Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 7, 2001

Eric Bostrom Wins AMA Superbike War At Laguna Seca

AMA Chevy Trucks Superbike Final Race Results:<BR><BR><BR>1. Eric Bostrom, Kawasaki<BR>2. Miguel Duhamel, Honda<BR>3. Mat Mladin, Suzuki<BR>4. Jamie Hacking, Suzuki<BR>5. Doug Chandler, Kawasaki<BR>6. Andreas Meklau, Ducati<BR>7. Steve Rapp, Ducati<BR>8. Tommy Hayden, Yamaha<BR>9. Pascal Picotte, H-D<BR>10. Mike Smith, H-D<BR><BR>26. Nicky Hayden, Honda, 12 laps, DNF, crash<BR>27. Aaron Yates, Suzuki, 11 laps, DNF, crash<BR><BR>30. Larry Pegram, Ducati, 4 laps, DNF<BR><BR>Unofficial AMA Chevy Trucks Superbike Point Standings Following Laguna Seca:<BR><BR>1. Mladin, 260 points<BR>2. Bostrom, 236 points<BR>3. Chandler, 189 points<BR>4. Tommy Hayden, 184 points<BR>5. Duhamel, 168 points<BR><BR>Mladin's bike suffered a shifting problem. Yates broke his right wrist when he crashed in turn 10.<BR><BR>Immediately following the race, AMA Pro Racing Director of Competition Merrill Vanderslice came on the AMA radio frequency and asked that the top three riders be checked in winner's circle to ensure that they had the mandatory AMA patch on their leathers. Miguel Duhamel and Mat Mladin did, but Eric Bostrom did not. At post time, no word was available on any penalty assessed Bostrom.