Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 13, 2014

eni FIM World Superbike Race One Results From Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

eni FIM Superbike World Championship, GEICO Motorcycle U.S. Round

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Monterey, California, USA

July 13, 2014

Provisional Race One Results (all on Pirelli tires):

1. Marco MELANDRI, Italy (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), 25 laps, 35:07.782

2. Sylvain GUINTOLI, France (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), -0.905 second

3. Tom SYKES, UK (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -6.627 seconds

4. Davide GIUGLIANO, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), -13.574

5. Toni ELIAS, Spain (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), -13.855

6. Jonathan REA, UK (Honda CBR1000RR), -15.575, ran off track

7. Leon HASLAM, UK (Honda CBR1000RR), -18.820

8. Alex LOWES, UK (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -20.184

9. Loris BAZ, France (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -34.479

10. David SALOM, Spain (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -37.463

11. Niccolo CANEPA, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), EVO, -45.440

12. Sylvain BARRIER, France (BMW S1000RR), EVO, -47.538

13. Christian IDDON, UK (Bimota BB3), EVO, -48.321

14. Bryan STARING, Australia (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -49.750

15. Jeremy GUARNONI, France (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -55.420

16. Leon CAMIER, UK (MV Agusta F4 RR), -58.449

17. Alessandro ANDREOZZI, Italy (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -68.922, ran off track

18. Gabor RIZMAYER, Hungary (BMW S1000RR), -77.853

19. Geoff MAY, USA (EBR 1190RX), -78.084

20. Chris ULRICH, USA (Honda CBR1000RR), -1 lap

21. Sheridan MORAIS, South Africa (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -3 laps, pitted

22. Larry PEGRAM, USA (EBR 1190RX), -3 laps, DNF, mechanical

23. Peter SEBESTYEN, Hungary (BMW S1000RR), EVO, -10 laps, DNF, crash

24. Aaron YATES, USA (EBR 1190RX), -12 laps, DNF, retired

25. Eugene LAVERTY, Ireland (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -18 laps, DNF, mechanical

26. Ayrton BADOVINI, Italy (Bimota BB3), EVO, -18 laps, DNF, retired

27. Chaz DAVIES, UK (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), -24 laps, DNF, crash

More, from a press release issued by Dorna WSBK Press Office:

Melandri heads Aprilia one-two in first race
Laguna Seca (California, USA), Sunday 13 July 2014 - After 25 thrilling laps, Marco Melandri (Aprilia Racing Team) has won the opening race of the day at Laguna Seca. The Italian rider adds another victory to his tally of 16 WSBK race wins reaching the likes of Giancarlo Falappa, Neil Hodgson and James Toseland.

Starting from Pole Position it was Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) who initially took the holeshot into turn one ahead of the works Aprilia duo of Marco Melandri and Sylvain Guintoli who both passed the reigning champion at the end of lap one after Sykes made a mistake at the Corkscrew.

Chaz Davies (Ducati Superbike Team) crashed spectacularly from 4th on lap two as the leading three began to edge away from the fast starting Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) who was promoted to fourth after the Ducati rider’s departure.

By quarter race distance the circuit lap record set in 2013 had been smashed and the top three riders had a comfortable gap over the chasing pack.

As the race entered the final third, the tense battle at the front intensified as Guintoli applied the pressure to his Italian team mate with Sykes watching the action unfold in front of him before the Italian broke away.

At the flag it was a rather spread out affair with Melandri taking the win, his 3rd of the season ahead of Guintoli and Sykes who claimed the final podium place.

Davide Giugliano (Ducati Superbike Team) finished a solid 4th with Toni Elias (Red Devils Roma Aprilia) and Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike Team) completing the top 6.

In the battle of the EVO riders it was David Salom (Kawasaki Racing Team) that took the honours coming home in a solid 10th with Niccolò Canepa (Althea Racing Ducati) 11th and Sylvain Barrier (BMW Motorrad Italia) 12th.

Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) was classified 15th and took the final championship point on his debut for the Italian team.

Eugene Laverty (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) was a notable retirement as were Ayrton Badovini (Team Bimota Alstare), Aaron Yates (Team Hero EBR) and Peter Sebestyen (Team Toth BMW).