R) 4 Casey Dragos (Yam YZF-R6) 5 Wyeth Jackson (Kaw ZX-6R) 6 Steven Grubbs (Kaw ZX-6R)

Faster! Motosports Heavyweight SuperBike 1 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 Brian Johnson (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Shane Turpin (Pierobon/Duc F042) 4 Patrick Lansu (Duc 999R) 5 Shannon Moham (Yam YZF-R6) 6 Rick Grosse (Kaw ZX-6R)

Apex Sports, Inc. Heavyweight SuperSport 1 Dalton Dimick (Yam YZF-R6) 2 Josh Galster (Kaw ZX-6R) 3 Brian Johnson (Yam YZF-R6) 4 Casey Dragos (Yam YZF-R6) 5 Wyeth Jackson (Kaw ZX-6R) 6 Crash Lowe (Suz GSX-R750)

Colorado Powersports Open SuperBike 1 Dan Turner (Suz GSX-R1000) 2 Doug Kahl (Suz GSX-R1000) 3 Mike Applegate (Suz GSX-R1000) 4 Danny Anderson (Yam YZF-R1) 5 Glenn Conser (Yam YZF-R1) 6 Patrick Lansu (Duc 1098R)

Coyote Motorsports Open SuperSport 1 Mike Applegate (Suz GSX-R1000) 2 Glenn Conser (Yam YZF-R1) 3 Crash Lowe (Suz GSX-R1000) 4 Wyeth Jackson (Kaw ZX-6R) 5 Casey Dragos (Yam YZF-R6) 6 Curtis Knox Jr. (Yam YZF-R1)

XBAM Ladies of the Rockies 1 Wyeth Jackson (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 Kimberly Prichard (Tri Daytona 675) 3 Siobhan Bennett (Apr RSV1000) 4 Samantha Coleman (Yam YZF-R6)

Foothills BMW/Triumph Motorcycles Colorado Class 1 John Hjelm (Hon RS125) 2 Jeff Winter (Hon RS450F) 3 Dominic Medina (Hon Ascot) 4 Scott Rybarik (Tri Thruxton) 5 Daniel Kampstra (Hon CB160) 6 Rodney Mattison (Yam RD350)

Toyota Trucks Lightweight Grand Prix 1 Shannon Moham (Suz SV650) 2 Dale Murphy (Suz SV650) 3 Geoffrey Snyder (Suz SV650) 4 Keith Lincoln (Suz SV650) 5 Mike Hellerstedt (Suz SV650) 6 Will Chambers (Suz SV650)

Un!nk Printworks Modern Vintage GTU 1 Shannon Moham (Suz SV650) 2 Ian Oconnor (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Chris Anderson (Suz GSX-R600) 4 Tony Baker (Yam TZ250) 5 John Hjelm (Hon RS125) 6 Bread Puddin (Yam YZF-R6)

Ducati Motor Club Denver Modern Vintage GTO 1 Chris Anderson (Suz GSX-R600) 2 Aaron Hersh (Yam YZF-R6) 3 Bread Puddin (Yam YZF-R6) 4 Jared Wilson (Hon CBR600F4) 5 Scott Rybarik (Duc 748) 6 James Turner (Suz GSX-R750)

Woody's Wheel Works Novice GTU 1 Ian O'Connor (Yam YZF-R6) 2 Bill Andrews (Kaw ZX-6R) 3 Bradley Hampton (Suz GSX-R600) 4 Colter Dimick (Yam YZF-R6) 5 Adam McCarty (Tri Daytona 675) 6 Sam Roberts (Tri Daytona 675)

Rocky Mountain Kawasaki Novice GTO 1 Keith Eastin (Hon CBR1000RR) 2 Jason Patton (Suz GSX-R1000) 3 Patrick King (Tri Daytona 675) 4 Bill Andrews (Kaw ZX-6R) 5 Ian Oconnor (Yam YZF-R6) 6 Bradley Hampton (Suz GSX-R600)

Boulder Motor Sports SuperTwins GTU 1 Shannon Moham (Suz SV650) 2 Tony Baker (Yam TZ250) 3 Scott Monchunski (Duc 749R) 4 Mike Hellerstedt (Suz SV650) 5 Will Chambers (Suz SV650) 6 Geoffrey Snyder (Suz SV650)

Alliance Motorsports SuperTwins GTO 1 Patrick Lansu (Duc 1098R) 2 Jim Brewer (Duc 1098R) 3 Brian Lehfeldt (Apr RSV1000) 4 Lloyd Meador (Duc 749RS) 5 Scott Rybarik (Duc 748) 6 Norm Meyer (Duc 996)

Sportsman 1 Keith Katzer (Kaw ZX-6R) 2 James Turner (Suz GSX-R750)

The MRA is dedicated to promoting safe and competitive motorcycle roadracing events for enthusiasts in Colorado and the surrounding area. For more information go to or call the MRA hotline at 303-530-5678.

Top 5 This Week